We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, quirky with lots of character and Lesley is a fab hostess.”
Review of Chestnut Villa B&B

Chestnut Villa B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Villa B&B
Ranked #19 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, quirky with lots of character and Lesley is a fab hostess.”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Lovely rooms in a lovely house with lots of individuality, and great personal attention from Lesley. Thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesleydee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
23
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, landlady lesley very nice, very good breakfast, my poached eggs were great, only two minutes on bus to city centre and good pub at end of road, would definately stay again if back in durham

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hardtopleasealso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Planned to stay here 3 nights but left after the 1st night. Although the hostess was a kind person, the room was cold, damp, dirty and very moldy. It is not very close to the town center - might be a nice walk in warmer weather, but not off season. There is a bus, but we had difficulty finding correct schedules and weren't sure if it would run when we needed it over the weekend. Perhaps we were given the worst room or came at a bad time for the owner. It seems like the location would be quiet and pretty in the summer - but I would not risk staying here again because of our experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvmooses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janecaroline
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2009

If you want a good value B&B without doilies, I couldn't recommend Chestnut Villas more highly. Warm, friendly welcome, lovely breakfast (fresh fruit! plus cooked breakfast) and very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janecaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
494 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 19 in Durham
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#1 of 2 in Brandon
34 reviews
3.2 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 38 in Durham
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valhalla B&B
Valhalla B&B
#1 of 2 in Broompark
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa B&B

Property: Chestnut Villa B&B
Address: Stonebridge Gardens | Stonbridge, Durham DH1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For quiet, comfortable and competitively-priced Bed and Breakfast all for the family, individual and groups in Durham’s green belt, Chestnut Villa B&B’s accommodation cannot be beaten, We are conveniently located close to Durham city centre, near Durham University, the railway train station and are on a main bus route into Durham. Chestnut Villa B&B is surrounded by beautiful mature gardens, shrubs and flowers. We are both child-friendly and dog-friendly and can offer not only a Full English or Continental Breakfast but Vegetarian , Vegan and Celiac - by arrangement ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing