We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

if you want a spectacular wedding do not book the castle. overpriced and nothing out of the ordinary. Most front of house staff are good ,however, we did not get what we paid for and specifically requested.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    502
    267
    116
    49
See reviews for
319
1,102
23
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband had a fantastic time in the castle. The rooms were spacious and the castle was really well presented. We had dinner and breakfast and both were perfect.
Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

As we were housed in a courtyard bedroom,we felt cheated at first as we we were not in the castle. Talking with other guests especially some with a disability, we realised we were well off. Would suggest the hotel checks on guests mobility. The courtyard bedroom was well kitted out and reflected the ambience of the castle. We stayed for 4 nights bed breakfast and evening meal.
The breakfast restaurant was really fun and the food great. We had some reservations with dinner. The starters and desserts were delicious but the main courses were accompanied by the same vegetables every night. Staff were courteous and charming and made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darnoc2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warboys
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is a unique place to stay. The rooms are so clean and the food is great. It is value for money and the staff are great. If you want to stay somewhere a bit special then I can recommend this hotel. Some reviews have given negatives on small rooms, low ceilings, a little shy on lights. I am 6, 2 tall and had no problems in the cry yard rooms. This pace s all about ambiance. If you want modern with fridges, mini bars big windows, chrome and steel do not book this place. If you want unusual, historic and atmosphere then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigPhilWarboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

It's not very often that I feel I don't want to leave a hotel, but I will make he exception here. The ambiance, the history, the appointment and most importantly, the way one one treated by each and every member of staff was quite exemplary.

A business trip or romantic few days away in an out of the ordinary hotel, I'm not sure this place could be beaten.

Room Tip: If you can stay in the hotel you get the full ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel as a small treat to ourselves for our wedding anniversary. We booked a courtyard room and ended up in one of the upstairs rooms.
The room itself was small and very dimly lit as mentioned in other reviews. The bed was fine, comfortable but a very soft mattress, gave us a decent night's sleep though. The decor was beginning to look a little tired in places as was some of the furniture.
There was tea/coffee facilities in the room but I would have liked to have seen a mini bar or even a couple of bottles of water.
My only real problem was with the shower, which is a simple 'over the bath' affair. Because the room is basically built into the roof there is very limited head height over the bath which meant the shower head was only a little over five feet above the bath. I'm six foot tall so couldn't really get beneath the head and the sloping ceiling made it even more awkward.
There were only a few small recessed spotlights in the ceiling which made the room quite dim, not very good when trying to shave or for the women when applying make up. A light above the bathroom mirror would certainly help.

We ate in the black knight restaurant which we found to be quite pleasant. The food was very tasty and cooked well. Staff were attentive without being too 'in your face' and all seemed happy enough to be working there.

We had drinks in the library bar which is quite small but, again, the staff were absolutely fine. We would have liked to have sat outside with a drink and were told we could use the central courtyard but this was being used for a wedding reception at the time and we thought it would have been like intruding had we gone out there so we stayed indoors. I think this is one area where the hotel could improve. They could look at creating an outdoor area where people could sit with a drink and take in some of the local views, I'm sure it would be appreciated by guests.

Al in all we enjoyed our stay but I don't think it fully lived up to our expectations. I would certainly recommend it for the food but I couldn't recommend the upstairs courtyard rooms.

Room Tip: If you're over 5ft tall and intend to use a shower then don't book an upstairs courtyard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

First of all, I must stress that all the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and I like the fact that you are free to wander around the premises and have a nosey into the fuction rooms. Despite the rooms and the hotel looking old and dark (exactly what you'd expect from very old building), it was however clean. I have only three areas of critism - the mattress was of a poor quality, it consisted of two mattresses put together and was lumpy with a huge dip in the middle. My evening meal of salmon was lovely, but it should have been served with more vegetables, not just tomatoes and a mushroom! They should also have a veggie breakfast on offer. I may however return in the future, it was authentic and had a relaxed friendly atmosphere.

Room Tip: Check out the mattress first. They put us in a coachhouse room by mistake and not a castle room, mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing