We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wedding day”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Absolutely lovely, our son was married there on thursday, and everyone was very impressed with the level of service,wonderful building, loads of charm, staff were excellent, our room was beautifully decorated & furnished, very comfy bed, all in all, a lovely place,
Moan: bar is VERY expensive!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,065
    509
    271
    116
    49
See reviews for
323
1,122
23
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed at Lumley castle for a special birthday and I can say that everything was just as I expected it to be for my fella and myself . From the ice bucket I requested in the room to breakfast delivered to the door on the dot of 9am I can't fault anything. All the staff were friendly and pleasant especially the young man who showed me to the room. The room was warm and quiet and the four poster was one of the best I've seen.The bathroom was accessed through the wardrobe door, very quirky.I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutebum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Banquet was awful broth cold ,belly pork nothing but white greasy fat,chicken dry and tasteless only good thing was Christmas PhD probably bought in.also had afternoon tea in May also very poor as it was a gift voucher we didn't have any choice for sandwiches.and what we got was very poor service was also poor

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

When deciding to visit the UK, we wanted to stay in a castle. Lumley Castle is easy to find and from the outside looks beautiful. Reception was difficult to find because there were cars parked everywhere and covered the signs. There were two weddings on, so parking was minimal and attention certainly given more to the weddings than hotel guests. Check in was okay but not much in the way of 'can we help you with anything?'. Three flights of stairs to the room but we were told this upon booking. The rooms in the main castle were great with a four poster adjoined to a double. Both large, very clean and tidy although very dark. Breakfast was adequate but the staff (of which there were plenty) took a long time to take our breakfast orders considering we were only the second table there. Very dark room again and difficult to see what you were eating and each other. Would probably recommend but maybe better when no weddings are on because parking is limited and people tend to park anywhere with no consideration. Perhaps hotel guest only parking would be great and a few more smiles would make all the difference to really enhance the 'castle' experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwysluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We chose Lumley Castle as a special place to celebrate our first wedding anniversary on December 12th (we got married 12.12.12 at 12.12pm in Warwickshire). It was also very well located as we were en route from the Midlands for a work's Christmas Party in Newcastle the following evening. For us the Castle delivered at all levels - atmosphere, history and a delicious meal in the Black Knight restaurant in the evening.
Our room in the castle itself was clean, warm and comfortable and easy to find, once we'd familiarised ourselves with this fabulous rambling building.
I'd been to the castle several years ago for a work meeting, but never stayed overnight. So it was a great opportunity to enjoy the full experience this time.
Even though there were two weddings taking place that day (a Thursday), they did not impact on us and we were not disturbed by any noise from the celebrations (the white 'living' statues on the landing added to the atmosphere!!) as the castle is a pretty big place.
The following day we spent a few hours in Durham, taking in the city centre and the splendid Cathedral.
Would definitely recommend it as a treat.

Room Tip: We liked our castle room (no 43) - not the largest, but comfortable, quiet and easy to find from rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had high expectations. The actual bar area and dining hall for the banquet is superb however was a complete rip-off. Dinning table's (benches) are very uncomfortable to sit on for a start not to mention the fact they squeeze to many people on there for a start. My partner had to sit sideways to be able to eat her dinner. Food is served in a very authentic manner with only a knife as cutlery. First course was bread and soup. No complaints there, followed by two very fatty ribs, still no real complaints there, main course was chicken and potatoes which was extremely dry and not pleasant to eat. Desert was Christmas pudding so If you liked that you'd be fine. There were 2 "goblets" of wine and a mead per guest. Wine was like vinegar and no-one on our table touched it. During dinner they have entertainers on performing a script of some-sort, could not hear a thing, still have no idea what it was about.

We left straight after main course, with food still trying to make its way down our throat, horrible wine, sore backsides and a back killing you from trying to it sideways so your poor partner can at least try and eat her dinner...and all of that for a delightful £80-00 + for the two of us...(excluding the additional drinks at the bar..)
For a company Christmas doo, great, for normal paying customers, NO. I would not recommend this at all, in fact, I would discourage anybody from going unless someone else is paying.

I will still book myself into the castle's themed rooms one evening and dine in the proper restaurant part but as for the banquet, not ever again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at Lumley as part of a pre-Christmas family get together, staying in the mews part of the courtyard set of rooms, in a deluxe room including champagne, chocolate and £30 towards an al a carte meal in the Knights Restaurant.

The rooms were thoughtfully designed, nicely decorated (in keeping with the castle style in the main castle rooms) and well appointed facility wise (tea and coffee making facilities, large bathroom with a powerful modern shower over a bath and lots of space to move around in, a walk in alcove to place your case and hang your clothes, a large comfortable bed and great lighting.

Unfortunately the room was a little noisy during our stay. Primarily from other guests bathrooms.... it almost felt like the whole of the annexes pipes went through our room making every use of another bathroom a loud gush through our room...and you could hear people walking about upstairs and voices of other guests quite easily...

We ate in the Knights Restaurant in the evening which was excellent. The food was superb from start to finish. The hotel is definitely better than many of its competitors in this respect. A well thought out menu, interesting combinations of ingredients, executed very well, served with good presentation and consistent across all courses.

The service in the restaurant was ok, if a little stilted and unatentive considering the assumed target market for the food. But, we really enjoyed our meal and our large group were all very satisfied with everything they had.

We spent some time in the bar/lounge in both the afternoon and the evening after dinner. It looked great, has a real traditional feel to it and real fires finished the atmosphere off wonderfully.

The choices available in the bar and the service provided didn't quite keep the ambience going though.... there is an opportunity here for pre dinner aperitifs, post dinner digestif's, cocktails, local beers all served at your table... but the execution is very much... go to the bar, order a drink, point to where you're sitting and wait.

I asked to see a wine menu, which ended up with a bit of searching around near the fireplace... we asked after dinner whether there were any cocktails (or cocktail menu).... they produced a small list, but then told us which ones (of the 5-ish) that were listed they couldn't do because they 'didn't have the ingredients' and for a nightcap when I asked what rum they had they said 'dunno, let me check.... yep, just the one'....

None of this ruined our night by any means, just slightly disappointing and interesting to observe...

The castle is a beautiful venue, its rooms, dining rooms, lounges and public areas are great assets. The food is exceptional too (both dinner and breakfast were excellent).... but it lets itself down slightly by lacklustre service and a lack of imagination when it comes to delivering a great bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeakTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing