We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Garden House Inn
Ranked #16 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Northern Charm”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed two nights in this small Inn which were very pleasant .We ate supper in the restaurant which was very nice and breakfast which had everything we wanted .Our room was good,clean and comfortable with everything we could want .The bar area had a nice atmosphere with great beers available to try .The location was 5 minutes from the station and about 8 minutes from the city centre.We did not miss not having a car and there was no need for any Taxis either.Great .We had fun staying at the Inn and enjoyed its unique charm and eclectic lay out with lovely friendly staff.Thank you.We hope to be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    76
    44
    18
    16
See reviews for
57
104
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

There is no separate check in area so you have to be prepared to queue at the bar and wait your turn to be "served". I stayed in room 6 which was perfectly pleasant and very light. In fact, the intensity of the external light attached to the wall of room 6 is such that if you turn in for an early light it's a bit like trying to fall asleep in the centre circle of a floodlit Wembley. (The light does go off eventually at around midnight.) Breakfast was very disappointing. Apparently cooked breakfasts are only served in the winter months. This isn't obvious from the website. The "continental" breakfast offering was very limited. Cereals and toast are available. Tea and coffee are not fresh brewed and served in individual pots. Jam and marmalade comes in regular size jars which are passed from table to table and that means you have no choice but to put up with other people putting buttered knives in to the jars. The low point was the rather sorry selection of two types of salami - three slices of each so presumably not too many guests expected for breakfast - and two types of processed cheese. The salami and cheese were presumably the continental elements of the breakfast.

The people who now run The Garden House Inn only took over in June 2011 and have obviously put a lot of work in to refurbishment of the place. They do not have a background in catering and this was much in evidence when I stayed there recently.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europegirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimmy L, Owner at The Garden House Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for the feedback. We're sorry you were disappointed by the breakfast which was served during your stay. After reading your comments and the comments of others we have made several changes to our breakfasts.

Thanks to your comments, Jam and marmalade now come in individual portions, and we have a greater selection of meats, cheese and freshly cooked pastries on offer during breakfast.

I have also noted your comment about the external lights, and have made it policy for the lights to go out at 10:45pm and we have had the blinds replaced in room 6 with black out blinds.

Currently we do not serve cooked breakfast at all, neither during winter nor summer. This is stated on booking.com when you make a reservation, but I will ensure this is made clear on our own website is well.

Thanks for the feedback and if your ever visiting Durham again, we would love you to give us another try. Please get in touch, make yourself known during when you book and we will do our upmost to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Many Thanks
Jimmy Llewellyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Garden House for a family gathering nearby. Jimmy behind the bar was very welcoming and explained everything we needed to know. We were in room 6, which is light and airy with a wonderfully comfortable bed and thick duvet. Had some fun with the over- bath shower to get the temperature just right (one of those safe - cracking jobs where a tiny tap adjustment is all the difference between boiling and freezing) but we managed. Continental breakfast was served in the conservatory, good coffee and tea and a reasonable selection of cooked meats, cheese, yoghurt and cakes, with fresh juice and toast. Ideally would have appreciated a few cooked items as well. Shame we didn't have an opportunity to try the bar food, as it smelled wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner rooms like room 6 are light and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Garden House Inn is a lovely pub, about 7 or 8 minutes walk from the City centre. Our room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, with hairdryer and tea/coffee making faciities, plus TV/DVD. The bar is a really relaxing and friendly place to sit and have a drink, and we ate there both nights of our stay. The food was lovely, and it's obviously a popular place to eat as both nights it was busy with locals enjoying a meal (Tuesday and Wednesday nights, and it's unusual to see a pub busy in midweek these days) The food is well priced, the set menu was around £10 for two courses and £13 for three, if you went off the a la carte menu, main courses varied from £8 to around £16 for a steak. The staff were, without exception, friendly, pleasant and helpful and happy to have a chat. I really wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Garden House to anyone wanting a break in Durham. It was excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovers59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a review just for the pub and food - Had a night out with friends here on a friday night. The atmosphere was great, a open fire make it feel warm and cozy. The decor is different and makes the place feel like a front room! The food was great well presented and tasty and good value for money. A good night out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissFloopy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

First, I should make clear that this review pertains to the restaurant/bar part of Garden House Inn. Had dinner here on a Saturday night with my wife and we had a great evening. The eating area is very cozy with dimmed lighting. Shared homemade chicken liver pate and chili king prawns as starters and both were extremely tasty. We liked them so much we asked to have another starter (fish cakes) but unfortunately the kitchen had just run out. For main course I had the fish and chips. Fish was wonderfully crispy and the homemade tartar sauce made a great accompaniment though I ran out about halfway through (I'm sure I could have had more had I asked for it). Chips weren't traditionally french fries but almost more like oven-baked jacked potatoes (and slightly soggy). Whether that's good or bad is a personal opinion but I found them perfectly fine. Wife had lamb and it was tender and tasty. Plates were decorated with an eye to detail and quality of the food and the presentation of it was a couple of classes above what you'd expect in a pub. Only disappointment was the lack of real ale - only 1 one despite having at least 5 pumps. As for value, we ended up paying £60 which included dessert for the wife, 2 pints of beer, 2 large glasses of wine (not the house wine either), and a tip. Perfectly acceptable and even cheapish if you consider what we got for that. We would definitely come back to this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Me and My Husband visited here today. First we were greeted in to the recently refurbished bar where we both had a drink. We were then showed to our table. Our first impressions of the staff were excellent. They were chatty and friendly and asked how we where. The Chef was even stood behind the bar and smiled at us which we thought was nice and traditional.

We skipped starters and went on to both have fish and chips (recommended to us by friends) all I can say is they were amazing. Crispy batter and full of white fresh delicious fish. The chips melted in your mouth and were lovely and fluffy.

I am not sure why there is 2 recent bad reviews but they must have been to the wrong place as I would give this place 10* it is delicious.

Excellently prices for excellent food, drink and service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#5 of 38 in Durham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Inn

Property: The Garden House Inn
Address: North Road, Durham DH1 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Garden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing