We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!”
Review of Croxdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Croxdale Inn
Ranked #11 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed here for one night on Business and will be booking to stay again when i am next in the area. The food is the best Indian I have ever tasted! That much so that i requested w takeawy meal which i collected and brought home with me after my business meeting. The room was nice and bed very comfortable. I would definately recommend this to anyone looking for eithersomewhere to stay or just to eat. Excellent Value rooms and food very reasonably priced

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corineross59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash S, Owner at Croxdale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you at our hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Croxdale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed on business and loved it. The food is excellent. I love Indian food and this ranks up there with the best I have eaten. The dishes are prepared freshly and are authentic and very tasty. My room was comfortable and the price was very fair. I would recommend this venue to business and leisure travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelseasteve71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash S, Owner at Croxdale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you at our hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Croxdale is a little out of the way with not a lot going on so not sure what to expect. However the Hotel was a pleasant surprised. Lovely welcome. Arrived early well before booking in time. Staff were happy to let us park the car and showed us bus routes and times into Durham - only a 10 minute journey. Room was good and clean with everything you need. Pleasantly decorated. Booked for a meal at the Indian restaurant and tried out the bar. Service really good and friendly. We were made to feel very comfortable and welcome. Meal fantastic. If ever in the area again we will return. Have told all our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie_stables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash S, Owner at Croxdale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you at our hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Lovely welcome from the owners. Bedroom was clean, warm and the bed and pillows were comfortable and got a brilliant nights sleep. The Hotel is very nice. The Restaturant is not your "run of the mill" , its better and the prices are very reasonable. The bar is nice and wecoming and the staff are well mannered and pleasant. Would advise you to stay here if visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel have a nice view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy08Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash S, Owner at Croxdale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you at our hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Highly rated rooms, food and customer service. Definitely the best quality Indian cuisine in the North East by far! Clean, comfy rooms, and well facilitated. We also had the fantastic opportunity to enjoy a bottle of wine in the jacuzzi, brought up by the owner. Always going above and beyond the call of duty! Ensuring we were well catered for throughout our visit(s). Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash S, Owner at Croxdale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you at our hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay close to Durham for a couple of nights, and were very happy that we found the Croxdale Inn. It was great value for money, the rooms were spacious, and there was a sauna and Jacuzzi which was a nice touch.
We ate there both evenings as Durham seemed to lack much in the way of nice restaurants. The food at the Penash however was superb. The staff were great and couldn't do enough for you both in the restaurant and the B&B. Would certainly stay there again if we were in the area and happily recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCOOKE_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash S, Owner at Croxdale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you at our hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I have stayed at the hotel twice now as once was just not enough. the rooms are of a large size making you feel right at home, clean, tidy and fresh. the bar is a great place to be with a large variety of beverage's and well trained smiley bubbly staff to care for all your needs.
the food is to die for , authentic Indian meals which have bags of flavour, it was so nice I had to meet the chefs for my self just to shake there hands and thank them for such a beautiful meal.
every thing about this hotel and restaurant is 5 star, I advise any one to book a room and have a meal. you will not be disappointed and will want to return.

Room Tip: spend some time in the hot tub with a glass of wine , this will complete your stay at the hotel .
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash S, Owner at Croxdale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you at our hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
3.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
524 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croxdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croxdale Inn

Address: Front Street East, Durham DH6 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £46 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Croxdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Durham City Centre, the Croxdale Inn Hotel is an ideal spot from which you can discover Durham. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all this beautiful and historic city has to offer. Also within easy reach is the famous Durham Cathedral as well as the Oriental Museum and University of Durham. The Croxdale Inn Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities provide a relaxing experience for our guests. •Well appointed Accommodation •Penash Indian Restaurant •Pub with Sky Sports •Free WiFi •Conference Facilities and Party area •Coffee House with Italian Lavazza Coffee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Croxdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croxdale Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing