We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2012

staff attitude very poor. Got stuck in lift pressed alarm noone came. Dinner not great but staff had couldn't care less attitude. Got stuck in the car park owing to someone else's bad parking and lack of marked spaces. Staff didn't want to know. Nice looking place let down by staff attitude

Room Tip: try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigJimMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,196 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed in the room with the Narnia wardrobe & it was absolutely fabulous. Lovely bed & bath and very well decorated and kept. Staff were excellent and the service at all times was first class. Evening meal wasn't up to expectation, neither was the breakfast. However, our comments were well rec'd by the staff team. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09876543T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed over on 22/01 on an internet deal which appeared really good value on the whole. The place was wonderful and quaint, with so much character and artefacts to peruse. Reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The room within the courtyard was clean and authentically decorated. Complimentary wine and chocolates were a bonus and were good quality. The food and service in the Black Knight restaurant up to the point of settling the bill was excellent, then sadly the whole experience of the stay was somewhat soured by some blatent "additional" items appearing on the bill. Four Amerettos and some soft drinks were added to the tune of a futher £25. Not a massive amount, more the principle and how it was poorly dealt with. This was blamed upon "computer error" by the staff who seemed less than apologetic, and left us stewing at the table for nearly half an hour. We had no drink and had to wait awkwardly for the bill to be ammended. Not even a complimentary coffee. The full english the following morning was superb. Despite the poor response from the restaurant staff we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedRover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just stayed two nights, one unplanned as I was poorly. They couldn't have been more accommodating to help me, including bringing breakfast to my room and not charging me as I was too poorly to go down. The staff are so friendly and helpful it really makes the stay.
Plus my room was very comfortable!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklykendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed overnight in an upstairs courtyard room, which was very quaint and full of olde world charm. You may say the rooms are fairly small but they are well kept, comfortable and have everything you need for an overnight stay. We ate a fabulous two course meal in the Black Knight restaurant with a bottle of Moet and pint of beer for under £100, which I felt was really good. The service was attentive in tasteful, almost luxurious surroundings. We had king prawns and duck starters, lobster & mussel broth (devine!) and confit belly port (delicious). Too full for desserts! The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in and we decided to have a continental breakfast in our room, which was very good. Service all round excellent and we will return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My dad bought a stay at Lumley Castle as one of the wedding presents for myself and my husband. The castle is stunning. Our room wasn't in the castle itself, we stayed across the courtyard but it was luxurious and comfortable. Staff were very attentive and the service was fantastic. We ate in the Black Knight restaurant for dinner and for breakfast the following morning and the food was delicious. For a special occasion or even just when you fancy pushing the boat out, this was a fab place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarabell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This hotel is a fantastic place to stay. The castle rooms are all nicely laid out with great unique features. They are spacious and well decorated. The restaurant is good too with excellent food and excellent service. We had an evening meal there and it was delicious.

Room Tip: Castle rooms are best, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthnRobinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
67 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £62 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing