We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Town House Durham
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
276
144
74
31
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
144
74
31
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tuble jardinthe penthouseruby roomamethyst roomeden lodgeedwardian express roomthemed roomspicnic basketrestaurant with roomsroll top bathsteakeggs benedictboutique hotelwedding nightno liftstaff were lovely
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
513 - 518 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I stayed here on my wedding night and it was the best hotel i have ever stayed in. We had the Russian bride room and everything was immaculate and beautiful. We had sauna, jaccuzi, jet shower, living area, and huuuuge bed! Breakfast was lovely and we ordered it to our room which was fast service. We also had our wedding meal for 13 guests and also one of the nicest meals i've ever had. The owners couldn't do enough for us (organising meal, giving us discount for multiple booking etc). My husband stayed in the cruise room the night before the wedding and that was a small room (being the cheapest) but still high quality and very clean. I have viewed all of the rooms and can't wait to test my next one for our 1st wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionaoroarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

stayed for a night and got the £105 offer which we thought was good initially. Staff very friendly. We stayed in the Sci Fi room. To be honest our kids love Doctor Who, so we wanted to get some pics of us coming out of the tardis, and fighting with the darleks etc hence the reason for staying in that room, and it was great fun!!! However, the only thing i would like to point us is the state of the hot tub. We were really looking forward to having a lovely warm soak later that evening, and having had a meal/drinks, headed back for a bit of fun. But sooooo disappointing. The water really smelled of pond weed, was green, and to be honest, it was like soaking in an old stagnant pond, it can't have been cleaned for months!!!!!!! I sincerely hope that they read this so that they take action, since i obviously don't know if this was the case for the other hot tub rooms. Hasten to say, we quickly jumped out of the tub and took a shower, but we both still really smelled - YUK!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We stayed at the Fallen Angel for one night in May 2010 in the Cruise Room. We booked very late and got a great deal - it's worth checking out the special offers page on the website and phoning to see what they have available. We saved almost 50% on their advertised rate.

The room was great, really good attention to detail, really high quality furniture. Bath and shower were good, too. Mini bar is charged at bar rates, which is a good principle.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, but headed into Durham instead (if you haven't been to Durham, what are you waiting for? Read Bill Bryson's review in Notes from a Small Island and ask if you can take his car). Needless to say Durham is beautiful, and you're assured of a great weekend in the city.

Note there's no car parking at the hotel itself, however there is pay and display parking outside. If you time it right, this is free late evening and you can stick some money in the meter to cover the first few hours the next day.

Location is good, near enough to the City Centre so you can be there in a few minutes, but far enough out that it's not noisy outside (I was surprised how 'lively' Durham is on a Saturday night!)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Just stayed at Fallen Angel for 1 night and really enjoyed it.We had Le Jardin room and from first walking into the Hotel found the staff and the atmosphere very welcoming. Our room was lovely and clean with an extremely comfortable bed ,an in room Sauna , and a lovely bathroom with wonderful steam shower and free standing bath.Outside was a decking area with hot tub and lovely view over the university cricket field and the river beyond and a lovely place for having breakfast.This hotel is lovely for a special occasion or just a get away from it all.On check out the lady at reception also showed us a few of the other rooms and all were of a really high standard and the Cruella room was stunning when you walked in although very Black.We asked to see the Russian Bride room but someone was already in but she said if we were passing to pop back in and she would happily show us as we only live half an hour away.Will definately be back

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank CHJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I booked a 1 night stay at this hotel as a surprise for my boyfriend's 30th birthday. It was the idea of our very own hot tub and sauna that sold it. We stayed in Le Jardin, a beautiful room. Not as big as some of the other rooms but big enough. The bathroom was lovely and clean and the steam shower very refreshing. It was lovely to relax in the hot tub with a bottle of wine whilst enjoying the view of Durham's beautiful countryside. As we stayed on a Sunday evening we were aware that the Restaurant was closed so I booked a table at Bella Italia in the city centre-however, when we return we will order a takeaway as it is such a shame to leave the room! We want to try the Premier room next as that has a hot tub too. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially the hot tub rooms. We have just got back home and cannot wait until our next stay. We booked it on a late deal and only paid 105 pounds which is a total bargain!
A very romantic and relaxing night. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthEastGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews