We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Town House Durham
Ranked #5 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the stay!”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

My partner and I stayed here as part of his Christmas present, and despite initial disappointment about missing out on the Russian Bride room (it was booked before my very eyes!) I phoned them and we managed to get one nights stay there and one nights stay in the Cruella.

If you are after somethign a bit different, then this is the place for you! Where else would you find a fur coat in your room? The Russian Room was huge (three large rooms and an entrance) and felt very luxiurious and homely at the same time. The bathroom was amazing and the bed vast.

The Cruella room was a big contrast and everything was dark and extremely oppulent. Although no where near as big and maybe a little too much furniture it was still a very enjoyable room to be in (wouldnt normally say that, especially in coporate hotel land).

A few minor points; no parking (but i had read this so left our car up near the station which was cheaper but a 15 minute walk), food is ok but very average though not overpriced which is something. There were a few things that maintnance clearly weren't picking up on (lightbulbs out, part of the jacuzzi bath not working...) but not enough to aggrivate too much.

Overall, the staff were lovely, the stay very romantic and the location excellent. Better than the stuffy lookign Mariott along the road.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    130
    68
    28
    27
See reviews for
37
356
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Fallen Angel Hotel is a venture that converted a Georgian townhouse into a set of stylish, individual rooms, each with a distinct boutique feel.

We stayed in Russian Bride, at the very top of the hotel, and we treated to in effect a small apartment, with huge bed, sitting area, flat screen television, as well as a Jacuzzi, Shower and Sauna. All of this was very nice indeed - however, our main gripe was that the bathroom seemed somewhat ill converted. It wasn't possible to gain any great amount of light within it, and this did make it feel somewhat dingy - better positioning of lights would have helped. Also, whenever one walked on the floor in the main bedroom, one of the wardrobes shook and rattled quite violently. Of course, that is perhaps part due to the construction of the building, and smooth lines won't be found everywhere! The jacuzzi and sauna were fine, although the latter was a tight squeeze, and might better be described as a glass cylinder for cooking til pink!

What fulsome objections I have relate to the price. At rack rates, the room is sold for in excess of £250. We managed to stay for £120 a night, but to be honest, and a lesson for us in the future, even that seemed a trifle inflated. By all means, if money is no object (and to many, I realise that it is), then this will not bother you. For myself, it probably should have indicated certain pretensions...and Fallen Angel came off far more distant, impersonal and demonstrating that it is far more of a business venture, something that it makes no qualms about. Also, no free parking, and as the outside parking is metered from 8am, you have to get up to prevent your car being ticketed. So, lie-ins are somewhat precluded...

To conclude, I do recommend the hotel, but with slight reservations. Mind the wallet!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJT85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Just back from a little break here - stayed in the Library Room and was shown some others by the friendly staff - what a hotel - will definitley be back...brilliant location close to the centre, clean hotel, full of character highly recommended and will be back to try other the other rooms out! No faults, only praise for the staff and how this hotel has been designed to be a unique experience for visitors.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazz2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I booked the hotel as a surprise for my wife as it was our 10th wedding anniversary and it was a superb weekend. I chose the hotel because it looked different from the normal type of hotel rooms that we could have stayed in at your chain hotel. We stayed in the Library and it was nice and cosy with a fantastic bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the any questions we asked about the hotel or Durham. We asked if was possible for us to have food from the restaurant delivered to our room and they obliged and were very quick. Very nice weekend and we will definately visit again in the future. If you want a romantic city break in a hotel that is a little querky then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADZ6148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2009

we stayed in the hotel for one night stopped in the boudoiur red room it was amazing bathroom was fab with roll top bath and steam shower, bedroom really spacious with very romantic feel , one of best rooms we have stopped in for the price , staff were lovely offered to show us other rooms but i want to be surprised when we deff stay again .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Ok how do I start, no free parking at the hotel so it costs 40p for 30 minutes outside on parking meters which if your there for 4 days can be expensive. I thought the staffs were great and we could in no way fault them. The rooms are amazing and worth every penny we paid, we stayed in Cruella which was stunning but the bed was a nightmare to get out off as it's built like a sled with large sides so it's impossible just to roll out off.

They use a honesty policy for the mini bar, which I thought was refreshing. Although the rooms have air conditioning, I still found the rooms very warm but that may be the case that it was a very warm week. I would recommend the Court Inn just across the road from the hotel for breakfast & lunch (Across the Crown Court car park)

Found the hotel very quiet, no outside noise whatsoever or from within the hotel, so if you’re looking to relax this is the place. Also free internet access, which was a little thing but if you need to keep in touch with work like myself, a godsend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevcouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed in one of the themed rooms of this b&b/hotel; it was very disappointing and overall a bit of a tacky experience. Not the funky experience we were expecting, pricey and a long wait for breakfast. There must be better offerings in Durham? Parking a pain- on street and metered.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Durham

Property: The Town House Durham
Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Georgian building from the outside...... step inside and prepare to be wowed . Choose Gadds Town House, Durham city’s most beautiful hotel and restaurant. Nestled in historical and peaceful Old Elvet, a striking transformation of an elegant townhouse ideally located minutes away from the Cathedral & Castle and Durham’s vibrant night life. Once inside the decor exudes glamour, luxuriously decedent combined with an eclectic collection of antiques & paintings creating atmosphere and special ambience to completely relax and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Town House Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing