We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of Hall Hill Farm

Hall Hill Farm
Ranked #3 of 57 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award winning Farm Attraction, Farm Attraction of the Year 2017 and 2010. Best in Education 2014, Winner of Silver and Bronze Awards at NE Tourism Awards 2013. NE Small Visitor Attraction of the Year 2011. See the animals, cuddle the rabbits and guinea pigs, donkey rides, tractor and trailer rides. Lambing Time in March April. Indoor Soft Play Barn, tearoom and giftshop. Crazy golf (deposit required). Sheep Racing and puppet shows at weekends and during school holidays.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I was here with a reception class for the whole day. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and learnt lots about the animals they have.

There was plenty of hands on experiences with the chicks, rabbits, guinea pigs, lambs, goats and lamas which the children loved.

We had a lovely barn to keep our things in and the staff were remarkable, definite return in the future!

Helpful?
Thank Georgia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Georgia, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We all love having school visits at Hall Hill Farm and we have an excellent team of guides. We were very proud to win Best in Education from the National Farm Attraction Network in February this year, and we are one of the few farms in the region to hold the LOtC badge. It is good to know we are maintaining our standards. Thank you. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    106
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great for families or single travellers.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I took my daughter and grand daughter at the weekend. Not only is the entry fee reasonable the staff, facilities and equipment were great. The café was really good as well with plenty of fresh food and home made cake. We all really enjoyed outselves.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockchick1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the home made food in our tearoom, we have been increasing our selection of home made produce this year, and our team will be delighted with your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond upon Thames
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous family day out the old fashioned way”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We often go to a child focused farm when we are staying near Newcastle. Now that family have moved, the previous farm is too far away, so we thought we'd try this one. I am SO glad we did. It is just lovely - small, intimate and perfectly set up for small children.

We watched a shearing demo, the children were able to feed the lambs, we saw poultry, alpacas, llamas, ponies, highland cattle, sheep, goats and ducks.

The children were able to feed many of the animals, none of whom bit (lucky!) and all of whom were very happy to take food from little, sometimes nervous, hands. Hand washing facilities were plentiful and clean.

There was a playbarn suitable for smaller children (possibly 5 and under) while mine LOVED the newly constructed farm themed mini-golf, which was FREE (small deposit held to borrow the golf clubs). We laughed and giggled our way around the course, which was fun to play and quite challenging. The random bits of bark on the playing surface did make it rather more challenging though, I have to say!

The highlight of the day was the barrel rides. Wow. What excellent value for £1. I'm not sure who was having the most fun, the chap who was driving the quad bike, towing a line of what looked like hand made half barrels on wheels, or the children bouncing around like little balls inside them, screaming with laughter! The ride went on for much longer than we'd thought (compared with once round a small paddock for the £1 donkey rides, which, though lovely, were super short). All the parents waiting for the children started to chat and were unanimous that the ride was fantastic, good value, great fun and that the kids would demand to do it all again! Ours did....

The tractor ride looked fun too, and was free of charge.

The cafe was clean, well run and had a reasonable menu. The children's boxes were well filled and relatively healthy. We ordered a mixture of toasted sandwiches, baked potatoes, kids boxes, tea, coffee and cake. Everything was delicious. The coffee, though it had come out of a machine as opposed to a barista style coffee, was deemed ok. The home made cakes were lovely and the service was friendly and efficient.

We were all impressed with this little farm. I grew up in the country and this felt like the most authentic and genuine farm I've been to in the UK. Gorgeous views too!

We saw a reasonably large number of people with disabilities, and the farm seemed to be very accessible and disabled friendly.

The staff were all very genuine, friendly and knowledgeable Northerners!

The only thing I can think to criticise was that the little paper bags that held the animal feed were very thin and broke quickly. But this wasn't a problem and I only mention it in the interests of balance!

We were a group of four adults and two children aged 6 and 10.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Minkykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely and most comprehensive review. We are delighted to hear how impressed you were with Hall Hill Farm. As a family, we have farmed Hall Hill since 1925, and we have a great team who love their work and welcoming visitors to the farm.

The Sheep shearing is a special event held over the bank holiday weekend and is always interesting to watch, it looks so easy when done by an expert, but I can assure you is very skilled.

We constantly look to improve our menu in the tearoom and we are delighted you loved the home made cakes, and found all your food delicious.

We opened the crazy golf this Easter so its great to hear how much everyone enjoyed the game. The barrel ride, donkey rides and tractor and trailer rides are all great favourites, and the playbarn is actually suitable for under 11 years, with a smaller toddler area and toy tractor area for under 8's.

Sorry you found the paper bags a little thin, we will see if we can find some stronger ones - they do have to be paper in case the animals eat them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Love hall hill farm been coming here for a few years now.
My son loves feeding the animals and the tractor ride.
Play area is great and fab for a rainy day.

Couldn't spend a full day here but for a few hours in the summers its great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne86346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Its always great to hear that people like to keep coming back time after time, hope you like the new Crazy golf. Thank you for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a great visit”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic staff each and every one of them. ..loads of stuff to do come rain or shine. Our son loved the donkey rides and barrel ride.

Helpful?
Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
We really do have an excellent team and I have passed on your comments to them, and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hall Hill Farm also viewed

 

Been to Hall Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing