We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spree on my credit card”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Spree on my credit card”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I wanted to book a venue for a meeting of about 30 people and this looked promising. Some of the delegates asked me if we had a room rate so we reserved rooms for them on the strict understanding with the hotel, that our credit card was not to be used to guarantee their bookings. In the event two of them did not turn up and the hotel charged our credit card (there was nothing we could do to stop them), so my meeting of 30 people ended up costing about £650. They disguised this when I checked out by telling me their computer system had broken down so they couldn't print my invoice. This is a nice hotel but if I used it again I would pay in advance by BACS for what I booked and not give them free license to use my credit card.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    538
    184
    83
    64
See reviews for
344
887
38
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jarrow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We celebrated our Wedding here last month and the service was faultless. Sharon, our events co-ordinator was so efficient and we are indebted to her for her support. All our guests commented on the quality of food and service on the evening, and those guests who stayed over gave the reception staff glowing reports. They were so friendly. We had a 175 strong guest list for dinner that evening and Ramside Hall dealt with everything with ease. Wil, the Toastmaster was just lovely. Henry the barman was the most patient man I have ever met as we drank into the wee small hours. Thank You!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibby800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your wedding celebrations at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted to hear how pleased you were with the service you received and would thank you for highlighting the members of our team who went the extra mile; please be assured that your comments will be shared with them.

I do hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I reitred two years ago and until then was staying away three nights a week. Of all the places I have stayed this is at the top of the list for comfort, quality, friendly staff, efficiency, and good food. If you are heading for Durham check their web site for deals.

Room Tip: rear facing rooms around 320 - 350 are quite special. Check the hotel web for best prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbotim94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear how pleased you were with the overall service and comfort of accommodation available and I certainly hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great location for an overnight stop heading up or down A1(M) and also about 15 mins from Durham rail station by taxi
If you do need a taxi give reception plenty of notice as there are very limited services in Durham.
Staff are very accommodating and friendly
Four poster rooms are good value
Try alternatives to the Rib Room which is overrated

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincemooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

Whilst I am disappointed that the Rib Room did not meet your expectations on this occasion I am delighted that you agreed our accommodation represented excellent value and I do hope that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was our second overnight stay. the first being a year previous (the first time we had left our new baby) the first visit was memrobale. First we got the wrong room, then the second room had leaky ceiling (people upstairs had left bath running) anyway we ended up with an upgrade to a suite with bottle of champagne. the staff couldnt of been nicer and, nothing has changed. the room was amazing totally spotless, the rib room well what can i say best steak ever didnt want it to end. my husband summed it up by saying he felt like was wrapped in the big cosy quilt the whole time we were there. thankyou we be back soon xxx

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BABAIDGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted to see that you have returned to us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy dining in the Rib Room; we are extremely proud of the dining experience we deliver to our customers and are always very pleased to welcome our returning guests.

Naturally we are very pleased to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and please be assured that your comments will be shared with the team.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramside in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the hotel 26/11/11-27/11/11 for our 5th wedding anniversary. First impressions were fantastic! the ground on the entrance drive to the hotel were beautiful, reception area was equally as nice, staff were really polite and helpful. We stayed in room 329 on the 2nd floor and we couldnt of asked for anything better. The bathroom was amazing!!! spotlessly clean with a really nice selection of toiletries and bath robes, our 4 poster bed was one of the comfiest we'v had and again the room was spotless, it overlooked the carpark and part golf course. We made a table reservation at the Rib room restaurant for 8.30pm but wern't seated till almost 9pm due the resaurant being busy but the food we had was worth the wait!!!! everything from our starters to pudding was faultless. We are booking to come as a party of 20 for my husbands birthday in january bacause we had such a wonderfull time and we will definaltley be visiting the rib room again just for a meal! cant recommend this hotel enough :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeygibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to read how pleased you were the quality of the bedroom facilities and that you had the opportunity to dine in the Rib Room.

I hope that I shall have the opportunity of meeting you during your return stay in January.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is well located just off the A1 and there is ample parking. In some areas the interior has a slightly faded appearance but the rooms, bar and bistro are all excellent. The hotel has great function and banqueting facilities and the food was terrific.

I would definitely recommend it and will stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure you park at the front of the hotel as the new reception is there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am pleased to read how delighted you were with your stay and that we will be your hotel of choice when you are next in the area.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing