We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
chester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights with 3 other couples on a "Cruise Reunion". Our room was quite, no noise from the interconnecting door into an ajacent bedroom, and had a good view over the back gardens. The super king sized bed was very comfy, and the room had a well appointed en-suite.
Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet with good choices. We had all evenings meals in the Rib Room and they were excellent (if you are non vegy).
Even though there were functions going on during our stay in the hotel we were not disturbed by any noise at night.
Very pleasantly surprised at the hotel quality after reading some previous entries.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidandkathChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    528
    182
    83
    64
See reviews for
336
862
38
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed here for one night for a getaway. It included dinner bed and breakfast. The room was fairly average but a decent standard. The restaurant food was great with good service but it the DBB rate only covered a certain value so we had to add some extra money to pay for wine etc.
There was a wide variety of residents. Breakfast was extensive but in a very large room which didn't feel very exclusive or romantic - more like a large canteen!
Apparently they are installing a spa and pool area which will make it much nicer I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I am a frequent traveller and hold a number of VIP Hotel cards such as Hilton Diamond VIP. As such I am used to and expect a high standard of service; after all, the customer has a choice and it is important for hotels to accept that they can go elsewhere.
However, although my client made the reservation with some fixed protocols (ie: rib room meal allowance which could not be used in the carvery or for any of the meal offers in the rib room and after 4 weeks, steak, however good, gets pretty boring) I feel I must commend the hotel on its overall service.
Vicky Carr on reception has been the best receptionist I have ever dealt with whether it be the Burj Al Arab in Dubai or Raffles in Singapore. Very attentive to ones requirements, excellent demeanor and very efficient. In fact, although another receptionist was intransigent re my meals, Vicky did remove the restaurant restrictions when I brought it to her attention.
I made an observation during the 1st week and they changed my room and I was very comfortable for the remainder of the stay.
In the restaurant, my personal circumstances prevented me from pre-booking a table but, even when bursting to capacity, Gianni found me a table. His staff were very attentive and a credit to the hotel.
Breakfast was very enjoyable with again friendly and attentive staff.
My only gripe for a long term resident, is it is a bit isolated from Durham and taxis, whilst not excessive are not inexpensive.
All in all a very pleasant stay which I would request again if working in Durham area.
Well done to all at Ramside and a big commendation to Vicky.

Room Tip: My room was well appointed and maintained very clean by housekeeping. Internet was good at all time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remymartinlouisxiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

Not deserving of the 4 stars it somehow has, old, tired and desperate for some money to be spent on the rooms, not a nice place.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmondtw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineDurham, Front Office Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Thank you for your review. All feedback is welcome, however in response to the Hotel being old and tired - In the last two years we have refurbished 70 out of our 80 bedrooms and bathrooms, with high quality furniture, fixtures and fittings, the remainer is due to be finished in the next few months. Along with that, we have the newly refurbished luxurious Rib Room Steak House and Grill style brasserie, which serves some of the best steaks in the North East, and the most recently refurbished unique Main Bar.

Ramside Hall offers very high standards which is expected of a 4* Hotel and I apologise that you feel this was not met on your recent visit. I would be more than happy to discuss your stay in more detail if you would like to contact me direct.

Beverley Anders
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Ghastly service. When we alerted reception, they informed the duty manager who was asked to speak with us. Instead, he watched us eat for 30 mins and chose to ignore us. I could write an essay here but rather not think about this hotel any longer. Please avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alchemist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

please think twice before booking, i dont like ticking the first box for the rating , 1. the staff need training , uniform should be clean at all, times and customer care could be helpful to, 2. the chef needs to learn how to do a buffet that dosent taste bland, and learn what can be reheated , overall totally disappointed even tho ive been here before on a number of occasions. i will not be wasting my money here again until i here it has improved.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rooney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatherineDurham, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I was extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, however I have noted your comments and would happily discuss them further if you would like to contact me direct.

David Wood
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Booked this room on a booking.com flash deal for £39 and wasn't sure what to expect. Was impressed on arrival at the beautiful setting, lots of parking. There was two weddings going on the day we arrived but you wouldn't have known as the staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The girls on reception were really warm, chatty and welcoming and upgraded us to a deluxe suite. We couldn't believe it when we got to our room - it was enormous with fab decor and a lovely view. It had to be the cleanest, comfiest room we've had anywhere with some nice touches like magazines and fruit. The bathroom was just fantastic with an amazing jacuzzi bath. The whole place was just so relaxed and friendly with good food and bars.

A great base for exploring, only two miles to Durham and about a 20 min drive to the centre of Newcastle. A quality hotel, great value for money, would definitely stay again and be happy to pay full price as it's well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMurphyOpsDirector, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
What a great review, thank you. I am so pleased to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your fantastic comments about how friendly the staff are at Ramside Hall Hotel with them all. Glad you received an upgrade, sometimes it just happens thst way and you found the bedroom to be the cleaniest and comfiest you have ever stayed in. Lets hope you do return again soon.
Kind regards
Simon Murphy
Operations Director
Ramside Estates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing