We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're into theme parks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lumley Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“If you're into theme parks”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

In what is obviously an interesting building, the castle theme park experience hasn't been stinted upon even to the staff in medieval costumes. I visited as a non resident diner and took the opportunity to look around the castle. The food was fine and priced fairly. Also the wine. However, what could have been a very sophisticated experience was lessened with every nook and cranny of the castle being filled with some sort of cheap tap or camp decoration. The faux busts in the corridor took the biscuit! If that's your thing, you'll have a great time and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. However, the decor wouldn't disappoint a Disney theme park.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    514
    271
    116
    49
See reviews for
328
1,133
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I loved staying at this hotel the views around the place the time spent with family and the gorgeous rooms I haven't been back yet but I intend to come back I had a very enjoyable stay you can't go wrong the grounds are so beautiful the building also beautiful

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisarichardson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here following a visit to the cricket just 10 mins down the drive. For me the location is perfect. Staff are always very polite and helpful and will always try to oblige. We have had room 56 for both visits (just a coincidence) and have been very comfortable both times. It's great when weather is warm and room stays lovely and cool. It is at the top of the castle to a fair old hike if you are not fit but very quiet and looking onto trees means you can have the window open. As you would expect from a castle it is dark in places and the lights in the room although plenty are not the brightest for makeup etc. the one thing that drives me crazy is the hair dryer when plugged in will not reach any of the mirrors in the room so girls take a portable mirror with you! The room was very clean and could not fault housekeeping. Sadly we were not free to eat in the restaurant but hope to next time as menu sounds delicious. Breakfast was very good and staff very helpful. I will definitely return here again and recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 56 is lovely but take a mirror and hair dryer does not reach mirrors in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

stayed in a themed room,it was the best room ive ever stayed in.loved how you walked through the wardrope to get into the bathroom..free choccys was a plus :) met a great helpful members of staff called pamela gusstard who showed us around the castle.she didnt have to as she works for the weddings side,but did anyways,told us lots of the history about the castle etc,a very friendly helpful lady,an asset to the castle...lovely grounds and so peacfull,beautiful food,everything was just so lovely and peacfull...will deffo be going back

Room Tip: pick a themed room as it truely is a part of staying in a castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a quirky hotel in a lovely setting. We booked for a medieval banquet which unfortunately was cancelled so changed it for a St Patrick's Day banquet instead. It was very entertaining and the food was good. Would have loved to dress up but will go back for a medieval one. The rooms we had were great, full of character. Breakfast was very good and the staff friendly and helpful. It was a Christmas present and was well worth it. Special mention to the young lady who did the disco for playing all the songs we requested and our serving wench who was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a character room with four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willden-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

It is a unique experience that’s for sure!

And it’s obvious that the owners can’t mess about with the place so they are limited to what they can offer and keep within the rules laid down by the Heritage people.

The location was superb; the hotel is an oasis within the ordinary that surrounds it.

The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and well presented.

The food in the Black Night restaurant was far better than I had expected and the ambiance at dinner was superb but the bar in the library was tiny and closed far too early with a very limited selection of drinks – really it wasn’t worth calling it a bar more a hatch!

This is a unique 14th century building but there are many areas which need basic refurbishment or even just a lick of paint.

I stayed one night midweek and as I got the last room available I paid top dollar but that was to be expected.

The room was apparently the bridal suite which was up in the Gods and only a lift (of sorts) to the first floor.

My room had a 4 poster bed and the furniture was in OK repair (just) and presentation - also the room was just OK by way of cleanliness - on closer inspection there was confetti and wrapping string under a chest of drawers- – I wasn’t looking to find things to moan about but they were so obvious to see so why didn’t house keeping?

The bathroom was minuscule and a big negative for me! See photos posted by others.

It was in good order and they did their best to accommodate 21st century requirements into a 14th century turret but for anyone over 5ft tall and 6 stone in weight it was an extremely unpleasant experience – for anyone over a “certain age or size” forget it – that’s if you manage to get up into the clouds in the first place!

TV reception was just achieved although numerous channels not being picked up!

Breakfast was perfectly acceptable- again the staff were professional and pleasant.

I would go back to Lumley without a second thought but not to the bridal suite I will leave that to those who don’t really care where they are for the night !!!

Room Tip: Dont accept the bridal suite if you are a single male over 60 yearss of age over weight and taller t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you like poor service at a premium price then this is the Hotel for you. The Feature room we booked had nothing of feature within it. The web site shows lots of pictures of feature rooms, but ours was nothing like those, although it was charged as such. Restaurant was average at best and the service appalling, “may I show you your table sir? That’s it over there in the corner” – I kid you not. Save your money, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you're going for a feature room make sure you see pictures first, many of the "Feature R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
4.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
8.2 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumley Castle Hotel

Property: Lumley Castle Hotel
Address: Chester-Le-Street, Durham DH3 4NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#5 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lumley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lumley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumley Castle Durham
Hotel Lumley Castle
Castle Lumley
Castle Hotel Lumley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing