We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is incredible value for money. Bed and breakfast in a genuine castle for £75. Room was small but for one person it was very adequate. The restaurant was delightful and the staff remarkably helpful. To the extent they gave me a whole lobster with real mayonaise and salad for £16 and not on the menu! (I don't eat meat). I stayed for 5 nights which included a weekend and with three weddings on the Saturday no one was perturbed and the ladies dresses were superb. Definitiely worth a diversion.

Room Tip: Take the under blanket off the bed otherwise you will boil in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_Reynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    503
    268
    116
    49
See reviews for
319
1,107
23
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night, the hotel/castle was beautiful. the room was a little small, had to shimmy round the bathroom door to use the sink. The walk to our bed chamber was very long, but exploring the old castle more than made up for it. We ate in the Black Night Restaurant, the food was fab, breakfast the next morning was bountiful. would def stay again, The prices in the Library Bar need looking at, a bit pricey!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshhall4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel could not possibly have more character. Despite the building being very old ( 14th Century) it functions beautifully as a well-run and quirky hotel. The rooms are large and full of antique furniture ( beautiful lamps throughout the hotel) and sumptuous beds with nicely done bathrooms. The Library Bar is suitably atmospheric and the staff are friendly and efficient. The one slight gripe is that fact that it isnt possible to get hot food after 5pm ( the restuarant was fully booked) without going back to the room abd opaying the £5 room service charge. Breakfast in the Black Knight restaurant was cooked to order and excellent- although the hotel advises that 9-10am on weekends is very busy so avoid that time ( there were 4 weddings taking place on the day that I stayed but I didn't even notice as they were unobtrusive and the building is huge). Great value for money and would definitely stay again although it would be nice if the management would look into the issue of good availability - it seems a bit odd to not be able to order the room service food to be delivered to the bar!

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

lovely experience. nice and romantic, customer service needs working on in some area,s.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We picked up this Groupon deal with great excitement as we had been to Lumley before [admitted it was about ten years ago]. So we were hoping things had not changed. We were not disappointed Lumley is still very classy very very unique and as the ad says "no ordinary hotel" A little tip if your budget allows [because it is very pricey] I recommend that you pay for a room upgrade average about £75 extra a night but for a special occasion very well worth the extra. The upgrade is to a feature room in the castle itself with four poster beds,rich fabric hangings.Some even have a secret bathroom. You walk through the centre door of the wardrobe [a la The lion, the witch and the wardrobe] all in all they are really special rooms.
We ate in the Black Knight restaurant where there is a good choice of menu to suit all tastes and a very comprehensive wine list.You eat in very luxurious surroundings with gentle classical music playing in the background. We actually ate in what had been the actual chapel in the castle,which was set out with about a dozen or so table if not less.
After a lovely relaxing night in the massive four poster we breakfasted on buttery scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. toast and honey and lots of cups of tea. Heaven. The reason I say I wish we had stayed longer, apart from the obvious, is that the Groupon deal had a choice of one or two nights stay and for some reason we decided to only stay for one. shall not make that mistake again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

I got a deal over the christmas period to stay here. Two nights for the price of one. So I deceided to book it for me and my partner to have a romantic break. The castle is easy to find, and parking was ample. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed walking around the castle. Our room was nice and cozy, a little small maybe but well setup and the bathroom was great. It was all clean and tidy and the reception and help from staff was really nice. We enjoyed our stay and i'd recommend staying here. The only slight downside is simply that it is a bit expensive to eat and drink there so we dined out both nights and the rooms are a tad dark or at least ours was. Romantic yes but if you drop an earring its hard to find it in the dark.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Attended a wedding recently at Lumley Castle, what a wonderful venue!. The wedding & reception took place in the Northumbria Room. Food and service were excellent & the staff very pleasant.

Special mention to the young chap who was behind the bar in the Northumbria Room, he looked after everyone really well, very polite & always a smile on his face even though he was up & down the stairs all night like a yoyo due to the fact that pints had to be brought up from the floor below as only bottles were available in the upstairs bar

Only negative was that on the floor below us some school was having a prom night & some of the kids(lads) attending were certainly up to no good, either the school or the hotel should of had more people on hand to keep a better eye on them, certainly in and around the toilets.

Will certainly stay there again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 917PaulB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing