We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more could we ask?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Villa B&B

Chestnut Villa B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Villa B&B
Ranked #18 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Stallingborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What more could we ask?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We love this B&B. It is not a modern property as the name clearly indicates and only has a handful of rooms but it is a delight to stay here. The decor is elegant with walls adorned with the owner's own paintings. The rooms are comfortable and most have an additional single bed. The food is delicious and the service is non-pareil. As well as this the accommodation is excellent value for money. We have recently stayed for the third or fourth time and I am almost tempted to keep quiet for fear all the rooms will be taken next time we try to stay! Oops, forgot to say that the location is pretty handy for the city of Durham and provides an excellent base for touring. Thanks Lesley. You're very special.

Room Tip: One room has private bathroom, others ensuite, all equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jvhyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    7
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Arrived for a pre-booked stay in busy graduation week to find that the owner had double-booked. We can only suggest you are very careful about your reservation as nothing was confirmed in writing or by email, and the 2 telephone calls we made were not reliable. We were helped to alternative accommodation, so all was well in the end. But we nearly had to book a hotel 15 miles away!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Only had a one night stay but I will certainly try to return to Chestnut Villa. Lesley is a lovely host and made us feel so welcome and even our Border Collie was made to feel at home. The house is lovely and so is the garden and given a special feel with Lesley's fine collection of paintings throughout the house. The bed was so comfortable and it's such a peaceful location so we got a great night's sleep and there was a delicious breakfast to get our day off to a hearty start. I'd like to keep this B&B a secret but it deserves to be renowned for the treasure that it is.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband, friend, and I spent two nights with Lesley, the loveliest hostess ever. Don't know which we liked better, the delicious breakfasts with homemade jams and fruit, or watching the bunnies and pheasant in the English garden out our upper window in the evening. We were welcomed with tea and cookies, and relaxed conversation ranging from art, to history, to personal reminiscences. The rooms were comfortable and there was the Stone Bridge Pub and Restaurant just up the road for meals. Lesley urged us to visit Durham Cathedral, and it is definitely worth the visit - a sense of vast history leavening a truly sacred place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Chestnut Villa and once again the welcome by Lesley was very warm and she made a pot of tea on arrival which was a nice touch. The room was perfect with a very comfy bed and the decor was modern, but still a traditional room. Very quiet as well. The breakfast was delicious and I particularly enjoyed the bowl of fresh fruit. Added bonus was the Stonebridge Inn at just a couple of minutes walk, so I had a nice dinner there. Would definitely recommend. Good value for money too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma662014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Lesley was so welcoming to us. We felt very well looked after. She provided an excellent breakfast. We enjoyed Lesley's art in the breakfast room.

We stayed in a family room, but needed to use a travel cot for our daughter. There was not much space once this was put up - but we were fine for the night. The room was very comfortable and well provisioned. We had the exclusive use of a separate bathroom.

Her directions were very clear, so it was easy to find the B&B, and there was off-road parking. It was a short drive into the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My son, wife and I stayed here for one night and the owner went out of er way to make us feel at home. Plenty of offsite parking with beautifully kept gardens. The room was lovely with our own bathroom and after showing us to our room, we were welcomed with a pot of tea and biscuits downstairs in a beautiful period room.

Beds were comfortable, the room light warm, and airy, and the location was great - being just a 5 minutes drive from the center of Durham, yet in a lovely rural setting.

As mentioned by others, breakfast was great (fresh fruit salad, cereals, cooked vegetarian breakfast, tea/coffee, etc.) and we will certainly stay again when returning to Durham

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajay98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
6.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Villa B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Villa B&B

Property: Chestnut Villa B&B
Address: Stonebridge Gardens | Stonbridge, Durham DH1 3RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For quiet, comfortable and competitively-priced Bed and Breakfast all for the family, individual and groups in Durham’s green belt, Chestnut Villa B&B’s accommodation cannot be beaten, We are conveniently located close to Durham city centre, near Durham University, the railway train station and are on a main bus route into Durham. Chestnut Villa B&B is surrounded by beautiful mature gardens, shrubs and flowers. We are both child-friendly and dog-friendly and can offer not only a Full English or Continental Breakfast but Vegetarian , Vegan and Celiac - by arrangement ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing