We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now your Talking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zen

Zen
Ranked #15 of 304 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Durham City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Now your Talking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food is to Die for...( Amazing ) The staff are so precise... and Thorough......And such a lovely atmosphere

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    306
    134
    49
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great restaurant in the city of durham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

from entering,you are greeted by lovely smiling faces,and taken to your table.the menu is ample and varied.The service is helpful and informative.reasonable priced drinks and a relaxed atmosphere are the norm and after a short wait your meal is delivered.Display of the food is artisctic,but the food is delicious,and plentiful.The Zen is a great experience,and really worth a visit.A lot of the customers are regulars.A truly lovely restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beechcomber2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
de1
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent quality restaurant in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We have been here three times and enjoyed every occassion, I would advise booking early as it is often fully booked. The location is very handy for the city although parking is limited at the restaurant unless you pay at the nearby parking meters.

The food it always excellent, I recommend the sharing starter. If you like to leave a restaurant completely stuffed you might be a little disappointed but for quality it's very good.

Enjoy...

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank de1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good setting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We don't get out much and so our Tuesday night trip to Zen was a trip we looked forward to.
Best way to describe our experience was that Zen and our eating experience was that Zen is all 'marketing at the expense of substance. ' The restaurant has a good feel, the food was ok but expensive for what it was. It Would be a good place to visit as a large group, but I was a little disappointed. Leaflets described it as Durham's premier restaurant, I don't think that I'd agree (I've eaten at most of Durham's restaurants) when paying premium prices I think you should be eating something you could not replicate at home. Staff were pleasant our night was not wasted, but could have been better.

Helpful?
Thank DanandAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gone downhill?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have visited Zen on many occasions and there has been a noticeable decline in the quality and service recently.

On our most recent visit we dined as a party of four. Three of the four of us opted for starters which all arrived on time but seemed slightly average. The main were of the same average standard. I ordered a duck main which was almost inedible it was that dry.

It's a shame as Zen used to be a fantastic place to eat with excellent service and beautiful food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rubys7688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zen also viewed

 

Been to Zen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing