We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lumley Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,259)
Filter reviews
2,259 results
Traveller rating
1,189
586
299
130
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
586
299
130
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe black knight restaurantlibrary barcourtyard roomelizabethan banquetafternoon teamurder mysteryfour poster bedcream teachester le streetcricket groundsconeseggs benedictevening mealspecial occasionwedding venuegreat nightwaiting staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,066 - 2,071 of 2,259 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We spent a fantastic weekend at Lumley Castle while attending a family wedding. Rooms full of character, food out of this world and service superb. We will live for our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Over the years I have dined at the Castle many times and enjoyed the ambience of this fantastic establishment.

I have stayed there only three times, once in the main building and the other two in the adjacent cottages...............all very well appointed.

The main building accommodation was an unforgetable memory with the splendour of a level of baronial living that you would have expected should you have lived there centuries ago !!

The service and food are always first class and I would recomment this venue to visitors to the North East as onre of the ultimate Hotel experiences.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are by far the best - if available
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RON-THOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We went here a few days ago for my dad's wedding. The castle grounds and hotel are lovely, but what really made the stay special was the staff. Without exception everyone was friendly, helpful and efficient. The food was fantastic, my husband is still raving about his. Can't comment on value for money as we don't know what our room cost, my dad booked and paid for it. Mu daughter loved exploring the castle, though I wouldn't say there is much for children to do. However, there is a babysitting service and the lady who came was wonderful with my 3 children, who have never been left with a babysitter before, and very reasonably priced. We would definitely go again for a romantic treat without the children

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kthistleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here in December 2010 for 1 night for a wedding we attended.

The castle itself and grounds are lovely and was especially picturesque with the snow back in December.

Lumley Castle is a fantastic venue for a wedding, we had a great day.

The room was cosy, clean and comfortable and was not badly priced at £100 for a Courtyard Superior Double Room which included breakfast. Unfortunately we never made it down to breakfast so we can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo198150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I loved Lumley Castle. The history is amazing and the owners have taken great care to modernize and make the accommodations comfortable while maintaining the historical atmosphere and authenticity of the castle. Yes, it's very dark and the floors and doors creak, there are not quite enough electrical outlets for hairdryers and such, but the rooms are beautiful, and it's so much fun to wander around the hallways and explore the castle and grounds.

We had a 4-poster room with big, claw footed, red bathtub, huge fireplace, two wingback chairs, a desk, coffee and tea making area. There was plenty of hot water and the wi-fi worked great. We had lunch in the library, dinner at the Black Knight restaurant, and breakfast the next morning. All were excellent. The grounds were beautiful we especially enjoyed sitting in the central courtyard enjoying the sun. Staying at Lumley Castle is an unforgetable experience!

Room Tip: The Thursday night special for castle rooms with breakfast & dinner is a super value.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews