We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Amazing Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Town House Durham
Ranked #4 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another Amazing Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We returned again to Gadds townhouse and once again had a Fantastic Stay. This time we stayed in the Amethyst room and it was fabulous. The décor of the room is superb, the deep roll top bath is great to relax in. We booked a table in the restaurant for our evening meal and the food was amazing, a member of the Gadds staff came into the bar to ask us if we wanted to dine earlier as a table became available earlier which I thought was very kind. The restaurant got very busy later on but the staff were still very helpful and quick in dealing with our orders. I would recommend the eggs benedict for breakfast, compliments to the chef they are out of this world !!!

Décor, Atmosphere, Staff - All fantastic, thanks for a great Stay, we'll see you again !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    127
    67
    27
    26
See reviews for
34
345
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The staff were so helpful, friendly and kind - not counting the camp receptionist who doesn't know he shouts at the guests!
Room fine but at 140 quid WiFi would be nice. Got trapped in the bathroom because the handle fell apart - funny but poor nonetheless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickQ186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Individual unique rooms, some with climate control & own indvidual hot tub outside.
Some room are in need of refurb to a degree at the price bracket they are aiming but overall a unique boutique experience, similar to the Crab Manor in Aisenby, Thirsk but not quite as good.
Excellent location for exploring Durham and nearby well priced parking. Also suitable for disabled as predominantly ground level. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ste236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I've heard about this place from friends that have been before. They recommend it and my partner took me here for the nite. We stayed in the indigo room and first impression of it was good. The only fault we had with this room was that it was too hot. Even after turning the temperature down to cool, it was still too hot nor it felt like it was working.
We we're woken up during the early hrs, by the other people in the next room to us. They've clearly been out in Durham and could hear them coming in and talking. Which felt like they were in the same room as us.
Apart from these issue's I could not fault the place. The breakfast on the next morning was amazing. The staff are friendly. I would recommend this place but will not be staying in the indigo room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Flower_Pot_Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I've just got back from a 2 night stay for my boyfriends birthday and what a wonderful time we've had. The hotel is stunning, very opulent and boutique definitely much better than staying in a standard chain hotel. The staff were welcoming, friendly but not too intrusive. We stayed in the cruise room and could not recommend it enough. The decor was fantastic, I loved the detail and the furniture was great quality. The shower is amazing, big waterfall head that you'll never want to get out of. The bed was also incredibly comfy, we joked it was like a time warp it felt like you were in there forever it was so snug. Also on the back so had lovely views. The breakfast was one of the best we've had, we had the full English it was great portion, it was very fresh, made to order and well presented. The waitresses were very friendly and couldn't do enough. The hotel is very central to the centre and we also enjoyed a spa experience at the beauty centre situated at Marriott hotel next door which we would recommend. All in all we had a wonderful time and were sad to leave. We will definitely be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emma-Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townhouseowner, Owner at The Town House Durham, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Gadds on your recent stay in Durham

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We strive to give all our guests the best possible experience. We are constantly making improvements to the business as a whole and your positive review makes the all the effort worth while.

Once again thank you for choosing Gadds and taking the time to post your review.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My Husband took me here for the night as a treat. What a lovely Hotel. We stayed in the Amethyst Room, it was very Dark but romantic. It had a bath in the actual bedroom, with a separate power shower.
Breakfast was lovely, full English cooked perfect. Reception and restaurant staff very friendly.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSCBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townhouseowner, Owner at The Town House Durham, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Gadds on your recent stay in Durham

We have recently taken over the hotel and are currently making all manner of changes and improvements to the business so all our guests have the best stay they possibly can. We are delighted you enjoyed our award winning breakfast and the beautiful Amethyst Room.

Once again thank you for choosing Gadds and taking the time to post your review.

Hopefully we will see you again the next time you are in Durham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in March at Gadds which we thought was lovely. The reception is quite dark but atmospheric. Reception staff and breakfast lady were very friendly and welcoming. We weren't blessed with good weather but still enjoyed Durham. We chose to stay in Ruby room which ad previously noted was quite dark but quite sumptuous. Because the bath was there we got in it but it did seem a bit quirky to be bathing at the end of the bed. Shower was gorgeous. Water and chocolates on arrival and water replaced on second day which was welcome. You must take a good supply of £1 coins as you have to feed the meter from 8am until 6 pm at £1 per hour. Beware the parking meter man he will get you if he can. We ate at Bells fish and chip place and the Lebanese restaurant (San Marco I think) which were both lovely.
Breakfast was cereal and juice to start, only order porridge if you are hungry as it was beautifully cooked and prepared but a large portion. Cooked ranged from full breakfast to eggs benedict and others all freshly cooked and nicely presented on lovely crockery.

Room Tip: Ruby was a little smaller than it seemed on the website but still very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HopalongNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townhouseowner, Owner at The Town House Durham, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Gadds for your recent stay in Durham

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We are very grateful that you took the time to leave a positive review of our hotel as we all work very hard to make your stay the best it can possibly be. I will pass on your comments to all the staff.

We look forward to seeing back at Gadds in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Durham

Property: The Town House Durham
Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Georgian building from the outside...... step inside and prepare to be wowed . Choose Gadds Town House, Durham city’s most beautiful hotel and restaurant. Nestled in historical and peaceful Old Elvet, a striking transformation of an elegant townhouse ideally located minutes away from the Cathedral & Castle and Durham’s vibrant night life. Once inside the decor exudes glamour, luxuriously decedent combined with an eclectic collection of antiques & paintings creating atmosphere and special ambience to completely relax and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Town House Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing