We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night stay with evening meal and breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumley Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“one night stay with evening meal and breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

we (couple) stayed first friday after new year, arrived around 3.30pm and room was ready which had been upgraded to the castle area. room was incredibly hot and we had to turn radiator down. very clean and enough room for us for one night. very clean bathroom and plenty of hot water. free internet which worked fine. freeview television and tea and coffee, hairdryer in room.
meal was very nice in the black knight restaurant, service good and not too badly priced. bar was cosy and prices what you would pay in a town centre. breakfast was help yourself plus choice of meal brought to your table, was around £15 each but was included in our deal. the castle is from the 14th century so that is the appeal and the fact its supposed to be haunted. good place to stay for cricket as the ground is just down the road. and the a1m is a short ride away with durham and newcastle within easy reach. obviously with the age of the place there are uneven walkways which could be a problem for some. plenty of car parking but some is a short walk from reception and very small lift for disabled only.
nice staff and well worth a one or two night stay.

Room Tip: in the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    495
    266
    115
    48
See reviews for
312
1,096
22
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

very friendly staff, nothing is too much trouble we stayed on a Sunday evening so i don't know if there would be any difference staying on a Fri/Sat night.
Had a problem booking special offer through the web site as different price came up so had to phone to make booking.
Room (44) was clean and tidy only slight problem was shower being separate to toilet and sink room but due to age of building this was not a big issue, although a shelf or table is needed in shower room.
when we went to the bar around 3.30ish we found most of the tables were reserved for afternoon tea which is a little off putting and uninviting as a guest not being able to take a seat in the bar, maybe the hotel could serve afternoon tea in a more suitable room.
Our evening meal was very nice with just the right amount of time between courses.
Overall the stay was nice and the friendly breakfast staff and polite restaurant staff made this an enjoyable visit and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here on business due a deal. What a lucky choice, It has old world charm with a tasteful modern touch. My room was in an annex, the room was fitted out with some chamming pieces of furniture. The bathroom was as equally will fitted out. There is wifi through out the hotel, which is very handy. The food in the Black Knight restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was also served in there and was as equally as good.
I would stay again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look out for the deals on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveykbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a stay here as an 80th birthday treat for my mother, unfortunately we were really disappointed. This hotels first business seems to be as a wedding venue,possibly they are great at that, but you can expect poor service if you are regular guests.
We arrived after a day of driving at 3pm. First problem was that my mother who is a disabled badge holder was unable to park her car as there were wedding vehicles parked in the disabled car park spaces. Despite complaining to both reception and to the duty manager nothing was done about this. It would have been easy to ask hem to move, but clearly not upsetting a wedding party is far more important than a disabled guest!
So already riled we attempted to check in, but were told that due to a wedding yesterday and today they had not been able to turn the rooms around quick enough (despite their checkout time being 11am and their checkin time being 3pm). They handled this really badly. reception could not tell us how long the wait would be, nor did they offer us a complimentary cup of tea, we were just told to wait. Had we been told the room will be ready at 4 and please have a drink whilst you are waiting we probably would have been appeased. By 3.45 we were so annoyed that we asked to speak to the duty manager. He informed us our room would be ready in approx 20 mins (the hotel charges if you are more than an hour late checking out, but interestingly does not offer similar compensation in reverse!) as an alternative he offered us a room which he told us would be smaller but of the same grade. We took this as we were so desperate to get into a room. We wished we hadn't.
Perhaps because they weren't intending to let this room the radiator had been turned off and this being a castle it took until late evening for the room to heat up.
The internet was not working, and it took 3 phone calls to reception to ascertain this. Apparently their IT guys were working on it, but it didn't work all night.
We had dinner in the restaurant which went someway to making us feel better, though whilst this was a good meal, I wouldn't say it was great.
We came back to a note saying that as the hotel was busy they suggested we have breakfast at 7.45-8.30. This presented us with a real quandry as my mother needs to take medication with food at 9.30 but equally she would be unable to queue so we were forced to opt for an early start. We shouldn't have bothered. Cold toast, warm juice, burnt pastries and over cooked eggs!
To cap it all when we checked out they tried to charge us for the dinner that was included in our rate!!
Let's hope we can find a better present for her 81st, it couldn't be worse.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leisurelady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed here on the 30th of December after my boyfriend bought a KGB deal. Our room was totally amazing really nice. The castle was beautiful lit up at night it was magical. We had a meal in the Black knight restaurant and it was the nicest meal I have ever had, we had the venison and it was incredible. The staff and waiters could not have been more kind or helpful, everything was brilliant. All of this in addition to the fact my boyfriend proposed to me made the experience unforgettable!! We are looking to have our wedding here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed over for one night. We stayed in the Courtyard which had no heating. However the staff responded quickly to provide a heater. The castle looks tired and in places shabby. Breakfast was fine, toast cold but service slow. Would not stay again and felt a little cheated that we did not stay in the castle.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipity47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at Lumley Castle on New Year's Eve with friends and family. All in all it was a lovely couple of days, but not quite up to the standard I was expecting.

We were greeted warmly upon arrival with a glass of mulled wine, a nice touch, and we were helped to our rooms with luggage. The reception staff were most helpful at all times.

Our room was lovely, with a four poster bed, but it was very dark with no option for improved lighting at all. Although the bathroom was warm and cosy, the lighting was terrible. I was hardly able to see in the mirror to shave, it was so poor.

Perhaps because so many people were at the hotel at one time, our water was not hot enough when getting ready for the evening, our shower was luke warm, at best. (It was fine the following day)

The place is lovely and the Christmas decorations were exceptional. The lighting made for a magical scene throughout the castle.

The NYE meal was okay, but not as good as I'd hoped for. The breakfast was very good.

When I reflect on it, the element that lets down this beautiful setting is the lack of attentiveness to customer service. Many of the staff were quite flippant and the smile and warm touches were missing. At our first drink in the Library Bar the staff were very dismissive but clearly having a laugh amongst themselves. It is sometimes hard to describe the way you might be treat which makes all the difference, but all I can say is many of the staff need to understand what it takes to complete a pleasing experience for a customer. Sometimes the right thing can be said, but without sincerity. And this was not limited to a few people.

On the plus side there are some nice walks directly from the castle and the location is only minutes away from the main A1.

I'm afraid to say this was not somewhere I would rush back to. But - it has so much potential. A massive dose of customer service would make all the difference.

Room Tip: We had a room out in an external courtyard, which was fine, but if you want to be in the castle itse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.3 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing