We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joan John and Jessica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Garden House Inn
Ranked #15 of 37 Durham B&B and Inns
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Joan John and Jessica”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Having found this Inn quite by accident last September and having thoroughly enjoyed the food and the ambience, we decided to stay for a week in January. The room was tastefully furnished and contained two double beds. Although it faced the main road, there was no traffic noise to disturb our sleep.
All of the staff, without exception, were pleasant and attentive but, above all, Jimmy, our host, could not have been more helpful and attentive to our needs.
The selection for breakfast was great and we were asked if we would like a choice of cooked breakfasts as well as a continental choice.

The bars downstairs were cosy and warm with open fires.

The fact that there was a bus stop right outside the door was a wonderful help and saved us from having to drive into Durham where the parking is difficult.

Thank you Jimmy and all the staff for making us welcome. I'm sure that we will return at some time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    74
    42
    17
    15
See reviews for
56
102
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

By far the best Gastro pub in Durham, food, staff and decor are all excellent. We held our daughters christening at the Garden house inn and all of our guests still rave about the venue and have threatened to re-visit! Whether it's an evening out, a quick bite at lunch or a weekend stay in Durham City you will struggle to find a better venue, our only problem is we live a little too close and it's far too convenient!

We have had many friends stay over in their bedrooms and all have been very complimentary about the rooms and the service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Having never had to find accommodation during the years we lived in Durham, we were recommended the new Garden House by friends we were visiting up the road, and what an excellent recommendation it was. We arrived in time for Sunday dinner, which was great - in particular, the veg was still nice and crunchy, a far cry from the overcooked stuff you usually expect. Our room was lovely - just redecorated and full of character. The bed was very comfy and we had a full tea service in the room. And in the morning there was a lovely selection of things for breakfast. Throughout our brief stay, the owner and his son were keen to ensure we had everything we wanted. All-in-all, it's hard to believe they've only been open for guests a few weeks and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We had a brilliant weekend in Durham at a christening, where the Garden House Inn was the venue for the event and out chosen hotel. Our room was spotless, tastefully decorated and newly refurbished. Although the hotel is near a main road we found it quiet and peaceful. The food was lovely at supper (I'm not a foodie - that's all you're getting) and all the staff were attentive and friendly. In fact all the staff "went the extra mile" all weekend, making our stay pleasurable and the christening a brilliant event. The food at the christening IS worth a mention, even by a non-foodie. Three choices - chicken pie, lasagne, butternut squash and leek crumble - all delicious according to our party who sampled them all. All in all I cannot fault the venue and the service and will definitely return. Thank you Jim and all your staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Though we arrived late in the evening to Durham, owner Jim welcomed us to his beautiful restaurant and inn, The Garden House Inn. Our room, with full bath, had just been redecorated and was extremely clean, and beautifully appointed with contemporary furnishings. We had a lovely dinner with the best fish and chips anywhere in England. We were even presented with complimentary cordials at the end of our meal. We were able to walk to the river, cathedral and castle from the Inn thanks to the advice of Adrian, Jim's partner. ALL of our needs were met with such hospitality and graciousness. I highly recommend the Garden House Inn of Durham!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonjaChamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Two of us dined last night after friends had reccommended it (hadn't been back for some years due to very poor quality food etc.) and what a change there has been, gone are the large T.V.s and noisey football supporters, and the food is all freshly prepared and good, had the prawns and chorizio and steamed mussels in cider cream sauce with lots of bread to soak up, we each had a sirloin and asked for medium rare, both came exactly that, good to actually get a steak done properly and not well done at the edges and a tiny bit pink in the middle.
We followed that with a huge chunk of sticky toffee pudding (shared) and a nice touch at the end by the staff was a complimentary Baileys on ice (or Amoretto)
All for a good price and worth it, we have been to places charging far more for not as good.
We will be back with our friends for more of this quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lunnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Me and my father visited for a meal after been told it was 'amazing' by friends. We are both very fussy eaters and didn't have starters, we both had the fish and chips which were to die for, crispy batter with white fluffy chips. Full of taste, they were brought out to us with in 10 minutes and the service was outstanding. We were full after that and didn't have any desserts but we will certainly be returning soon for some starters and desserts as well as some more fish and chips!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#4 of 37 in Durham
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Inn

Property: The Garden House Inn
Address: North Road, Durham DH1 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your The Garden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing