We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at Lumley Castle on Bank Hol Monday for one night. We got a smashing lass checking us in, Sharon, who explained everything clearly for us. Room was lovely as was the wine in it! We dined in the restaurant at night and as we were on a groupon deal we'd paid £19.50 for a 3 course meal at the time of our booking. It was superb, really, just superb. Breakfast was also fabulous the next morning. We really enjoyed our night at Lumley and it definitely lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,471 - 1,477 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We wanted to stay in a castle while visiting England. Lumley was a great choice. It has the old world charm and was everything we wanted. The room was nicely furnished, the staff friendly and its a nice quiet location.

We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and this was very good as well.

Overall this is exactly the experience we were looking for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmchurc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were a little worried about our stay at Lumley as we were booked into the courtyard,we needn't have worried our room was beautiful,really warm and cosy,and spotlessly clean.our evening meal was only £20 each and the quality was amazing,we had drinks in the library,a little expensive but the surroundings are wonderful,breakfast again was really good,in fact I can't wait to go back again,we both loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Booked a romance package for my husbands birthday after going to this hotel several times previously.On this occasion the whole experience was terrible from start to finish . I had requested a particular table in the restaurant at booking, and then reiterated my request upon arrival and was told that eveything had been sorted, and then when we arrived for dinner they had changed the reservation The service in the restaurant was appauling and all staff didnt seem to know what they were doing .The food was very expensive but tasteless and at breakfast it was obvious that meals had been pre plated and left under a heater until required as the sausage and bacon were rock hard .The romance package included a bottle of champagne which had been placed in our room early in the day when we were out, but by the time we returned to the room at approx 1545 it was swimming in a bucket of water and the room had not been made up .There were three weddings at the hotel on this day and half the grounds were out of bounds to us quests who were not attending them , yet we had paid high prices to stay there also, it appears that normal quests are not important to them. .Dont waste your hard earned cash on this place its not worth it !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lumley castle recently. On arrival our room had been upgraded (hey! this doesn't happen to us)
The room was spacious (bed big and cozy) bathroom had everything you could need. Lovely biscuits too.
We ate in the restaurant and found the meal out of this world. Staff were excellent, friendly and very professional.
Price was really good value (midweek retreat)
I would recommend Lumley Castle for an overnight stay and a meal to anyone.. loved it

Room Tip: The special offers are excellent value. Midweek retreat and murder mystery (really entertaining) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N11NJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked afternoon tea for my friends birthday and we were really looking forward to it but have got to say were a little dissappointed. The staff were very polite and helpful and the setting is really nice but for the price of the afternoon tea £13.95 per head the food was nothing to shout home about. The sandwiches were served without crusts cut off and the beef still had gristle on it. The Scones were delicious though, home made and served warm with lots of butter, jam and clotted cream. Lots of choice of cakes in fact too many, would have prefered more savoury items! The bar was a little chilly too, although the heating was on, I suppose its really difficult to heat a large place like this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Great experience, the castle rooms are fantastic. We love the hidden bathrooms and quirkiness. The history of the place and the beauty is sonmthing to behold. Try a midnight stroll on you own, eery to say the least.

Room Tip: Castle rooms all great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peters_chris_peters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#10 of 18 in Durham
76 reviews
8.2 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,570 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £63 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Hotel Lumley
Castle Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing