We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of Chestnut Villa B&B

Chestnut Villa B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Villa B&B
Ranked #22 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Lovely place to stay - Lesley was charming, and nothing was too much trouble (although you may have to fight off breakfast - the food just keeps on coming, high in both quality and quantity).

The walk into Durham is pretty long, and certainly not flat; the less fit can use the handy bus stop just up the road, with a service every 10-15 minutes.

It's a "proper" family B&B, not a small hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugbear6502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

i just had to write to say that my family had a wonderful weekend at the chestnut villa. I could say how clean & comfortable the rooms were or how great the breakfasts were, but it was LESLEY who made the weekend for us. She is an absolute delight to meet & i could have spent the weekend just chatting to her, looking at her artwork instead of sight seeing!! She really could not do anymore to help us - such as knowing local taxi numbers, bus routes & walks. My son was enthralled by her beautiful garden especially the pottery tree trunks filled with flowers & the pond. We're definitely visiting her again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 771janey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This was a charming bed-and-breakfast, in a lovely location with an excellent breakfast which has to be eaten to be believed. it is a bit out of town but there are frequent buses that run into town nearby that are easy to use. There is also a pub nearby less than a five minute walk which is pleasant and also serves food. the landlady is delightful and full of good information. Pleasant and interesting experience. We loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justinpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The Chestnut Villa is a wonderful B & B. It's in a lovely little brick cottage about 20 minutes' walk and 5 minutes' bus ride away from the town center (and the B & B is right next to a bus stop.) Lesley is a wonderful hostess, extremely accommodating and kind. She made us a great breakfast (poached eggs on toast with tomatoes and mushrooms, fruit, tea, coffee...) and made sure that we had everything we needed. Our room was bright and clean and the beds were very comfortable. Our room had a private bathroom, which wasn't too small and had a good shower. The B & B itself is part of Lesley's house and it's an intimate and friendly atmosphere. In short, we had a very pleasant stay and I definitely recommend the Chestnut Villa.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Giuliana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

My sister and I went up to Durham just for a quick trip and we were so happy to have stayed at Chestnut Villa! It was very close to the city - an easy walk to city center - but the house itself is in the beautiful countryside. We had a very clean and comfortable room, but Lesley, the owner, is really what makes this B&B shine. She is just marvelous! It was Easter morning and she really made it extra special for her guests. We enjoyed a terrific breakfast and were truly sad to leave. If we are ever in the area again, we will definitely stay at Chestnut Villa.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Durham city centre is about a mile from the B&B. Lesley is a very friendly owner who did everything that she could to make us feel welcome and at home. The breakfast in the morning gave us a really good start for the day. Enjoyed our one night stay there, and will go back one day when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworldinmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Really good B@B with one off the best owners we have stayed with.She can not do enough for you ,likes to have a chat with you about her painting which i really enjoyed.Knows the area well having been brought up there,bedroom was warm and cosy bathroom clean had a good nights sleep,breakfast was excellant will stop again when in DURHAM.Well done LESLEY

RW@BK EDWARDS

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBERT E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 mi away
Castle View Guest House
1.7 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,181 reviews
4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa B&B

Address: Stonebridge Gardens | Stonbridge, Durham DH1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £40 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For quiet, comfortable and competitively-priced Bed and Breakfast all for the family, individual and groups in Durham’s green belt, Chestnut Villa B&B’s accommodation cannot be beaten, We are conveniently located close to Durham city centre, near Durham University, the railway train station and are on a main bus route into Durham. Chestnut Villa B&B is surrounded by beautiful mature gardens, shrubs and flowers. We are both child-friendly and dog-friendly and can offer not only a Full English or Continental Breakfast but Vegetarian , Vegan and Celiac - by arrangement ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing