We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun themed room hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Town House Durham
Ranked #5 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun themed room hotel.”
Reviewed 24 June 2009

we stayed in the sci fi room, it was a trip away for me and my son who is 4yrs old and he just loved, it! although it was tacky i would say it was kitsch, and a really fun room. it had bath robes a hot tub a freestanding bath and a steam shower. All in all the hotel is great. Its not a boutique 5*hotel, but it could be there with some finishing touches. The staff were all very friendly to my son who is rather lively. the restaurant staff were slow and ignore us for twenty minutes. However dinner was lovely a little expensive for what it was but still nice.
i would definatly advise this hotel for a fun night away, its location is perfect with plenty of close on street parking. I paid a late room rate of £125 (room only) which i would say was ok value and i would stay again at that price. although i would not pay more.
all in all a great fun hotel wih lovely friendly staff, which makes all the difference.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    130
    68
    28
    27
See reviews for
37
356
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

The hotel is convenient for the Cathedral, the Castle, the river, the old bridges. The service was excellent. The on-street parking is easy enough and the location safe, we found parking places to be readily available.

We stayed in the Cruella room for three nights. This is a fantastic room, very spacious, the bathroom/shower-room/sauna-room is also very spacious.

This is a totally one-off and over-the-top room, absolutely wonderful. A liking for black, black, and black (and diamante) helps. It is a completely in-your-face black experience. Pull the black velvet curtains back and you're in your own private world. There are a number of whimsical touches. The sleigh bed is huge and comfortable. Fittings are first class.

Breakfasts were well cooked and presented. We also looked in the Boudoir (didn't stay in it), this is also a fine looking room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKLM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I stayed for one night recently in the New York room and experienced the following:

* on the plus side the Receptionist was friendly and welcoming and did her best to help when we encountered problems.

* to reach the room, you have to walk past a metal cage full of housekeeping tools, spare loo rolls and cleaning fluids & implements. They promised a surprise even before you got to the room and, in that regard, they did not disappoint!

* the bed is far too big for the bedroom making it a real squeeze to get around it to get into bed on one side (and I'm a small person).

* there is no wardrobe in the bedroom instead they recommend you use the “walk-in” wardrobe (read cupboard) in the hall of the apartment. This was so full of spare duvets, pillows, a foldaway table and other equipment, it was difficult to hang up a suit with clearance to ensure it didn’t get creased.

* a small catch on the interior of the door frame kept stopping the door to this cupboard closing and when I went to adjust it to shut the door, it was covered in grease which made me concerned my clothes would be marked.

* there were a nice selection of beverages (hot chocolate, coffee, tea and fruit tea) but no milk, which was bizarre considering there is a fridge in the apartment.

* there were marks (uncleaned stains) on the coffee table under the Hotel information).

* the bin in the bathroom had not been emptied and contained used make-up wipes from the previous occupant.

* one of the bathrobes was covered in very large and very obvious make-up and powder stains from the previous occupant.

* though looking clean, the bath had a stray hair (that didn't look like a head hair) from the previous occupant.

* when I reported the problems regarding the bathroom, it was clear there were no housekeeping staff on duty though the Receptionist dealt with issues as best she could by cleaning out the bin and replacing the bathrobe.

* fixtures and fittings generally were not particularly high quality considering the room price. The shower handle, for example, seemed to be on the wrong way round so that you got cold when you turned it to hot and hot when you turned it to cold.

* a continental breakfast took over 20 minutes to arrive at our table.

* When we left, the Receptionist was not aware we had had breakfast (I had to tell her) and then didn't know the cost and had to check with the restaurant. She was very pleasant and it seems to be a failure in their systems of communication rather than any fault on her part. Still it doesn't leave you with a feeling of a professional and well run establishment when you take everything into account.

We paid £100 for room-only (we paid extra for the breakfast) because we booked very late but the room normally retails for £250. I thought the standards I experienced were not worthy of a £100 tariff so could not recommend it at the full price. I had intended to stay in this Hotel as a 40th birthday treat later in the year but now wouldn't consider staying here again.

Quirky is fine if standards are maintained and meet the expectations arising from the room price. Considering the problems we had, I would prefer to pay for corporate blandness in future in return for a clean, well-maintained room with more expensive fixtures and fittings.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Montmorency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2009

What a trip! This hotel was fantastic, and the restaurant particularly wonderful. With sparkling staff (thanks to Gabriel who made our trip with fabulous service, spot-on nightlife recommendations and attentive details) we had a truly wonderful wedding anniversary. Please visit and mention Terry and Julie. Ask for Gabriel - he'll see you right!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I stayed here with my partner the day before our wedding and my wife the night of our wedding. All I can say is the the staff could not have been nicer. Ben the manager was only too happy to meet all out requests, and insisted we should let him know if the was anything we needed. We stayed in the Russian Bride suite and it was the height of luxury and fantasic for the occasion. We also had a lovely breakfast served in our room. We had a wedding reception for 20 people and the food was fantastic and they managed to hold back serving at our request as we weren't ready at the arranged time. ALL the staff were wonderful and were always ready to be of help when needed but never seemed to be 'in your face'. I would recommend that you take the time to talk to Ben and discuss what you would like before going, he will do all he can to meet your needs.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Durham

Property: The Town House Durham
Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Georgian building from the outside...... step inside and prepare to be wowed . Choose Gadds Town House, Durham city’s most beautiful hotel and restaurant. Nestled in historical and peaceful Old Elvet, a striking transformation of an elegant townhouse ideally located minutes away from the Cathedral & Castle and Durham’s vibrant night life. Once inside the decor exudes glamour, luxuriously decedent combined with an eclectic collection of antiques & paintings creating atmosphere and special ambience to completely relax and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Town House Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing