We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Absolutely stunning building that feels like its in the middle of nowhere, but in reality is so easy to get to!
Tony the hotel manager and his staff are so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Very good customer service, and what fabulous rooms. Wi-fi access can be tricky, it IS a castle with walls that are 3 feet thick in places, so that's to be expected really. The hotel bars are very comfortable with roaring fires and attentive staff, so that didn't really matter. Prices for drinks were a little unexpected, double spirit and mixer and large glass of Pinot came to £12.45.
We were there for a conference, but saw a couple of weddings, and the dressed rooms were stunning!
The pictures in the brochure don't do this hotel justice, a very welcoming and opulent environment. Highly recommended, you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: If you can push to it, the feature rooms are fabulous. I had a corner room on the top floor and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaM6199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,675 - 1,681 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed on a Groupon voucher which included a bottle of wine in the room. Decided to pay a little extra to upgrade from a courtyard room to one in the castle. Definitely worth it for the added atmosphere, room was also a lot bigger. Dimly lit & very atmospheric, the décor has been well done and there are lots of interesting artefacts dotted about. The lounge and bar are cosy, especially if it is cold enough for the fires to be lit. Afternoon tea is served in the bar & lounge & is a must. If you staying & having dinner, share one tea between two, as we did - delightful & good value too compared to other places. Dinner in the Black Knight restaurant...menu interesting, but not too fussy, food was delicious, although my husbands starter of crayfish ravioli in a beef consommé was an unusual marriage of tastes. Sadly the service was not good, our waiter looked miserable, didn't engage with us at all & wasn't attentive. Infact he said he'd be back with the sweet menu, but we waited & waited.......he appeared occasionally, but never to look in our direction. Similarly at breakfast, the food was good but the waiting staff looked as though they didn't enjoy their job & didn't have a pleasant manner. We came across the General Manager a couple of times during our stay, she clearly has pride in her job & we would ask her to improve the customer experience the waiting staff provide to guests as this was the only downside to an otherwise lovely experience.

Room Tip: Room 44 is spacious, beautiful décor, huge shower, separate loo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed at this lovely castle 6th April 2013 .... We were told to tell reception we were part of wedding guests so we got a discount . This was booked a good 8 months in advanced , we were in the courtyard and the rooms were very nice , quiet , and had very nice views .Dont know if we got any discount at £165.00 a night for bed and breakfast ...seemed a bit steep , the breakfast was nice and severed in a nice location , when waitress takes your order tell them what you want and don't be shy , I asked for breakfast and it did come but when I was listening to others ordering they were asking for 2 eggs , 2 sausages ext ...so if you want a big breakfast ask for it and ont be shy .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulwylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed with my husband for a specail birthday and I was not disappointed. Castle is quirky and
impressive, staff very helpful and friendly. We dined in the evening in The Bllack Knight
restuarant, meal was very enjoyable and the setting lovely. For breakfast the next
morning we chose a full English, piping hot when it was served. There is a choice
of scrambled eggs, poached, Craster kippers, selection of cold meats, cheese, pastries,
cereal etc. In a lovely setting, plenty of parking spaces. Durham is nearby for visiting the
Cathederal and shops. I can highly recommend staying at this lovely Castle.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue_hetherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and were upgraded to a feature room with a lovely big four poster bed. The rooms are comfortable but really quite dark- it was a bit difficult putting makeup on! The restaurant served excellent food at dinner and the breakfast was first class with extensive choices. The staff were all really friendly, apart from one rather dour waiter, and made our stay very pleasant. We would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Karenh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel over the Xmas period and attended the Elizabethan banquet. This is certainly something that any company should take their staff to, it was a hoot, eating broth with a knife is not easy and wearing a bib a bit disconcerting at first but really funny.
As for the hotel accommodation we have stayed in both the Castle itself, in a room with a hidden bathroom, and in the courtyard on two different occasions. The courtyard have nice comfortable, warm cosy modern rooms, the castle four posters

Room Tip: Durham cricket club and Chester-le Street golf club within walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandCris12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My husband and myself attended our god daughters wedding here. The setting is absolutely superb the castle is very impressive both inside and out, but also quirky. We stayed the night in one of the courtyard rooms whilst not the biggest hotel room we have ever stayed in, it nevertheless was equipped with everything we needed and with one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.
The reception staff were very welcoming and efficient as were all the staff we came into contact with over the course of our stay.
The wedding reception was excellent the rooms were beautifully dressed the main meal was in the Garter room which was a good size for the total of guests, there were so many staff serving us that all of us, approx 80, were served within a couple of minutes of each other. The food itself was perfect,good portion size and served piping hot as was the excellent breakfast we had the following morning in the Black Knight restaurant. We certainly couldn't fault Lumley Castle everything ran like clockwork but still made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice_andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#11 of 18 in Durham
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £64 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing