We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break”
Review of Croxdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Croxdale Inn
Ranked #12 of 41 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Looked after well by friendly and welcoming staff. Great Indian food in the Panash restaurant with excellent service. Comfy bed and nice room. No complaints whatsoever. Thank you Praveen and crew!

S.Douglas and partner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Lovely friendly staff, clean bright rooms, divine nibbles, only wish we had of stayed for a meal as the aroma was very inviting, we will definately be back. Claire Dixon, Lisa Lyons, Laura McLean, Lyndsey McKenna, Newcastle upon Tyne

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

B & B owners were friendly and the service from the staff was also efficient and friendly !
However although on first glance the place has had a lot of money spent on it recently on closer examination corners have been cut.The shower door in our room was broken and by the time i came to shower the hot water had run out.Even the hot water in the shower by the jacuzzi had run out (not good !) .Breakfast was okay but i have had much better,(sausages were a little strange and bacon over cooked,second day only half a slice which was very odd).Toast was to thin and toasted too much.
The dinner in the restaurant was nice with good service.
Overall a decent place but improvements need to be made.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easytiger1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

stayed twice now, first time after a long day driving i fancied the sound of the sauna and jacuzzi, nice welcome from Praveen the owner, he couldnt do enough for me, i requested the sauna etc, was very expensive £20 an hour but gave it a go, both were cold and pump for jacuzzi was too noisy to relax in so obviosly wasnt charged for that, good idea but way too expensive. room was lovely and clean,bed was great, food was very good,bar prices were wrong to what i paid, manager said was updating, couldnt get wifi "the cloud" though? owner couldnt understand why, nobody there next morning to pay my bar bill and check out, just posted keys? being honest i went back later that day to pay.
second time, again room was great,only fault was bathroom was cramped,sink was litterally under my arm when used the loo? food again was good if you like indian food that is, made sure i paid my bill before retiring for the night as nobody there again next morning at 7am hence not tried breakfast so cant comment on that, couldnt get wifi again,not even my 3G so that was still a puzzle.bar prices still not what they actually charge?

negatives: or positive critisism, extras too expensive,no alternative (or not suggested anyway) food if you dont like indian food?
wifi, some unknown puzzle,for me anyway?
bar prices not what you pay?
post your keys next day,convenient if like me early start the next day, but could be open to abuse or descrepency if you dont pay your bill before you leave?
Im sure these are only minor issues as the place not been open long and the positives although brief outway the negatives ive listed, have no problem staying again.

positives, lovely clean rooms, nice welcome, food is very good,staff very friendly.

Mr Clarke

Room Tip: upgraded both times to a double room so cant complain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from a fantastic meal here, food good, portions good, taste excellent, value for money excellent, excellent service. Starters around £4, mains around £8, sides around £3 very good value for indians, pub prices for drinks. Overall a short drive out of durham for a very hearty meal with excellent service at a fair price.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Jamesspennymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Family weekend. Praveen's customer service is excellent. Rooms clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, local butchers sausage and bacon in the full English, cooked to order (have stayed in some pricier hotels with cheap ingredients where everything is cooked at 6:30am and kept under lamps!) Short drive to Durham and there is a kids playground / football pitch across the road, handy if you have children. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgraemec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Tried Penashs takeaway service last night for the first time, our meal was superb! A truly authentic experience totally superior to your average Indian takeaway. Would definitely recommend it and we will try the restaurant next.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jillycat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
3.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
245 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
9 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croxdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croxdale Inn

Address: Front Street East, Durham DH6 5HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £38 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Croxdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Durham City Centre, the Croxdale Inn Hotel is an ideal spot from which you can discover Durham. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all this beautiful and historic city has to offer. Also within easy reach is the famous Durham Cathedral as well as the Oriental Museum and University of Durham. The Croxdale Inn Hotel offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities provide a relaxing experience for our guests. •Well appointed Accommodation •Penash Indian Restaurant •Pub with Sky Sports •Free WiFi •Conference Facilities and Party area •Coffee House with Italian Lavazza Coffee ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Croxdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croxdale Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing