We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Light Filled Delight”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Quartermaster's

The flat is on the sunny south side of the castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The flat is on the sunny south side of the castle
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The flat is on the sunny south side of the castle
The exposed medieval stone in the sitting room
The double bedroom is light and sunny
The single bedroom
The view from the flat across to St Brandon's Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rod N
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Light Filled Delight”
Reviewed 21 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A modern flat tucked into the south facing walls of a castle with independent access. The flat has all mod cons, is clean and comfortable. The owners excelled in helping us enjoy the stay. The flat itself has no washing machine but we were able to use the castle facilities for that.

We have stayed a week with easy trips to Durham via Park and Ride, to Beamish Museum and Barnard Castle/Bowes Museum.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2018
Thanks Rod - glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your trip went well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan S
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice clean apartment”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

A nice well equipped, clean apartment in a very unusual location. The reason for the visit to this area was to spend the day at the Beamish Museum we were not disappointed. We ate at the nearby Golf Club on 2 occasions (a 5 minute walk) good quality food and reasonably priced. The 3rd evening we had a Chinese Takeway from the nearby village this was also excellent. The little church in the grounds is well worth a visit and the tea shop at the entrance to the castle staff very friendly. We also visited Raby Castle and would recommend taking the guided tour, very informative.

We (3 ladies who used to work together) thoroughly enjoyed our mini break.

Many thanks also to James for the welcome pack.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
Thank you for these comments, Joan, and for you helpful feedback too. I hope we will see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobytopic
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, lovely people.”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

From the beautiful fresh flowers and bottle of wine waiting for you, you feel like a welcome and special guest. Everything you need is provided in this cosy, clean, light and homely apartment, even hot water bottles and lovely warm blankets.
A special place, loved our stay and hope to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2018
Thank you Linda - I'm so glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M155EEL
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in lovely castle in lovely location... Just lovely!”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Not sure what happened to my original review so trying again. Just stayed for a week at Quartermaster's apartment in Brancepeth Castle. We were warmly welcomed by James who was on hand if anything was needed. The apartment is beautifully appointed and has everything you would need for your stay including a complimentary bottle of wine! Comfortable beds fluffy towels and also a sofa bed in the lounge so comfortably sleeps five if needed. The location is superb... from the moment you drive through the gates and past the gatehouse it takes your breath away. Who wouldn't want to stay here? It's location is tranquil and a short walk from the tearoom in the gatehouse, the churchyard and the golf club. Refreshments are available at the tearoom and the golf club house. Durham is a short drive away, as is Whitworth Hall (feed the deer) and further afield you can easily get to Seaham harbour on the coast and visit Tommy. If you are looking for somewhere different and very special to stay book Quartermaster's. I can't wait to go back. Thank you James.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2017
Thanks for this, Mandy - so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to meet and host you and your parents. It would be lovely to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin687
Madison, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly a great experience, you have to want this.”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Close to Durham and not far from anywhere else. If you love the NE then go for it. Can't imagine anyone being disappointed. Nice welcome pack including our preferred wine .... I think James has got this right.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2017
Thank you Kevin - so glad you enjoyed it. We'd love to see you again if you are ever back this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James s
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Somewhere different”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A unquie And atmospheric apartment
Situated in the outer walls of a castle!
Good location modern fascilities perfect for up to 3 people who are looking for somewhere different to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you - glad you enjoyed the stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrailBlaz...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable,delightful location to explore the beauty of Durham and its surrounds”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Great day out at Beamish Museum didn't get to sample the iconic 'fish and chips' something for next time-the ticket is valid for a year.Very impressed by Durham Cathedral and arrived at the right time to hear evensong with wonderful music.Managed all the hills with enough rests for coffee! Riverside walk is well worth it,you get a different view of the Cathedral and the Castle.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2017
Thanks John - glad you enjoyed it and we look forward to welcoming you back again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing