We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We got married here and had a wonderful time, a small ceremony with 24 guests and a reception in the Northumbria room. The day was very special and the wedding coordinator on the day helpful in sorting out the running of the day and directing the guests. The ceremony was lovely the surroundings perfect and resulted in some beautiful photographs.

The meal was fantastic with huge portions and the canapés and snacks following the ceremony were really tasty, and well worth the money, served on the lawn which was perfect. I would recommend a wedding here.

The only slight negative was an issue with a coordinator prior to the day, and the attitude of the person who rang me to resolve a few niggles after the event, who tried to tell me things didn't happen, as was a tad patronising. I guess a few hitches are expected and did not detract from the day.

The suite we stayed in on our wedding night was fantastic with a four poster bed and lots of little quirky features which really made it special. A day to remember

Room Tip: Check castle feature rooms have a bath (one room was a tad odd having to walk through a shower to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lillies83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,447 - 1,453 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I am writing this on behalf of Lawrence as.. his sight is going! But his love of food never fails!! They used to have a "Gang" and went all over for meals. Originally there were seven! They are unfortunately down to two now as the Third Musketeer was buried last week! However, for the past two years on a Birthday they have decided on The Castle... this one was the BEST!! Not only did they have "Roast Pork" as roast of the day (his favorite).. but a little "Codling" starter (another favorite) but the pudding was the bestest he ever had ..Posset! And the Best was yet to come..He was given a Birthday Card from The Manager & Staff from the Castle and a plate decorated with "Happy Birthday" in chocolate! The staff were absolutely wonderful to him and I just want to say ...on his behalf.. Thank you so much for his 86th Birthday "Bash" LUMLEY CASTLE Restaurant Staff!! xxx

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After enjoying previous meals in the Castle we looked forward to taking visitors there only to be disappointed. The service was not up to usual standard ..we were ignored....we were left with no correct glasses...we had to ask for buns then to have mine served stretching over to reach me instead of coming to the correct side.... the soup was tasteless and gluey. We had to ask for desserts then we had to ask for our milk and sugar to be served so we could drink tea!
To add insult to injury I did write to complain and have waited for a reply.....however nothing has been forthcoming so they obviously believe they are above replying to disgruntled customers too.
A beautiful setting but without the standards it is a setting we will not be visiting again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We travelled to Lumley Castle on a Hanson Travel Exclusive trip.
The hotel was really lovely and you could spend a while just looking around the castle at the paintings and scultures dotted around the place. Our room was in the courtyard and was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom.
The banquet was really good fun! There was lots of singing for your supper, and the novelty of using your fingers for the different courses!! There was Elizabethan entertainment between each course and the serving of each course and clearing away was very well organised.
Lovely hotel would recommend it to anyone! Seemed very popular for weddings!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a two-night stay at Lumley Castle over the Easter weekend and it was a faultless stay. We arrived late on Friday night and we missed the Elizabethan banquet so we opted for room service instead. Since it was after 10pm, all we could get was a sandwich but that suited us fine. Helen at reception was extremely friendly and welcoming. What a lovely woman! Our room was in the castle and it was beautiful. It was very large and had a four poster bed with a lovely en-suite. My only complaint is that overall, the room was very dark. (Since it's a castle, i can overlook this though :) )
The next morning we had breakfast at about 9.30. It does say to get down as early as possible because it can be very busy but we were tired from the drive the night before. Since we were last down, there was very few fruits to choose from and they were not replaced during our meal. But there was plenty of other food to choose from so can't complain too much. (Although it would be nice if they could offer granola as well as the other cereals) Later that day we went to the Beamish Open Air museum. That was fantastic, although very busy thanks to the bank holiday weekend. A couple of hours ambling was enough for us though.. we wouldn't spend a full day there. It's more of a family attraction. After our day at the museum, we headed back to the hotel where we sat in the Library bar for a quiet drink before dinner. The bar is fantastic and so atmospheric. We could have sat there there all night. Next was dinner in the Black Knight restaurant. This was the highlight of our stay. So much so, we had a THREE hour dinner. We didn't want to leave. For starters we had the scallops, and the sweet potato with pigeon. Then we had the monkfish and lamb tagine, followed by the cheese plate and meringue, washed down with a couple of bottles of chianti. What a fantastic meal! It was absolutely to die for. Our waiter Simon was very friendly and nice to chat to also.
The next morning we didn't want to check out. Would definitely recommend this hotel. (It's worth mentioning that there were THREE weddings on Saturday and two on Sunday but at no point did we feel like the weddings had taken over the hotel. Apart from a few people hanging around outside, you'd barely have known they were on.)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niamhanderson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I have read a lot of reviews about Lumley castle and there are good ones and bad one's- I suppose everyone has a bad day and some people have very high expectations.
So....this is my experience- we stayed overnight in a court yard bedroom- for me the room was just fine. very Comfy Bed good size bathroom and all the standard facilities you would expect- the room was very authentic within the tradition of the castle.
We booked in on time 3pm and the desk service was very good- even though they were very busy. after dropping off our bags in the room we had a look around and found ourselves in the banquet hall as they were setting up- the staff were lovely and told us about the history of the Banquet and what we could expect. we explored the castle and found out about It's history- they did what looked like a very nice high Tea- but we went for a walk and just happed to find ourselves at the local golf club and popped in for a swift drinky poo's.
A piper played us into the vaulted bar area at 7pm and there were a good mix of people there- some dressed in Elizabethan clothes- most were not- The bar prices were as you would expect £4 a pint and £3.50 for double spirit and mixer.
The master of ceremony came in and we were ushered into the hall and sat at out tables. so, ok yes they are benches and yes the food is served at the end and passed up, but for me that was all part and parcel of the evening. the entertainment was fun and engaging as long as you did engage and not just sit there- you have to get involved...or its pointless going. the staff were very attentive and friendly -the food was basic and ok- Broth/Bread- Fish in a shell- Ribs cooked to perfection- and yes the chicken and jacket potatoes were a bit dry-the apple crumble was fine and yes the red wine was rocket fuel and the mead was......eh Mead- I guess most of it was wasted, but as a whole it was a great night out and we made new friends by sitting next to people we had never met. we enjoyed the sing-along and the banter.
Now---the only thing i was not sure about was...there was a disco on afterwards and I'm not sure that works with an Elizabethan Banquet theme--oh well- we went to bad after all it was midnight.
After a very comfy sleep- a powerful refreshing shower- we went to breakfast- great setting, great staff and really good choice of Breakfast food.
I would recommend a visit and overnight stay- keep an eye out for deals and please keep an open mind and get into the spirit of the Elizabethan Banquet- the guys really work hard, so get into what they are trying to do you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We returned from our holiday and were looking for somewhere to eat with relatives. We tried many of our favourite places but being Friday evening all were booked.

Lamely castle was free and when we asked a time expecting to be a reduced availability we were told any time. So we said 7pm. So reading between the lines I think what they do here is you book a table for the time you want then go to the library bar and wait until there is a free table ..so on a busy night you could be waiting a long time!

So, we wanted somewhere special to take our relatives. But there is no dress code here. Well, that's good and bad. Surely if you want somewhere to be special or have a posh up market atmosphere people need to be dressed nicely. To put this into perspective on the tables around us people were wearing football shirts ripped jeans and trainers on the other tables people were wearing sweat shirts and hoodies. A couple of women had dresses on but that was it...so a special place it isn't ..also children were playing noisy computer games so we had the constant ding ding ping ping do dee doo all night ...yes this make the visit here really special ! I would have expected the waiters to look after all guests...this was akin to the local MC Donald's not a good restaurant!

Next the food wasn't particularly good. In fact my sweet was sticky toffee pudding. The pudding was so hard I actually couldn't cut into it with my spoon and left it. We weren't even asked if our food was ok. I suspect the sticky toffee pudding was microwaved for too long hence the outer shell being very leather like!

Our bill was wrong but only by a few pounds so we didn't bother to contest it. But check yours!

The room was very cold with the doors open, I guess more to keep the staff cold than the guests as it was obvious everyone was cold as we all put our jackets on and the children on another table were being cuddled under the jackets of their parents!

All in all a pretty rubbish experience, Mc Donald's seems a more atmospheric place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#11 of 18 in Durham
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £64 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing