We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tea for two” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumley Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
whitley bay
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Tea for two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

What a fantastic tradition ,what a beautiful setting ,delicate little sandwiches lovely little sweet treats a super thing to do .Pleasant staff,only drawback one very loud man on his mobile ,swearing just not good.Nathan on reception was very helpfull getting me lots of information about stuff for kids .thank you .love this place

this place

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    495
    267
    115
    48
See reviews for
312
1,096
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at a number of castles and I just love Lumley Castle. The food is alway superb and my steak cooked the way I like it. The staff are so friendly and helpful nothing is too much for them. The rooms in the court yard and in the castle are all different and clean. It's not cheap but I think you definitely get your monies worth. Ideal for a special occasion so as to appreciate the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed overnight as a wedding guest. Lovely venue, great staff and wedding buffet was gorgeous. Room in castle was nice, quirky bath in corner of room. Breakfast next morning was ok, glad it was included in the stay, wouldnt have been worth the extra £15. Overall great stay!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms more modern, castle rooms quirky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed over night 04-May visiting family in Chester-le-Street. Reception could find no trace of our booking with Booking.com but apologised and, nevertheless, found us a courtyard room, which was very comfortable. We understood there were x3 weddings that evening, and were warned that breakfast could be busy 9.00-10.00. We arrived for breakfast at 8.45, and there were no real problems. We paid £185 incl breakfast, which seems a little high, probably because there is little quality competition in the area, but our stays are always reasonable; parking is very good and rooms quirky but comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main (Castle) building are generally more spacious; but courtyard rooms have great park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomrAtTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Have visited Lumley Castle on a number of occasions, and this stay again didnt disappoint.
Booked a Friday night break over the phone for myself and my husband, the receptionist was extremely helpful and booked our dinner reservations as well.
On arrival we were upgraded to a castle room,by the same receptionist who took my booking, she was an extremely pleasant member of staff with excellent customer service skills.
We were shown to the room, which was wonderful, (Room 51), four poster bed and lovely view across to Durham Cricket club. However be careful when going into the bathroom, if you are tall like my husband, you may get a nasty bump on the head.
We had drinks in the Library bar, which is always very relaxing, and then dinner in the Black Knight Restaurant, where we were given a lovely table, and the food was very nice.
Don't hesitate to book!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimberleyC30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We had our own private room, the Gilt Suite, for our celebration lunch. There were 16 of us and we had a fabulous meal. It was a traditional Sunday lunch with a choice of about 4 starters and mains followed by the sweet trolley. The food was amazing and everyone said what a good time they had. The service was second to none and the red roses and card was a lovely touch. I would have no hesitation in recommending this to others, indeed two couples have it in mind to celebrate their golden anniversaries there and another their silver.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

this is the second time we have stayed at lumley castle , we have done the banquet both times and each one has been great. i had booked a courtyard room but we were upgraded when we arrived to a castle room, this was spot on , we had a few drinks to get us in the mood for the nights entertainment which was excellent after the banquet we were lrd down to the dungeon bar were ther was a disco till about half one , when we went down for breakfast it was as good as i had remembered a full english tasty and filling. we will be booking again but i think we might try the murder mystery night next as i am sure this will also be a great night.

Room Tip: all the rooms we stayed in are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing