We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“something different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“something different”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

we had a night here before the cricket in chester le street and found it charming. The room was very sweet, and the garden lit up at night was a real treat. The breakfast was above average- they can make good scrambled eggs- and good service. So much better experience than one of the modern "executive" hotels one often books.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VandADerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    522
    274
    116
    49
See reviews for
331
1,140
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
North Pole, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed here for one night mid-week and although I liked the hotel in general and the food I thought the room although quite nicely decorated it was really very small indeed, to the point it felt claustrophobic. It was a bit disappointing. There was no four poster bed or anything like that it was fairly basic. The bed was comfortable but the duvet was a winter one and it was far too hot for the summer. I kept kicking it off and couldn't sleep. There was a nasty smell in the shower too. It was a bit like urine to be honest. It looked clean enough to the eye but there must have been something nasty lurking under the shower mat or something. My husband said that did not notice it mind you. Otherwise the room was fine.
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic (staff looked a bit rushed though), the Eggs Benedict was a must. Really gorgeous. The evening meal was great too.
I would return as the food was great but I would make sure I got a better room next time. We were in the courtyard in room 24. It was Ok for one night. I would not want a courtyard room next time I think we were there on a deal so that's obviously why you get what you pay for..
Still it was a break and above average (but only just - not enough to warrant giving it a 'very good' rating).

Room Tip: It is probably worth paying a bit more for a bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the other No Ordinary Hotel at Coombe Abbey near Coventry I was anxious to try Lumley Castle and was not disappointed. A truly wonderful place to stay. I cannot fault any aspect of our stay. We had one meal in the restaurant which was very enjoyable if a little pricey. Overall a privilege to stay in a truly magic place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshirewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We booked 3 rooms 2 double and a family room all in the courtyards for me and family the 1st double courtyard room ws number 25 it has a 4 poster bed a separate toilet a separate bathroom its lovely the second double ws room 19 it had a double bed it wasn't as good as room 25 it had a room with a bath and toilet and a small wardrobe the family room has a 4 poster bed wardrobe lots of lights and drawers a bath shower and toilet its all old fashioned but lovely were only young and used to premier inns e.c t but this was lovely best hotel I've stayed at we went to the well and had a look around the grounds a few noises have startled us but I think tht is because we read the story of lily Lumley I will update it tomorrow if anything happens lol x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesst798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights recently staying in a Courtyard Room. The rooms are small but nicely done and the castle itself is beautiful. The bed in particular was very comfortable and all linen was a great standard.
One major down side though was the temperature. The room was roasting hot! We left the small window open night and day and still could not sleep (it was not very warm outside!) I'm aware that the size of windows etc is restricted in the main castle but in the Courtyard the buildings are relatively new and why they are so poorly ventilated I do not know!?
We would certainly stay again for a treat if in the area but only if the room was cooler!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sheilds
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Visited lumley castle today for afternoon tea and was not disappointed. The food was delicious and plentiful accompanied by a large pot of tea. Very good value for money. Only criticism would be the speed of service. 30 minutes until drinks arrived then further wait for food. And we had booked in advance! Also recently attended a wedding at this venue which wa amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Titchy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just returned home from a fantastic weekend staying in the castle. Our room was clean and relaxing and it was novel to try and remember how to get back to our room as there are tight spiral staircases and doors leading off in all directions. The hotel obviously prides itself with it's history and obviously as a consequence of keeping it's tradition the rooms don't have all the facilities that you would find in a modern hotel but we found this part of the charm. We were compromised on both nights as there were wedding receptions directly below us that went on passed midnight and then the guests were noisy as they waited for their lifts home.

We ate in the Black Knight restaurant on the Friday evening and found the food was excellent. A couple of the waiting staff could have been a bit more attentive but the whole we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The drinks are a little slow to arrive from the Library Bar but on both occasions they were very busy. However, the jewel in the crown has to be Tony Gill. He has the most infectious personality and whether he is taking your drinks order, or sorting your check-out; nothing is too much trouble and is done with a delightful manor. We also found Tracy and Paul to be first class and very friendly. Although Paul seemed to have a terrible joke for every occasion.....
We will definitely come back, it is well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Not over the function room (Room 67 or 68)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevilready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing