We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

we arrived to our room at 3pm which was check in time and room was not ready so we waited and had walk round castle which is lovely when we finally got in room there were dark hairs in bathroom and in bath the cleaner came back and hoovered them up we had no apology from any of staff the room was small and the shower door was broke so the bathroom floor got flooded when we had showers the shower head is very low and you had duck down to wash your hair not what we expected from the price we paid to stay here on the plus side the breakfast was lovely. We decided not eat the evening meal here after we saw the prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,123)
There are newer reviews for Lumley Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,836 - 1,842 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was full of character, the staff were so attentive & friendly without being imposing. The restaurant was excellent, especially the breakfasts and the service very efficient - the only thing that was a bit annoying was on one of the nights the restaurant was fully booked and they only do sandwiches in the bar. Instead they have a lounge area where you can watch tele and phone for hotmeals and drinks. This was fine but the menu only has 4 things on it - food was excellent though. The rooms were great and the bed was so comfy - only minor thing was the room was a little dark for putting on your make-up! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoMaca170726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Yet again another disapointing yet expensive visit to this castle. The main points were a long wait for food, over pricing, poor food, poor customer service and being charged for items we did not order.

I think, this place looks great from the outside, however inside if you take more than a cursory look the fixtures and fittings are tired and worn there are drillings and wall plugs everywhere, frayed curtains old carpets, and screws that seem to have no purpose sticking out of walls. The lack of attention to detail is staggering would you put up brass/bronze type lights and use shiney silver screws in your own home? I think if you have never been or rarely go to a castle hotel then the place is amazing and "wow" but actualy if you have been to others in the country you realise how shabby this one is. So I guess it's a matter of expectation and experience.

Don't worry about being late for dinner we booked for 630pm as I have a medical condition making me unable to eat late at night. We arrived early. However we were not seated for dinner until 45 mins (715pm) after our booked time. We didn't get food until about 20 mins after that! So nearly 8pm! There is no excuse we were the first people in the restaurant. The seat I was sat in was dirty with candwax all over the seat . I was concerned so sat on my napkin!

The food (when it came) was in my opinion massivley overpriced. The portions were huge, this was not fine dining but down market chain pub dining, pile it high cheap food at an expensive price..oh dear!

When we left the restaurant we paid nearly £200 inc tip. However after paying we noticed an error on the bill. I returned and a queue formed to pay as I explained we had only drank one bottle of wine. The staff asked the waiters and other staff if I had indeed only had one bottle and a mini enquiry into what I had and had not drunk ensued. With a queue behind me I almost felt as if I was trying to get away without paying. Surely with such a large bill and big tip I was not arguing over a relatively cheap bottle of wine surely then my word should have been taken. I had also heard of restuarants in America doing this to customers on purpose which is why I always thoroughly check my bill. I'm sure with Lumley Castle this was just a mistake though. However, one of the staff a young lad in the restaurant was extremely helpfull and couldn't do enough for us.

A tip for the ladies, the floors are old and uneven be careful if wearing high heels or cling tightly onto someone.

In summary, a long wait for food, poor food, bad quality fittings dirty seats and poor service and definately overpriced! But if you have never been to a castle you may just see past this faded low quality place and think it's great and give it a wow as so many people seem to do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

From start to finish, this place was amazing, stayed with my husband and to be honest after reading reviews on here we were a little worried, but we could not have been more wrong. This castle is amazing its like stepping back in time. Service was excellent from the word go, I can hand on heart say that you should not trust the bad reviews on this site, fantastic. Our courtyard room was very cosy, clean and romantic and our breakfast on the morning was delicious, and all the staff at breakfast were fantastic with us, all extremely good at there jobs, but we also had a laugh with them too. Will be recommending this hotel to everyone I know.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Janemaryxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I travel all over the world and in terms of atmosphere and quality, Lumley Castle is one of the best! I just love the atmosphere of the place. The rooms are of exceptional quality and beautifully presented. The staff are a nice blend of efficiency without too much formality. Their period dress is delightful. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilHoward_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My son and daughter got a groupon deal at Lumley castle for an overnight bed and breakfast as a mothers day pressie. We went for afternoon tea in the Library bar and it was gorgeous. The staff were friendly and attentive. We had a courtyard room, which was delightfully quirky. The room was clean, had everything we needed and the beds were really comfortable. Had evening meal in the Black Knight restaurant, again the staff were lovely. We were given a fabulous table and the food was delicious (thank you chefs x). Breakfast was great too. Overall a really great experience. The only disappointment was that we did not see the resident ghost. Will I go to Lumley Castle again.....I most certainly will and would recommend it wholeheartedly. A total joy from start to finish.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have their own quirky style. We were in a ground floor courtyard room near th...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We have just returned from a night's stay and honestly could not fault it and I am fussy! Our room in the courtyard was wonderful spacious with some lovely touches in keeping with the surroundings. We didn't eat dinner in as we were visiting relatives but we had breakfast which was excellent. The setting and grounds are superb. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £67 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing