We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Brother is watching you?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Big Brother is watching you?”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Arrival at the Ramside Hall hotel is up a long drive, winding through the lovely golf course that surrounds the hotel. In the sun the hotel glows as the sunlight reflects off the pebble dash covering, however in the rain and cloud it is not a very welcoming sight. But do not despair; the reception and linked lounge are very welcoming and well decorated.
Reception staff were excellent, as were all the other staff we encountered, and they are the jewel in the crown of the hotel! Our room was well decorated, a little bit too fussy for our taste like the rest of the hotel, and very well equipped, with a huge bed and easy chair with huge footstool. Top class. The bathroom was modern and similarly well equipped; though beware of the light sensors! A good idea to save costs and the environment, and perfectly fine if you are standing at the wash basin. However if you are sitting on the loo or relaxing in the bath with a book, after 42 seconds (in our case) the room is plunged into absolute darkness and frantic arm waving is required to activate the sensors. Quite disturbing I would have thought for someone of a nervous disposition, or the elderly.
The only let down was the food. Not that it was of poor quality or badly cooked, but in a four star hotel we look for a four star restaurant as food is a big part of our time away. There are two restaurants. The main restaurant is based on steaks in all sizes and varieties. The meat looked good and was clearly being enjoyed by those around us. There were 3 or 4 classic dishes only on the menu and we had two of them which were well cooked and excellently presented, as was the nice choice of starters and puddings – first class. I bet the chefs welcome such orders as it gives them the chance to cook something special, and they do.
The other restaurant is a carvery, serving good portions of good, well cooked, food, at a very competitive price; we enjoyed our Sunday lunch in there. But be beware, it is the usual queue system, loading your plate, but you then have to queue to pay before you sit down. In busy times make sure you have a table to go to! and if you have to queue for any length of time your food can go cold.
Breakfast is served in this room and is buffet style with plenty of good, well cooked food. There are 4 or 5 dishes which need to be ordered, at no extra cost, and I had one which was excellent, with scrambled egg to die for. Again I wonder if the chefs welcome such orders.
The hotel is very well situated for Durham, with the Park and Ride terminus minutes away. The grounds of the hotel consist of the beautifully presented golf course with associated gardens and are very pleasant to walk in. Golf however was the reason for the major problem we had. The golf club is about 300 yards away across the car parks and on the Saturday they had a dance/disco, perhaps it is a regular event. The noise booming across ‘till the early hours of the morning was terrible especially if you are in the rooms at the front of the hotel. So be warned.
So why the title of this review? I made the booking by telephone and received an e-mail confirmation which included the following ‘Food or beverages purchased prior to arrival and consumed on the premises, which are not sold by Ramside Estates, will be confiscated and the guests responsible asked to leave’ (the emboldening is mine). I have never come across a statement like this and to be honest felt insulted, so keep your packet of crisps out of site!

Room Tip: If at the hotel on a Saturday, ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. Book through hotel reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bright Fame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed the facilities available to you. I have noted your comments regarding the confirmation email you and would like to explain as follows.

In an effort to protect our revenues at the hotel we do not allow our guests to consume, on site, food and beverage items that have been purchased elsewhere and at such times when this situation arises we respond discretely without causing any embarrassment to our patrons. , Historically, we would advise our arriving guests of this however in response to customer feedback this statement was removed from our generic reservation confirmation letter. I cannot explain why on this occasion you have received a communication including this statement and can only offer my sincere apologies for this administrative error.

I do hope that this will not deter you from revisiting our hotel and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    558
    194
    84
    66
See reviews for
363
931
38
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Was among a group of golfers who played 2 rounds of golf over sun/mon & stayed in the hotel on sun night. The deal included a meal in the hotel caverey & breakfast on Monday morning & at £85 per person it is tremendous value.

The golf course is way above usual 'hotel' standards, challenging & in excellent condition. The clubhouse bar is open & light, service was 1st class, it was a great place to share a few post round pints.

Service at reception was excellent, as were the rooms, very clean & comfy.

Caverey was traditional, with ample choice of meats, all to a good standard.

All in all, an excellent trip & will no doubt be returning next year

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontdoubt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit and hope that will not hesitate in choosing our hotel when you are next in the area

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Be very careful before thinking of booking any sort of event here, as this company don't have much idea when it comes to organising and running an efficient evening. They have even less idea of how to make things right after they have let you down, in fact it is just a case of 'tough' I booked a celebratory evening for my birthday earlier this year. The owner of the hotel was actually in attendance on the night and admitted that he had let everyone down by not doing his job in a timely fashion, but he certainly can't take any criticism! Given the fact this is a Hotel boasting four stars - they ran the night like a amateur pub do. After standing in a long queue to buy a bottle of wine (nearly 25 mins) i was told that they didn't serve wine there and it was at the other end of the marquee, i again stood in another long line for around ten minutes, only to be told they only sold wine by the glass! I complained about the inability to put a sign up to let people know where to go for a bottle rather than a glass and was informed by a manager that he should in fact have thought of that! (you would think it was the first venue they had organised) the evening progressed the buffet was late (although tasted ok) then the highlight of the night the entertainment...Mr Joe Mcelderry, before he came on stage the Compare told every one that they had to remain seated for the duration of the show however Mr Mcelderry had other ideas and invited everyone to get up and dance ultimately chaos reigned, it was impossible to see anything of the show, instead of the owner immediately stopping this he allowed it to continue until the vast majority of the people had their evening ruined (this he admitted to) before he did anything, of course by then it was way too late, and many had just walked out, there were irate people everywhere, some in wheelchairs who had thought they had booked a civilised event, dinner and show, but it was more like a pub gig. The Proprietor then had the audacity to blame Joe and not shoulder any responsibility himself. We have had no joy from this person, only excuses. So beware if you do book an event to SEE someone, remember you that may well not be the case and Management don't care either way.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the event you attended in July.

Here at Ramside Hall Hotel we have an enviable reputation for providing high standard corporate and leisure events and I am disappointed that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been noted and will be shared with the team.

I hope that we shall have the opportunity to restore your confidence in our facilities and services in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ramside Hall for my Birthday. On arrival to the hotel the we were greated by the friendly girls at reception, we were given our room number and told bits about the hotel.
The room was lovely, had a huge bed and a modern bathroom. Free wifi was also available in the room which was great as we enjoyed listening to songs from you tube whilst having a drink or two before going into Durham.
A great night away!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torianjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again next year, if not before,

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

17 of us stayed weekend just gone (21st Oct) and would highly recommend the Ramside Hotel. We had dinner each night in the Green Room (Rib room menu), chose our food by 6pm to help the chef and have to say the food was tasty, hot and served brilliantly by Colin - well done Colin! Our only critiicisms would be that after sitting on the furniture in the main lounge our clothes had feathers on them! Also our room (219) was very dark and the bathroom light kept going on and off all night! I booked the hotel for all of us and Beverley was very effecient and professional and the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a "bright" room - makes it easier to do hair and make-up !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post comments following your recent group stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted that you all had an enjoyable stay with us and will follow-up your comments regarding the bathroom lighting to ensure essential maintenance takes place as appropriate.

I do hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thatcham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Whilst we only stayed for the one night last weekend we came away with a positive feeling,excellent greeting at reception,comfy bed,free wifi,good size tv,good view from room 224,fantastic breakfast set me up for the day..one downside was the bathroom lights which switch themselves on/off and if you need to visit during the night they come on!!! And a few creaky floorboards.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will personally share your comments with the team.

I hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

North East Ladies Day held our annual fundraising day here on 18th October 2011.
We conducted all the pre event planning with Helen Attley, who made the whole process effertless. She was professional, organised and helpful with every aspect discussed.
On the day Paul Dickenson (floor Manager) cold not humanly have done more to make the day any better. Literally nothing was a problem, and as such the day way fantastic, and without exception enjoyed thoroughly by 516 ladies!
We had a 4 course sit down meal which was served beautifully and miraculously was piping hot and delicious without exception.
What was very evident was the personal input and interest shown by the Managing Director of the hotel, Mr John Adamson - he took the time to personally check on the event, and to me proved that this is one very polished family run business.
We would highly highly recommend Ramside Hall for large events, and will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_UKBestHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent event at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted to hear what a success your event was and your very kind comments about the service your received from our team. I will personally ensure that your views are shared with everyone involved and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,360 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,483 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing