We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, a treat not to be missed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Town House Durham
Ranked #4 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful, a treat not to be missed”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend in Durham and stayed at The Fallen Angel hotel. We had an amazing time and thought the hotel was worthy of a review from us.
We stayed in the Boudoir room and it was a marvellous experience. To start with the bathroom must be one of the best we’ve experienced and the four poster bed was soo comfortable. the decoration was top class! Top marks from us, the room was out of this world.
We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant before hitting the town and were both served with perfectly cooked Angus steaks, the first time we’d had Angus steaks.

The staff were polite, friendly and gave us some good advice on things to do in the area.
We had a very relaxing stay and thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Durham.

We both believe the Fallen Angel make the weekend away extra special. Why can’t all hotels be like this?? We will definitely stay here again, who wouldn’t.

A big thanks to the fallen Angel hotel management and their staff for making the experience so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_buckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    129
    68
    27
    26
See reviews for
35
352
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Rather than go over this again I thought I would just cut and paste the email I sent to the hotel...be sure to scroll down to read the owner's response. Utterly appalled at this as we were actually requested by the receptionist upon check out to send an email detailing every point as they needed as much feedback as possible. As somebody who has stayed there several times, I will never go there again. Such a shame as the staff are really lovely and helpful.


Dear

I am writing to complain about our recent stay in The Fallen Angel hotel. We stayed in The Cruise room last night (Saturday 11th September) for my birthday. We are returning customers and have always had a fantastic stay. However, on this occassion our stay was far from acceptable.

Within 20 minutes of checking in to the room, water started to leak through the ceiling and on to our bed. We rang reception immediately and Claire came up to see what the problem was. Apparently the water was coming from the bathroom above. Claire explained that we were unable to change rooms as you were fully booked and offered money off the bill or a bottle of champagne during our evening meal. Although we had planned to spend the afternoon relaxing in the room, (one of the reasons we enjoy staying in themed rooms) we made ourselves scarce for the bedding to be changed. Claire said she had never known this to have happened before but looking at the ceiling this looks like this has been a recurring problem.

It wasn't until we returned to the room and started to get ready that we noticed how dusty our room was. It was as if the room hadn't been used in ages. The table at the bottom of the bed was covered in sand or salt and the unit to the left of the door entrance was covered in dust.

When we went down to dinner we ordered our drinks and the waitress then dropped a full bottle of beer on our table. She apologised, which is fine as we appreciate that mistakes happen and the girl was clearly mortified, but the whole table had to be washed down, even our room key had to be taken away to be dried. The waiter said that he would take the drinks off the bill which was a kind but expected gesture under the circumstances. The food was lovely but I had to ask for another glass of wine 3 times and the service e.g. asking if we had finished our meals when we still had cutlery in our hands, left a lot to be desired. On top of this, we received no complimentary champagne as discussed earlier.

This morning we went down for breakfast. We were the first people to sit down for breakfast, and to be honest, the room was filthy. The tables were covered in red wine stains from the night before and the floor was extremely dirty. We ordered our coffee which was so strong it was undrinkable.

Upon checkout we were expecting a large discount on our room rate as a result of the issues we had experienced and as had been discussed with Claire. The final insult was that this promise had not been documented so the lady (Brenda I think) on reception had no knowledge of this, thus we had to pay the full amount. On top of this, the drinks from last night's meal had not been taken off the bill.

All in all, having recommended The Fallen Angel to countless people, even to the point where friends have had weddings there, I'm afraid to say that on this occassion the experience was unacceptable.

I would be very grateful if you could look into this for us and organise the refund, as promised, onto my husband's card. We have stayed there for our wedding anniversary and birthdays in the past, but my husband was clearly embarrassed that for my birthday this year, The Fallen Angel has fallen standards.

Kind regards


Now for the reply...

Victoria



We have very recently taken over the Fallen Angel in which time the room rates have been reduced significantly and now include breakfast as we accept problems do exist and are doing our best to sort.



I am sorry it would seem no matter what we have done or what we hope to achieve is going to meet your exacting standards.



Receptionists do not have the authority to further discount or gift champagne.


Nigel

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank britblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I had booked this hotel for as a birthday present for my partner and had been excited about going for months. We booked the Russian Bride, which looks and sounds like the most amazing suite ever..quirky, luxurious, classy, different. WRONG

I had enquired in advance as to whether breakfast could be served in the room, and was told yes. When I tried to book this in advance, I was told….’we don’t do room service’. Odd, considering it was the same woman emailing me from a week or so before!

Called in two days before we were due to check in to see if champagne could be left in the room– no one on reception. Waited 20 minutes, rang the bell, nothing, waited a bit more….then left! Strange.

On arrival, the staff were friendly, but there still seemed to be a lot of commotion coming from the restaurant (which was STILL undergoing renovation, despite us being told that the fact the restaurant was open meant room service was off). Got into the room, which was huge, and seemed nicely appointed at first glance. HOWEVER…

The fixtures and fittings were cheap and nasty. Spa bath was broken…apparently this is no longer advertised as having a spa bath since it has been broken for some time. When we enquired at reception, we were told that some water had got down into the buttons and to just ‘keep trying to push them and it might work’…dodgy. The ‘luxury shower’ was made from naff green plastic marble effect and had plastic fittings. All in all...not very 'classy' at all. (although the l'occitane toiletries were nice)

You cant argue that this room isn’t striking, but for £300 a night (at the usual rate), it’s a rip off. For that sort of money I would expect real quality and attention to detail….proper luxury. (and maybe a mini bar????!!! & an open restaurant!)

All in all, I was so disappointed with this hotel, I had raved about it to all my friends and was a little upset to have to report back that it was rubbish! Cant speak for the other rooms, but the Russian Bride certainly fell short of expectations.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank YorkshireCrackers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Just come back from a one night stay at the fallen angel staying in the Library and Ive got to say this was one of the best nights I have had in a boutique hotel . The decor and staff are great and the steak We ate was cooked to perfection. The main town is just a short walk away including the cathedral. This is a fabulous place to stay for that bit of luxury.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmacum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Durham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed here as a birthday treat for myself. Was a night of pure luxury!
We went out for a few drinks in durham but i didnt really want to leave the hotel. Only fault was the functions on the jacuzzi not working but this didnt really spoil anything. It was great without them!

We had en evening meal in the hotel bistro, which was lovely. Food really nice.

Staff very pleasant! Would definatly return x

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellielou20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Lovely rooms however since this hotel has neen taken over the customer service is apauling, they just dont seem to care about the customer when they get them through the door. I was disgusted. The receptionist, i think called Linda was very rude. If looking for a boutique hotel and themed. I woulf recommend aphrodites lodge or the crab and lobster over this hotel anyday. Food terribel, service Worse!

Helpful?
2 Thank trippsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

We stayed in the Sci-Fi room for my partner's birthday (he's a bit of a sci-fi nut).

It's one of the "garden rooms" and not in the main building. The room smelled damp as soon as we entered.The bathroom was very musty and we had to open up all the windows to let some air in. Unfortunately that let in the midges....

The bathroom flooring was curled up at the edges where there had been damp, and the tiles around the sink needed a good scrub.

The bathroom extractor fan had been swithed off (but we found the switch and turned it back on again) and the heated towel rail wasn't working (we asked reception for a replacememt fuse, but that didn't solve it).

The hot- tub was outside and smelled very musty (surely it should smell of chlorine). We gave it a try but had a shower afterwards. It was covered by a canopy for privacy but that was all green and mouldy.
There were two pairs of Crocs to use for walking out to the hot-tub. They hadn't been cleaned since the previous occupants and were grubby.

There was a realistically priced honesty mini bar, and we got a bottle of champagne from the bar that was good value, but it was the room hygiene that let the place down.

It got noisy at night too. We had to have the windows open for ventilation and there were noisy revellers (either in the hotel,or in the area). There were various weddings taking place that day (there is a church and registry office on the same street) and some were obviously staying close by.

Perhaps the rooms in the main hotel building are better?

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Durham

Property: The Town House Durham
Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic Georgian building from the outside...... step inside and prepare to be wowed . Choose Gadds Town House, Durham city’s most beautiful hotel and restaurant. Nestled in historical and peaceful Old Elvet, a striking transformation of an elegant townhouse ideally located minutes away from the Cathedral & Castle and Durham’s vibrant night life. Once inside the decor exudes glamour, luxuriously decedent combined with an eclectic collection of antiques & paintings creating atmosphere and special ambience to completely relax and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Town House Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing