We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal chaos!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Garden House Inn
Ranked #20 of 41 Durham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My friend booked a table for eleven of us to celebrate her birthday at this hotel and I have never experienced anything so awful in my life. We waited 1.5 hours for the food and then they forgot to serve two meals. When one of the two came (the other was refused because everyone else had finished), the meal was so small that you could hardly see it- it was sent back. The quality of the meal my partner ate was very poor- overcooked and overpriced. Essentially, he paid £12 for sausage and mash with no vegetables.

We did complain to the owner. A compensatory bottle of red wine was given but we were a party of eleven and half of us were drinking white wine. Finally, the owner's attitude to our complaints was defensive, bordering on rude. Altogether, there was no excuse for this standard of service as the inn was not even full!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank LexyCusco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Food here is great, although would benefit from a bit more variety. The duck is to die for.

However; the rooms are a bit of a letdown. Clean enough but the showers don't work properly and they're a bit dated. Plus breakfast is just some ham and cheese or cereal. All very nice just would be nice to have something worth getting up for.

Other than that, no complaints!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank fatpig2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed overnight to visit Durham. What a find! Don't be put off by the traffic as we slept extremely well and it wasn't a problem. The spacious room was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and tastefully furnished. Our meal that evening was first class! Plenty of choice and well presented. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although breakfast was continental, the selection was excellent. Many thanks for a lovely stay, Rob & Carol

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27caro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I decided to dine here last week. We were both disappointed with our meal and the service that was provided.
The meal was not of the quality or the presentation that I would have expected for the price we paid. Service was virtually non existant, we were given knives and forks after the meal was served and there was no mention of condiments.
On paying the bill I was asked how the meal was, to which I replied, ok. No further comment from the member of staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186394Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights this week, it is a lovely place to stay, a short walk into Durham, comfortable room , nice big towels , great pub food, a really good continental breakfast selection , lovely helpful staff . Many thanks for a perfect stay. Janet and Ken

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here for one night. My initial impression was that it was a quaint pub/hotel with lots of character. I booked in and was given a room facing the front of the hotel onto a main road. I did have concerns about traffic noise, but I can honestly say it wasn't a problem.
The room was well furnished if a bit quirky, the toilet was adequate, but had carpeting.. not my favourite.
I ate in the pub and the food was really good quality. The have a reasonable menu to choose from with some usual favourites like burgers, but also some of their own creations.
The bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in, but the linen and towels supplied were very clean.
The room had a desk with some quirky decorative items ,e.g. oversized vase, wooden duck and another ornament. This was a little impractical as it meant there was no actual desk surface to work on.
The staff were friendly, but even though it was a week night and the place was quite empty I had to wait for service. They may put more staff on at weekends?
This is a 5-10 minute walk from Durham train station and 5-10minutes back in the same direction to the town centre.
If you are looking for something a bit different from the usual premier inn and Travelodge then this is for you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Having only lived in Durham for a few months, we have been looking for a decent pub with a comfortable atmosphere, friendly service, and original food. This fit the bill. The food was nothing to complain about and the ambience/crowd was much more pleasant than the rowdiness and tourist appeal one finds in the city centre's pubs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAnDL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,213 reviews
1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingslodge Hotel
Kingslodge Hotel
#7 of 41 in Durham
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Inn

Address: North Road, Durham DH1 4NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £75 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Garden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing