We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience to stay in an authentic castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I can't actually remember the room number I stayed in but it was one of the feature castle rooms and was fantastic! Individually decorated and packed full of period features and antiques. Had an amazing 4 poster bed that I had to climb onto a chair first to get onto as it was so high so maybe not good for any body with mobility issues but there are so many stairs to get to the room that you would struggle anyway to be honest. I was told on my second day by the chamber maid there that the room was haunted but I did not see anything and slept fine both nights.
Food was all good and particularly enjoyed the themed dinner we had in a private function room on the last night (was there for a conference). I would definitely recommend a visit here and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainey_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,415 - 1,421 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lumley has an undoubted historical interest & ghost rumours enhance that, it is however a perfect base to stay to watch the cricket down the road at Chester le Street. Rooms in the castle have character but expensive, food & service just ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CGT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It is a lovely place, and it is staffed by lovely people. The food in the Black Night restaurant is excellent.

Fantastic location as well.

So, why only average?

We stayed in a double room in the Castle, which had only a small window and 'limited' additional lighting. Bizarrely, the Bath / Shower was in a corner of the bedroom, outside the ensuite WC.

The shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold, and when the tap was opened in the WC, the shower stopped completely

There was nowhere to plug in a hairdryer in front of a mirror (This is a must for my wife, and I expect most other ladies too). We asked for an additional mirror, which was delivered to us promptly.

So, if you are prepared for the foibles of a 14th century building, it will make a nice break, but if you want some modern conveniences, this is NOT the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finchbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

For afternoon tea the library bar is used which is a dark room, not making use of the views. Right amount of food. However, sandwiches were soggy and meat was chewy. Lovely scones. Staff not particularly welcoming or friendly, no one asked if everything was okay or if we wanted a refill. Improvements required to whole experience.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank PeaPod4910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Come on, stay in a castle. It sounds cool, it looks cool, just plain neat. We stayed in the "courtyard" rooms, which aren't in the castle proper, but they are still somewhat old and get the right vibe for a castle room. Bed was pretty nice. Small stairs up to the room. Nice grounds to walk around in. Really enjoyed the stay. They had a wedding party there, which blocked off a portion of the castle, but we still got to look around most of it. Stay here - you won't regret it.
Oh, it is a little tricky to find - make sure you check the garmin before you're on the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmanten84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The castle was beautiful on arrival,staff at reception very friendly and our room in the courtyard small but very nice. Powerful shower and all very clean. We had afternoon tea in the library bar which was delicious. On the second day we enjoyed a day out at the Beamish Museum which was fantastic. The food in the restaurant was very good although the waitress was slightly patronising when I asked to have my coffee with my dessert. What can I say? I like coffee with my cake but was basically told that that is not they way it's done. This was the only negative thing. My husband and I went around exploring the whole castle,climbing narrow stairways and peeking behind closed doors. We had a fantastic stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AntjeWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The cast and staff were excellent, good humour and got us all involved. The food was disappointing, 5 courses of dry, tasteless food thought it was over priced for what we got. The wine and mead was nice and free refills. We had noise group around us and thought they were not there for the show just to talk though it all. Was also disappointed are party couldn t all sit together, we were with baron and baroness table and had to sit away from them. Think the show was good and idea good but needs work.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#11 of 18 in Durham
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £64 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing