We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B”

Broom Farm Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broom Farm Guest House
Ranked #22 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights (last weekend in August). I partly agree with some comments about it being 'dated' , but really you have to look at the fact that it is an old converted farm house, so it is old but has character.
The landlady was very friendly and the breakfast was very very nice ! Lots of choice and came freshly cooked and piping hot.
It was just a base as we were visiting our son and family nearby in Ushaw Moor, so it was very well located.
No problems at all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Only tried 1 room. Number 4. Situated at the front of the house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kev361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Broom Farm Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our stop for the night at Broom House and White's Restaurant was an extremely pleasant surprise. The house with its history and remodeling was amazing. The dining experience was beyond words. But our favorite spot was the great patio for happy hour and tea. The hosts were so accommodating with tea upon our early arrival. Of all our Coast to Coast accommodations, this was by far our favorite stop.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character. You can't go wrong with any room. All have a view of the gard...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieO429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We booked all four bedrooms for my daughter to be married in Durham (away from home) in February. We could not have chosen a better place to stay, and the bride was delighted to be married from such a lovely family home.
We were made so welcome and the owners did everything and more to make our time there very special.
Good rooms and first class breakfasts. Safe parking, and an excellent location for visiting Durham.
I would love to stay there again, this time to explore the lovely countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very pleasant Guest House, ample parking, double room large and spacious equiped with everything you would need. Superb breakfast, very friendly owners, happy to share information from best place to eat to getting into Durham and other places to visit. Bus stop right outside Guest House, ideal for going into Durham, only takes about 7 minutes, regular buses all day, no problem going in for an evening meal. Twenty minutes from Beamish Museum, well worth a visit. On leaving the Guest House and heading away from Durham, instantly into the countryside with it's many public footpaths and the scenery is superb. Would certainly use this accommodation again, perfectly situated for everything as well as being very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaldingrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We only stayed at the guesthouse for 1 night and the family is very welcoming and nice, but the room could do with a good clean and some new bedlinen. It was all a bit too old, worn and tired. Breakfast was ok, but we have had better. It's a shame because the location is great and the people too!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Farmhouse within easy reach of Durham City, ample parking, warm and friendly owners. Spacious single room, very clean and comfy. Huge bathroom for sole use. Breakfast nicely cooked and more than ample, homemade preserves, fruit, yoghurt and cereals freely available. Food of good quality. I will certainly return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie120555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Disappointing visit as this guest house was recommended. Landlady vey pleasant and welcoming, but room was "tired" and not the cleanest we have been in. For example: the bedding was clean but the pillows were badly marked and need replacing urgently. Towels were clean but frayed. The breakfast was well presented and plentiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
0.1 mi away
Valhalla B&B
Valhalla B&B
#1 of 2 in Broompark
5 reviews
1.5 mi away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#1 of 2 in Brandon
36 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
Gilesgate Moor Hotel
#23 of 39 in Durham
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kingslodge Hotel
Kingslodge Hotel
#5 of 39 in Durham
279 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hardwick Hotel
#32 of 39 in Durham
1 reviews
3.8 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 39 in Durham
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broom Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broom Farm Guest House

Address: Broom Park Village Front Street, Durham DH7 7QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Hotel Class:4 star — Broom Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing