We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lumley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street(Chester-le-Street)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Power House(Chester-le-Street)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,259)
Filter reviews
2,259 results
Traveller rating
1,189
586
299
130
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
586
299
130
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe black knight restaurantlibrary barcourtyard roomelizabethan banquetafternoon teamurder mysteryfour poster bedcream teachester le streetcricket groundsconeseggs benedictevening mealspecial occasionwedding venuegreat nightwaiting staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,576 - 1,581 of 2,259 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in room 59 at the top of the castle, lovely view and the room was warm all the time we stayed. Breakfast and dinner in Black Knight restaurant was brilliant, staff very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stopped here at a wedding we were attending. Our room itself was in the court yard and not the castle itself. The room was small but well decorated and immaculate. The castle itself was brilliant and the staff were lovely. Breakfast was a bit hectic and I tend to judge a hotel on its breakfasts and I was disappointed. Both my wife and I had eggs Benedict (a favourite of ours) and it was a total let down. Would I stop here again? Yes but only in the castle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrLittleElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We went on a Friday night dinner, bed and breakfast deal and had a brilliant time. The reputedly haunted castle certainly looks the part and is grand, if a little eerie. The decor is kept in an according style and has real atmosphere. There is loads of parking in and around the castle and we parked in the nearly empty overflow area, as the main part can get a bit snarled up at times. We were greeted with a room upgrade, to a castle room, which was a nice surprise. The room was fab - comfortable bed, very warm, tea and coffee, small wardrobe, nice view - although to keep the review fair and balanced, it was on the small side, noise travels in the creaky corridors, and the cold water stopped once after a bath (maybe a small water tank). Also, don't expect minibar or ironing board - these aren't in the room. We had dinner in the Black Knight and the food was delicious - the duck hash to start was fab (but quite filling) and the beef signature dish was super tasty (again very hearty). The atmosphere is great in the restaurant, but may be worth asking for one of the raised, curtained booth areas, if you want a bit more romantic seclusion! Service was faultless throughout for us. This place is different and something a bit special. We loved it and would definitely return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank StevieC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The overnight stay at Lumley Castle started off with a drink in the bar before dinner in the black knight restaurant the food was exceptional with a large range to choose from the atmosphere very pleasing. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were out of this world. Breakfast exceptional with everything you could wish for. Our sixth stay at Lumley Castle. We will be back.

Room Tip: Courtyard or Castle both good
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed for 2 night in January 14 for a birthday celebration in a castle feature room on a dinner,bed and breakfast basis.Stayed in a lovely characterful castle view room(room 50),you walked through the wardrobe door into the bathroom,amazing.Breakfast was very good,excellent choice,hot and good quality products.Dinner was very nice,the black knight restaurant is a real jewel.Overall can,t fault the staff and the establishment.

Room Tip: castle view room,a must.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoriarhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews