We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuart B”
Review of The Gables Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Always very welcoming. A very friendly and pleasant experience. Excellent breakfast.
Good value for money. My place of choice whenever I stay in Duham. Large covered smoking area at the back of the hotel, with plenty of parking space parking spaces. John. the owner acts as the master of entertainment, with the karaoke being very popular with both locals and guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STUARTB255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for The Gables Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Booked in for one night only (thank goodness) en route to Great north run. Room & furniture very old fashioned. Bathroom - when you flush the toilet, the noise from the macerator is horrendous and you can hear the same from other rooms as well. Couldn't have a shower because the temperature was either scalding hot or freezing cold, despite the setting being at warm. We were told every room was taken by somebody going to the Great north run. In view of this, you would have expected that the 7.30am breakfast could have been brought forward to allow people to eat before having to leave at 7.15, however this was said not to be an option. Customer service ???? Don't stay at this hotel !

Room Tip: Don't stay here !
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Room 2... What can we say, wardrobe shakes and shudders when you walk anywhere in the small room. Flush the toilet to your peril, it sounds like a locomotive is ploughing through the room. Dining room for both dinner and breakfast needs all table linen washed/soaked, very badly stained. The owners John and Dorcas have been there 43 years and it shows, both lovely people but it's time they retired from the accommodation side of things.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nolypoly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We echo most of what was said by the previous reviewer. In fact we must have stayed in the same room (2). There was still some water hammer (noise) from the plumbing and the noise of the macerator in ours and an adjoining room. Heating not too bad, although the outside temperature was reasonable anyway. Mine Host was very welcoming as were the locals in the bar in the evening. Food was average but filling. Decor was a throw back to the 80's throughout the place. All in all not the best place we have stayed but also not the worst!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BEESLEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

It was not a pleasant experience staying in this hotel. The room was simply unbearably cold. It was physically uncomfortable even when the central heating came on – twice a day for a couple of hours first thing in the morning and from 4:30 till 10:30pm. We complained that the room was too cold only to be given silly excuses such as the rising cost of fuel. The weather was very chilly and it is unacceptable that a 2-star hotel did not provide adequate heating let alone fail to respond to the complaints of discomfort from a guest.
The plumbing was also a problem. Each time the WC was flushed or a tap used there was an odd foghorn sound which went on intermittently for a while.
There was no hand basin in the bathroom. This was in a far corner of the bedroom.
The décor was poor. The floor in the bathroom was coming apart and wallpaper in the bedroom peeling away to reveal newspaper stuffed into a gap.
Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ironfryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
524 reviews
6.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.9 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
7.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 59 Front Street, Durham DH6 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £63 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing