We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GRAND AND STEP BACK IN TIME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The moment you catch sight of this castle as you drive through the grounds of the golf course your breath is taken away. You are greeted with friendly reception staff, a porter is assigned to help you with your luggage if you wish. If you are staying inside the castle in one of the theme rooms, the distance to your suite will require a porter to, especially if you have a few heavy suitcases. The room we had was themed delightfully, with a very comfortable bed, separate toilet and a shower over the bath, in an elevated corner of the room, which does not allow for much dignity when you want to climb into the bath. The wash basin is in the room with the toilet, lighting is poor if you need it for applying makeup in there.The restaurant serves lovely meals, however, the price for what you get is easily beaten by the pubs in Chester le Street only 5 minutes away, Great roasts for only 6:00GBP is a third of what you pay at the castle and you get twice as much. Please see my review of The Butcher Arms. This is a superb place to stay, tranquil , a great bar, nice afternoon tea, we will definitely want to stay here again should we return to the UK

Room Tip: Study the hotel web site, if you want a real castle feel, book a theme room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gladesville22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,427 - 1,433 of 2,177 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A very elegant & fabulous castle for a wedding venue, the rooms are huge with beautiful decor & very tall ceilings inside the castle & plenty of rooms to explore! The castle has lovely surrounding gardens including a golf course. Drinks are very expensive & the bar area was very small :-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were disappointed to be led into one big room and sat at long tables with others, not what we expected. The actors performed at the front of the room and most diners listened but there were a few noisy and too much to drink diners, mainly female, trying to spoil the enjoyment of the rest of the room.
Clearly I won't give away the plot so sticking with the food it was basic, but good, served hot and really there was nothing not to like. We were late being called into dine and were relieved to move to a lounge afterwards to get away from the crowd.
Our rooms were quite a long way from the castle in a new block and while they were all lovely and up to the standard of the other rooms in the mews around the car park you really did have to negotiate the weather and steps outdoors and long corridors indoors,so if you have mobility problems make sure you mention it when booking.
No chance of sleeping late as the maids are working by 8am. We wouldn't recommend the full English breakfast the quality just wasn't there, but the other choices seemed popular e.g. eggs benedict and there was a cold table with a limited selection other breakfast items. We were a table of 6 for breakfast and this seemed to challenge the staff with people arriving at different times, so having to try and catch someone to serve us was annoying, surely one person could be allocated a table and keep an eye on it.
Nevertheless we had a good weekend in unusual surroundings.

Room Tip: Lots of rooms up flights of stairs or a walk from the castle so if you want to be nearer the restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dyspepsicdiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We would like to thank Lumley Castle, and their staff for everything they did for our daughter Salli's wedding to Alex on Saturday 31st May 2014.

The whole experience surpassed all our expectations. Special thanks must go to Keith, our wedding co-ordinator, Lady Audrey, for all their help, and organisation throughout the proceedings. We must mention the Chef and kitchen staff for a wonderful meal, expertly executed. The waiting staff were also fabulous.

A special mention to the two gentlemen from Durham Registry Office who made the ceremony very moving and wonderful , especially enjoyed by Para 1.

From checking in on Friday 30th May, ourselves and all our guests were mesmerised by not only the beauty of the Castle, but by the attention to detail of every aspect of the service.

It was the perfect day, nothing was left to chance, late guests were catered for, (1 guest had only arrived back from Afganistan the previous night.)

We would like to say a huge THANK YOU for making our daughters wedding the fairytale she had always dreamed of.

Mr & Mrs Greaves.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreavesGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have been to Lumley Castle a few times. We spent a weekend there recently and were a bit disappointed, felt it was not up to its usual high standards. Admittedly there were a lot of other functions going on but even so all guests should be made to feel special. Staff on Reception were fabulous but in the restaurant & bar staff seemed stressed or couldn't be bothered. We had a room in the new part of the courtyard which didn't seem to have that authentic feel. Plus we had problems with the shower which went stone cold and then the shower controls fell off the wall. Accommodation is expensive and didn't live up to our expectations this time. Not sure we will go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the castle and old courtyard are very authentic. Rooms in the new part of courtyard don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiggy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife booked this hotel for 2nights over six months ago to celebrate my birthday. We were shown to a reasonable nice room ( not worth the money, I've stayed in far nicer places). We were aware there were weddings going on in the hotel, which was fine, until about 7pm the room started vibrating with noise from a wedding disco. We had been allocated the room next door to it, which we thought was crazy, not being part of the wedding party. We complained at reception and they were very apologetic, but stated they only had one room left to move us to. It turned out to be a twin bedded shoe box of a room, but we had no choice to accept it. The following day we were moved to another upgraded room ( 3rd room in 2days ) . It was very nice and we finished our stay there. To the credit of the staff, they were very helpful and understood our grievance, and we were not charged for the first night. BUT this should not have happened in the first place. The people who were in charge of reservations should look a bit more carefully into where people are allocated to save this debacle. Cannot see me staying there again I'm afraid

Room Tip: I am aware that the hotel has some stable type rooms adjoining the old castle. These are far nicer r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigginJarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just returned after spending two nights in Lumley castle. We had a court yard room which was adequate but hardly spacious, but comfortable. The bed was so high we needed a stool to stand on first just to get into the bed, but it was a source of amusement. Being a very old castle, the floors were quite rickety, and hearing the people above walk about was quite annoying after a while. At times we even heard parts of their conversation. (All good ) Now we were there for a wedding and decided before we went to extend our stay by a second night for a more enjoyable time away. The day of the wedding was taken care of in terms of meals etc. and even the next morning we had exquisite use of the private dining room for out parties breakfast. This was wonderful as it saved us having to join the very long queue of people trying to get into the restaurant for their breakfast. The cold side of the breakfast was self serve with all the usual foods including small pastries etc. The hot part of the breakfast was to order and this was brought to the table. Food being well cooked. The toast was quite literally dipped in and out of the toaster and was more hot bread than toast. Not the best. !!! Now the castle is not just on a road where an abundance of restaurants are around. Its quite isolated but that's fine we planned on eating in the restaurant, or rather that was the plan, but upon phoning the restaurant to book a table I was informed that it was full and no tables available. There was room service up to 10pm but a £5 sur charge for room service. 10 out of 10 for the person that thought that one up, but sorry I am not paying £5 extra just because the restaurant was full, so was happy when they agreed to do away with this charge, and we enjoyed a hearty club sandwich with fries. Unfortunately we hit the queue in the morning for breakfast, but hey that's understandable when its busy. All in all a lovely weekend away. Staff were so very helpful and friendly. A lovely ambiance around the whole castle. Oh and please pass on our thanks to the lovely female DJ who played at the wedding of Joanne and Scott, she was ace and was complimented upon by so many people. I would certainly return, so have no problems in awarding this hotel 5 circles.

Room Tip: Would probably go for a room in the castle itself rather than the courtyard, but that's just for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougieEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#11 of 18 in Durham
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £64 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing