We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Garden House Inn
Ranked #16 of 38 Durham B&B and Inns
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect family stay.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed as a family of four for one night and wish it could have been longer. The room was large and comfortable. Dinner was fantastic. Breakfast was great and the service throughout our stay was beyond what we expected. We recommend this Inn and restaurant whole heartedly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    76
    44
    18
    16
See reviews for
57
104
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

The food was nice. The salted caramel and chocolate tart was very good! I would definitely recommend it. £5 for the size of the dessert was pricey though. They had a good selection of flavoured ciders. The atmosphere was very welcoming. Candles on all the tables made it romantic. The furniture was all a bit quirky but looked really good. Great place, would definitely go again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lsphaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle up
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I booked a room on booking.com for March, I have just had to cancel this booking, I emailed the address on the booking asking them to confirm they have received my cancellation, I did not receive an email back so called them this morning never have I spoke to anyone so rude. Never even gave me a second before he rudely said I would have to cancel on the internet if this is how I booked and then hung up, so I still have no confirmation this has been cancelled, I am so pleased I cancelled if this is the customer services I had before even visiting the place.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the Garden House for two nights in late Feb 2014. Stayed in room 3 which was huge, spotlessly clean with very comfy bed. Room was a bit cold when I arrived but with two easily controlled radiators was very soon toasty warm.

Staff all very pleasant.

Great location being just a short walk from the station and within easy walking distance of the town centre (or by bus from the bus stop right outside the hotel).

Breakfast was excellent .... (Bacon sandwich was massive!) ..... And Sunday lunch excellent. (No problems ordering just a starter and dessert)

Negatives?

I'm used to living on a main road so the traffic noise wasn't a problem for me, but the room being set right above the pub doorway iwas a bit noisy when customers were leaving at the end if the night.

And as a single person, I had no option but to pay the double rate for the room, so did think £85 a night was a bit steep?

Overall a good stay though and would recommend

Room Tip: As per other reviews ..... Room three is large and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We came up to Durham at the end of February 2014 to attend the induction of the new Bishop of Durham.
The Garden House Inn is as ideal location as it is just on the outskirts of the city with an easy walk into town and the railway station. If you dont fancy walking there is a choice of buses stopping right outside.
The room was lovely, clean neet and tidy with a nice bathroom and powerful shower.
The Inn is very welcoming and the staff are very curtious.
Although the dinner on Friday evening was not all that good the breakfasts and lunch on Sunday really made up for this.
I would recommnend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Durham for a weekend but doesn't want to experience the noisy nightlife by staying right inside the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Fantastic stay only one problem busy main road, windows not sufficient enough to keep noise down. Would stay again though. Staff couldn't so enough for you and even catered for gluten free and dairy free diet. THANK YOU.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abel1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Room was comfortable, shower was difficult to work and maintain a normal temperature! Not the best night sleep for a light sleeper was awoken very early by the traffic passing by outside the room. The bed was ok, for 2 tall people we could have done with a bigger bed, but it was ok. Breakfast on the morning was a let down, only 5 choices which we had to choose the night before, plenty of toppings for toast but we weren't offered any toast, little variety of things like yogurts and fruit. The breakfast choices that we had were very nice, but no sauces available without having to ask for them. Overall it's an ok place to stay for one night but I wouldn't stay any longer.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hannahpiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,048 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Town House Durham
The Town House Durham
#5 of 38 in Durham
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Inn

Property: The Garden House Inn
Address: North Road, Durham DH1 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Garden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing