We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We've stayed twice at Lumley Castle. The first in a castle feature room and the second in a courtyard room. We really enjoyed both our stays and will certainly be going again. The staff are incredibly friendly and the food is great, with a lovely choice on both continental and cooked breakfast options.

If there is a downside it would be our upstairs courtyard room on our second visit. Due to being in the eves of the building, the sloping wall/ceiling was too low for my Husband who is 6'3". Also as the shower was over the bath in this room and in the eves, he couldn't actually shower properly as he couldn't stand up. I'm only 5'5" and could only just stand up to use the shower. However, that was really our only problem and next time if we have a courtyard room we will ask not to have an upstairs room.

Seeing some of the previous comments about the staff, I'm surprised at some of the negative views. We can't fault the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful.

Overall, we think Lumley Castle is a great place to stay and will certainly be doing so again in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GF1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,921 - 1,927 of 2,171 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here on a work trip. The castle and grounds themselves are amazing. Lovely courtyard with fairy lights, hallways and corridors full of antiquities and weird and wonderful objects. The place defiantly has a fairytale Gothic atmosphere. Every room is different and also fitting with the theme of the castle and the staff were friendly, efficient and attentive. The bar had a lovely open fire and big arm chairs - would have been easy to stay there all night. The breakfast in the morning was lovely too. There was a generous spread of pastries, cereals, cheese, ham, yoghurt, juice etc on the buffet, plus a cooked breakfast menu which had options such as scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and fry-ups (or you could request which items you wanted).

The only downside was it did feel in places like it could do with a little modernisation. Although clearly in a 'theme' some of the decor felt a bit tired and dated. There was pipe work on show and the central heating was really difficult to control, plus I couldn't open the window of the room I was in.

I normally wouldn't have stayed somewhere like this unless I was going for a special reason purely because of the grandiose and atmosphere of the place, it was out of random chance that we ended up here on a work trip and it was a pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: If you have any special requirements tell them. Especially regarding access - there are narrow cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsaimii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

After paying a high £220 and being tucked away in a tower up lethal stone spiral stairs, for the Burns Night Celebrations only to find that a Groupon deal couple got a much better room and deal than we did for £99, didn't help. Then breakfast was cold and had a catalogue of complaints. When sending a letter to Mrs. Christine Gott the hotel manager only to have it completely ignored and not even acknowledged, it has made my mind up that Lumley Castle looks good but needs some attention to detail other than in the rooms. As a frequent visitor after my latest visit I have decided it will be my last. Wynyard Hall, Beamish Hall, and Close House here I come.

Room Tip: The superior courtyard rooms are the best. In the Castle avoid the rooms in the 60s as they are up l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

staff attitude very poor. Got stuck in lift pressed alarm noone came. Dinner not great but staff had couldn't care less attitude. Got stuck in the car park owing to someone else's bad parking and lack of marked spaces. Staff didn't want to know. Nice looking place let down by staff attitude

Room Tip: try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigJimMearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed in the room with the Narnia wardrobe & it was absolutely fabulous. Lovely bed & bath and very well decorated and kept. Staff were excellent and the service at all times was first class. Evening meal wasn't up to expectation, neither was the breakfast. However, our comments were well rec'd by the staff team. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09876543T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed over on 22/01 on an internet deal which appeared really good value on the whole. The place was wonderful and quaint, with so much character and artefacts to peruse. Reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The room within the courtyard was clean and authentically decorated. Complimentary wine and chocolates were a bonus and were good quality. The food and service in the Black Knight restaurant up to the point of settling the bill was excellent, then sadly the whole experience of the stay was somewhat soured by some blatent "additional" items appearing on the bill. Four Amerettos and some soft drinks were added to the tune of a futher £25. Not a massive amount, more the principle and how it was poorly dealt with. This was blamed upon "computer error" by the staff who seemed less than apologetic, and left us stewing at the table for nearly half an hour. We had no drink and had to wait awkwardly for the bill to be ammended. Not even a complimentary coffee. The full english the following morning was superb. Despite the poor response from the restaurant staff we would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedRover9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just stayed two nights, one unplanned as I was poorly. They couldn't have been more accommodating to help me, including bringing breakfast to my room and not charging me as I was too poorly to go down. The staff are so friendly and helpful it really makes the stay.
Plus my room was very comfortable!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparklykendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £63 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing