We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Bowburn Hall(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,664)
Filter reviews
2,664 results
Traveller rating
1,585
651
241
105
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,585
651
241
105
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrib roomgolf coursefusion restaurantsteakgolf breakgolf clubnew wingdeluxe roomhuge bedlovely hotelreception staffgreat nightevening mealbirthday treatcooked to perfectionfantastic stayspecial occasion
Filter
Updating list...
2,517 - 2,522 of 2,664 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We have joined the Ramside Hotel for the last 5 years to see the New Year in, and have never yet been disappointed.

We believe you never get a second chance to make a fist impression....... The new illuminated signs upon entering the picturesque landscaped drive really did stand out giving all guests clear directions to their destination within the hotel grounds.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Christina and Paul (hotel staff) who directed our party to the drinks reception area before we were shown to our table in a professional yet friendly manner.
The ambiance which the behind the scene staff (Helen & Claire from Events team) create when decorating the rooms is always breath taking and very much appreciated.
This year the New Year Gala Ball was held in the original Ballroom which created the most ornate and characteristic atmosphere.

Resident DJ Grant - Starlight disco, catered for all ages playing music from the 70's to present day to ensure that no matter of your age you were able to be up on the dance floor and join the party while playing requests, throughout the night.
The solo singer Jerome sang songs from a wide genre which was very easy listing and a unique tone.

The food served was 5 star with a gala buffet, a full selection of hot roast meats, sea foods, amazing choices of dishes, breads, vegetables, salads, cheeses and deserts all of which were presented to the highest of standards.

We would also recommend the tribute nights, especially Dianne Shaw, we have been entertained by this female motown artist on three separate occasions, a real party atmosphere with good audience participation, no restricted viewing and you leave on a high, food included within the price which is very good value for money.

The X-factor nights were also a great night out....

We would advise anyone thinking of using the hotel to request to be added to their mailing list, so your one of the first to be informed of future events, special offers and vouchers available.

This Hotel is a credit to its owners and staff team, and would higher recommend to anyone visiting the North East!!!

Calvin Moore; Andrew Bennett & Family.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorbennhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Me, my husband and our two girls recently booked the Christmas package deal with the Ramside - what a waste of money!! The whole experience from walking into our allocated room to checking out was unpleasant.

On our first night the children were expected to eat from a complex menu, when I stated they wouldn't eat anything they made a compromise and gave them a piece of chicken with a dollop of mashed potato (packet mixed).

Next was the room; there was no air con and the humidity in the room was unbearable. The bed made you roll together (not an exaggeration, the bed actually sagged in the middle), we got the mattress changed but it was still uncomfortable. After housekeeping had been into the room they left a dirty wet tea towel on the bedside table and the tv unit was still thick with dust.

Christmas day evening meal was supposed to be buffet style. Basically it was three different kinds of curry made up with the left over meat from lunchtime served with rice. There was also a SMALL selection of salad. As my children don't eat curry they were very limited again. My youngest (4yrs) had a slice of turkey with some tomatoes and the other (8yrs) had a slice of turkey with coleslaw and a few potatoes left over from lunchtime. Luckily they were able to have some ice cream after.

The only decent things about our stay were the breakfasts - they were great. The children also enjoyed the visit from Santa Claus and receiving their gifts. The towels were replaced daily and there was plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank demoness123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I was delighted to hear how pleased you were with breakfast, the visit from Santa Claus on Christmas Day and the childrens gifts, we try to make Christmas very magical at Ramside. We have responded to your complaint seperately through a letter.

I certainly hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We spent two nights at Ramside Hall,Neither of us had been there before but there's no doubt we will be going back.
For a large building we were so impressed at the cosy/homely feeling that the decor gave.
Christmas decorations were lovely and so many rooms to relax in or escape to.
The Service was excellent and the staff so helpful and polite.
The food was really good too.
The bed in the bedroom was so comfortable we missed our first mornings breakfast as we slept in.
So we had our brunch in the golf clubhouse where again service and the staff (incl the golf pro) were so helpful and polite.
We played nine holes of golf as it was too late for 18 ( my Girlfriend beat me anyway).
The course was wet but we both agreed we would love to play it again when we return.
In all a beautiful Hotel and excellent service and top marks to the staff, Thank you all.

Room Tip: Just book.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel195556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Having used this hotel before we decided to give their Christmas package a try.
Can't say I was knocked out with it since as with other hotels we have stayed in over Christmas they seemed too busy to cope. Christmas Eve in the 'Rib Room' was very good, the food was excellent and the traditional carol singing especially pleasing, Christmas Day on the other hand was very average. We ate in the carvery which is nice but I am afraid did not create a festive feel. Our table for three was initially set for two and the service whilst friendly was rather slow.
Christmas lunch was plentiful but the delays between the courses took the edge of it.
Overall the hotel is very nice, well located, extremely clean and well presented. We would not hesitate to use it again and if you are a golfer it is an ideal venue with a cracking driving range and first class course.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Being originally from near Durham I 've been to Ramside Hall many times in the past for Weddings, Business Meetings, Evening events or just lunch / dinner.

This was the first time I / We stayed there, now living in Manchester we were looking for somewhere to get away for a couple of days whilst also visting friends 'back home' we looked many hotels which were much more expensive but booked here because of my past history with it.

It was fantastic!!! the room was amazing ... comfy bed, warm, v clean, beautiful bathroom and so quiet, we ate in the Rib Room and honestly it was the best steak we have ever had!, the staff are ALL very friendly and nothing is too much to ask for.

My wife lecturers in Hospitality Management so is always on the look out for special praise and this place delivered in bulk!

We will be back again and again, well done Ramside Hall and staff!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews