We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Visit”
Review of Hall Hill Farm

Hall Hill Farm
Ranked #3 of 57 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award winning Farm Attraction, Farm Attraction of the Year 2017 and 2010. Best in Education 2014, Winner of Silver and Bronze Awards at NE Tourism Awards 2013. NE Small Visitor Attraction of the Year 2011. See the animals, cuddle the rabbits and guinea pigs, donkey rides, tractor and trailer rides. Lambing Time in March April. Indoor Soft Play Barn, tearoom and giftshop. Crazy golf (deposit required). Sheep Racing and puppet shows at weekends and during school holidays.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well Worth A Visit”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Went to the farm with my niece today. Had a full day at the farm, the staff were really friendly as so many have mentioned in previous reviews. The animals are well cared for and all the animals were clean and healthy, and the staff looking after the animals are so passionate about them. All I can say is 'You will enjoy every minute'.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for writing such a great review, we have a really friendly team of staff and they take a great pride in looking after all of our animals. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    106
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Value for Money”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I visited the farm with our 2 girls both under 3 today and we had an absolute ball! Excellent facilities, lovely staff with so much knowledge and time for our children and well cared for animals. We saw the lambs being fed, the piglets being fed and Blossom the cow being milked. All in all an excellent day out for all ages. Whoever does the staff training - a big well done! We have visited other farms in the Durham area and you are by far the most professional and friendly!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadforthplough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you so much for your comments, I am delighted to hear you and your friend had such a great day at Hall Hill Farm. We do have a great team of staff, and it is great to hear our training is making a difference. We do hope you and your friend will be able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day of the holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We visited Hall Hill Farm with our 2 grandchildren (5 and 3). We were greeted by a very friendly member of staff, who took the trouble to explain where everything was, and times of events. She also emphasised the need to wash hands after handling animals; bonus points for health and safety!
We were all very impressed with the interaction with all the animals; handling chicks, guinea pigs and rabbits (be careful, our grandson had a hole chewed in his t-shirt, even though there were signs warning of the possibility). They loved feeding the lambs with a bottle (so did I lol), and hand feeding the lambs and goats. The bags of feed were only 50p each, which is fantastic compared to other places we've visited.
Virtually everything is included in the entry price, which was very affordable. We did pay for the children to have donkey rides, but again at £1 this was incredibly cheap. We didn't try the cafe, so can't comment on price or quality of food, but it looked very clean. Areas are also provided for eating packed lunches.
On the way out, the kids threw coins into a pond with a fountain. A member of staff told us that any money thrown in is collected and given to Children In Need, and that they've collected over £150 already this year!
This was a brilliant day out. If we lived closer, it would be a regular place to visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne N Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Lynne and Steve,
Many thanks, we're delighted to hear it was the best day of your holiday with your grandchildren, and we really appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review, I will pass on your comments to our team, they really are a great bunch. I had better point out that we actually give the money in the pond to the Children's Society, not Children in Need, but I am sure you will agree it is also a very worthwhile charity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I took our daughter for the day for her birthday and she had a fab time cuddling and feeding all of the animals and playing on the park and soft play. Will be back to visit with daddy soon

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieWhitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Katie,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that your daughter had a great time and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went with our 4 1/23 yr old. She loved everything! It was amazing value for money, the staff were lovely. The whole place was clean and fantastically well cared for. We loved the sheep racing! There was so much to see and do. I totally recommend this place for anyone with kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte-Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallhillfarm, Ann Darlington, Tourism Manager at Hall Hill Farm, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Charlotte,

Thank you for your wonderful recommendations, We do have a great team of staff, and we set ourselves high standards. The sheep racing is great fun to watch, and I am so pleased you appreciate the time and effort which goes into making sure the farm is clean and so well cared for.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hall Hill Farm also viewed

 

Been to Hall Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing