We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely venue for a wedding ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumley Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely venue for a wedding ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home after a lovely wedding at Lumley Castle. The venue was beautiful and being this time of year it was all Christmassy too. Access to the car park was ok although a little small but the venue was really easy to find. All staff were professional, friendly and very helpful. I'm on crutches at the moment and when we arrived at reception they immediately noticed this and changed our courtyard room from an upstairs room to a more accessible downstairs room which was a little bigger. There are only 3 reasons I have given this beautiful venue 4 stars and these are as follows.
The food provided was not that good considering this was a wedding and expensive venue. I found it rather bland and uninteresting both for the sit down and evening meal it felt a little bit mass produced and like it had come our of a packet.
The second reason was the accessibility of the venue inside. Being on crutches, and I was not the only one, the venue is very uneven underfoot obviously it's a castle and grounds are cobbled etc but the floors inside are slanted and uneven. There is a lift but only to the first floor which was exhausting due to how far away our room was from the rooms we were using. Also my concern as a health and safety person in my own work was fire risk. There would be no way I or any other guest who was disabled either temporarily or permanently would be able to get down from the floor we were on if there was a fire.
The third reason, and this may sound a bit petty, was the cost of drinks. You can take your own drinks but they do charge you corking so you are really stuck with buying your drinks there which I thought were a little excessive. £3.90 for a bottle of Budweiser I feel is quite over priced.
As I said earlier though the staff were amazing and very helpful and professional and the venue itself was beautiful I would recommend this to family and friends as a truly romantic castle.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniebean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    495
    267
    115
    48
See reviews for
312
1,096
22
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a night here, we had purchased a deal for £130 for two which included dinner up to £30 each, a night in a courtyard room and breakfast. This was an anniversary celebration and last night away before our baby arrives in February.
We had hoped for a special night away but have left feeling utterly disappointed and would not return here again.

Firstly upon check in there was no friendly welcome, just a request to sign and our key given. This could have been accepted as a one off but there seemed to be a continued poor quality theme running throughout our stay...

Upon arrival in the room it was cold and the radiators were filthy! Covered in layers of dust. The bath had sealant peeling from it and afew bodily hairs left in from the previous guests! The carpets also seemed grubby and it simply felt like the room needed a total make over. We also had someone upstairs and could here every move they made including using the toilet!

When we went to the Black Knight restaurant for our meal we were not greeted with the usual friendly customer service expected- I have also worked in a restaurant myself. There was a wedding and another ball on upstairs but there did seem to be enough staff, none however made any eye contact or an effort to take our coats or just engage us at all. At the table we asked for a jug of water, my husband found something floating in his glass so the glass was changed but not the jug. The jug was almost empty but nobody asked if we wanted any extra, they just seemed keen on serving the food quickly. Even when the drinks we ordered were finished nobody asked if we wanted more. We must have been served by 4 different people and none seemed to show much interest or enthusiasm. I had to practically shout at a member of staff passing by in order to ask for some sauce to go with my 'chips' which were basically 4 large bits of potato which were raw in the middle. At the end of the meal we sat and waited around 20 minutes for a bill or to be asked if we wanted anything else and again had to almost wave and shout for someone to come over. We were then told to go to the entrance to sign for the bill, we were told we had gone a couple of pounds over the £60 allowance but it could be paid at checkout so decided to do this. At checkout however we were charged quite alot extra for all drinks as were told drinks were not included in the 'package', something which we really should have been told prior to checkout! We ended up paying the extra despite querying the much higher price and then when walking out we noticed we had in fact been overcharged on the food too!! We returned to the desk and embarrassingly had to push for the lady to use a calculator to add up the total and yes it had been calculated wrong! She asked for a card then refund the overpayment and then realised she had to pay us back cash so took the money back off the card. This was all done with no apology and a comment to another member of staff 'it has happened again'.

One more thing was that at breakfast we were again unimpressed as were given cold toast and when the breakfast came asked for more toast, this never came... When ordering, the waiter ran off before my husband could ask for scrambled eggs out of the 'eggs cooked to your liking' so ended up with a friend egg. We also ran out of milk and again despite there being many staff, they rushed past us ignoring our eye contact and subtle hand gestures and my husband had to actually get up himself and use the waiters bench to fill our milk up! The staff and customer service is clearly lacking throughout the hotel!

All in all we have returned feeling disheartened and that our last night away was a huge waste of money and time. We would NOT recommend a night Lumley Castle, the restaurant or the breakfast to anyone and would not return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhodgson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

The small attic single room was attractive and provided adequate comfort.

Unfortunately the first meal, in the half empty restaurant, took some two and a half hours to complete. This included extensive time waiting for the first attempt to properly cook the main meat dish. Ironically, the second attempt took less time with a better result?

Breakfast the first morning was efficient, in the near empty room
.
The reception did try their best to get me a taxi the second night but this failed…

However, breakfast the second morning was somewhat pedestrian in the partially filled room. The final check-out was also prolonged…despite being the only one trying to check-out at the time.

All in all nice enough, but somewhat remote, surroundings. Not worth the price and waiting time in the end...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Went with daughters and friend for birthday afternoon tea in black night restaurant . Food very good but spoilt by poor service, miserable waitress and waiter chewing gum!! Asked to take cake home as there was too much to eat and waitress put 2 napkins on the table to wrap food in!!Very poor for quality hotel!! Will not return in the near future!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank olipops2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is our third stay at Lumley Castle which is exceptional value mid week. £99 for a courtyard room for Bed and Breakfast for two and not much more to include the evening meal. Where else could you stay in a castle for that price. Excellent sleep quality, big bathroom and a perfectly cooked breakfast, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nice rooms, super menu in restaurant, very reasonably priced. The staff seemed friendly even though they are in medieval dress all day :-)

Place is said to be haunted, I would agree, the place certainly has atmosphere,

Would certainly stay again, and would like to try another room, maybe in the main building.

All in all recommended, affordable, friendly and well located.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyS284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay at a modern, bright and characterless hotel DONT stay at Lumley Castle. If you want an experience, one you can share with a partner, then stay here. yes it is a real castle or was working castle and is owned by the Scarborough family. They are land owners in this area and have ensured the castle has not had anything changed inside it from its original features. This probably somewhat restricts any development of the castle rooms and it's bar and restaurant ... But it holds character. The up keep must be difficult because I have stayed 3 times and the rooms, although busy with matching linen wall paper and bed spreads etc, they are always nipping clean. Ghosts? Maybe, certainly feels like it sometimes and it's the wife's favourite hotel. Also does very reasonable function or conference rooms which I use for off site meetings....and the breakfast is spot on, all locally sourced sausages and bacon and free range eggs!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing