We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with Rooms but no food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Town House Durham
Ranked #4 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Restaurant with Rooms but no food!”
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Asked for a quiet room and given a downstairs room on the street! Changed it for a snug but comfy room upstairs. The house creaked all night though there were lovely fluffy towels in the bathroom and hot chocolate in the mini bar. Just as well. The restaurant was closed that night but there were some ancient looking quiches and muffins under a cover. Breakfast was at 7.30. No it wasn't - the chef hadn't arrived. At 8 the chef still hadn't arrived and clearly wasn't going to. I was offered the quiche and muffins I had seen yesterday. There was a small table with an apple and two oranges, a packet of rice Krispies and two packets of Special K . Bleak and horrid. I declined, had a coffee and fled. No impetus to make some toast or solve the problem. It should work, but it just doesn't. Bad feeling in the evening about the place, worse in the morning. Pretentious - and basic needs are just not met.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    130
    68
    29
    27
See reviews for
37
359
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed here with the girls for a fun weekend away. We stayed in the New York and Premiere rooms. The New York room is more of an apartment than a room with a living room/kitchen, bedroom an bathroom. (I could live there quite happily!) you access the room via a authentic loft experience with cage (filled with cleaning products) and grafitti to your apartment door, greeted by cityscape wallpapers. Highlights of the New York apartment, plenty of space, the bed is fantastic, huge and very comfortable and the i-rider, mini bucking bronco provided lots of laughs.
Our friends stayed in the premiere room which is located in the garden, like a little chalet. The theme of this room is cinema, so the room comes complete with huge cinema type screen with curtains and reclining leather chairs and your own pop corn maker. Despite being more exensive than the New York room it is much smaller with just the bedroom and bathroom, however you do get your very own hot tub outside. Only one of the group were brave enough to try in the freezing weather conditions but it did look fab and had good reports from the brave soul trying it out.
Cool toiletries, mini L'Occitane, good provision of tea,coffe etc in room.
We did not stay for dinner as restaurant was fully booked, dining room lloked nice located in conservatory at rear of property, we did have breakfast there in the morning, which was nice however service was a little slow and surly. Nice to see a veggie breakfast on offer Well done for that!
To sum up a great experience for something a bit different. We got a good deal on late booking, could not afford to pay rack rate. Pub couple of doors down, The Dun Cow, very nice friendly tradirional with good food and drink.

Would like to take my partner in the summer.

Give it a try, if you like something different.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2010

stayed in le jardin room which i would recomend for the space and steam shower and sauna but the hot tub balcony area was not totally secluded , the balcony was above a garden which was was owned by the neighboughing property, and the property up to the left could clearly view the balcony , no bath robes were provided which made it difficulct to move from the room to tub , not sure it warrented the price. the balcony area was not very clean

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaz0lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2010

my husband booked the la jardin garden themed room for our first year anniversary the jacuzzi was ready for us, ive never been in one before and once i was in u couldn,t get me out it was lovely god how the other half live. hairdryer and a iron provided also a mini bar. the staff was lovely breakfast was delicious would definetly stay again perfect area for people visiting durham

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colnjue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We have just spent a night at the fallen angel hotel for our wedding anniversary. I booked the sci-fi room as a surprise for my husband who is a big DR Who fan. I got a great deal booking just a week before and it was half the normal price. The sci-fi room is one of the garden apartments and is very unique and fun. The private out door hot tub is a really nice touch and it was lovely to sit there in the warm bubbles with a drink surrounded by snow. The bathroom is large with a big bath and an amazing shower. The mini bar in the room is well stocked and the drinks are priced the same as in the hotel bar. There is also a cafetiere so you can make fresh coffee in your room. The bed was large and very comfortable with big pillows that are not the usual hotel ones which you sink in to.

The only negative thing about the room is that it is a little dark. Not a big problem but not good for putting your make -up on!

We had dinner in the bistro and the food was very good and the service attentive but not in your face. Breakfast was also nice but there is not a big selection of fresh fruits etc to have before your cooked meal, just a few boxes of cereal. The full English breakfast was lovely though.

There is no separate bar in the hotel so when we came back and wanted a few drinks they seated us in the restaurant. In the summer it would probably be better as you could sit out on the terrace. The drinks menu is fine for beers wine and spirits but don't expect cocktails. You can also have food and drinks brought to your room.

Over all we really enjoyed our stay and will be returning soon as at the discounted rate it is excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fi1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

Booked this hotel the night before we were due to stay and got a graet room at a bargain price. We saved over half on the full price.
We stayed in the 'Le Jardin' which is in the grounds of the hotel and has a hot tub and sauna. We have stayed at this hotel before so knew what to expect and we were not disapointed.
The room and facilities for the price we payed was well worth it, not so sure they are worth the full rate...
We only had one complaint in relation to the room being very cold when we arrived, it took us twenty minutes to brave the temparature and take off our coats. It would have been thoughtful if the staff had gone into the room prior to our arrival (we had given them our estimated arrival time when booked) and turned on the heating.

Apart from this one blip we had a lovely night at a bargain price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuthatchHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

My partner and I stayed here as part of his Christmas present, and despite initial disappointment about missing out on the Russian Bride room (it was booked before my very eyes!) I phoned them and we managed to get one nights stay there and one nights stay in the Cruella.

If you are after somethign a bit different, then this is the place for you! Where else would you find a fur coat in your room? The Russian Room was huge (three large rooms and an entrance) and felt very luxiurious and homely at the same time. The bathroom was amazing and the bed vast.

The Cruella room was a big contrast and everything was dark and extremely oppulent. Although no where near as big and maybe a little too much furniture it was still a very enjoyable room to be in (wouldnt normally say that, especially in coporate hotel land).

A few minor points; no parking (but i had read this so left our car up near the station which was cheaper but a 15 minute walk), food is ok but very average though not overpriced which is something. There were a few things that maintnance clearly weren't picking up on (lightbulbs out, part of the jacuzzi bath not working...) but not enough to aggrivate too much.

Overall, the staff were lovely, the stay very romantic and the location excellent. Better than the stuffy lookign Mariott along the road.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Durham

Property: The Town House Durham
Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Georgian building from the outside...... step inside and prepare to be wowed . Choose Gadds Town House, Durham city’s most beautiful hotel and restaurant. Nestled in historical and peaceful Old Elvet, a striking transformation of an elegant townhouse ideally located minutes away from the Cathedral & Castle and Durham’s vibrant night life. Once inside the decor exudes glamour, luxuriously decedent combined with an eclectic collection of antiques & paintings creating atmosphere and special ambience to completely relax and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Town House Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing