We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Good Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Service”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My second time at this great hotel and I was just as impressed as I was last time. The rooms are large enough and clean though I found the occupancy sensor on the bathroom light to be a real pain in the backside.

The restaraunt was busy so the service wasn't lighteningly quick but that's because the food is simply fantastic. The best steak in the Northeast if a little pricey.

I love this hotel and now I know the Marriot is just as good I have a real dilema as to which one to select next time, though the Ramside might just get my vote

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    538
    184
    83
    64
See reviews for
344
887
38
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Very friendly smart & professional reception staff.
Rooms nice.
Breakfast awful. Saw manager stirring the scrambled eggs & other food since they had become very dry on top. Rest was very greasy & overcooked. Would not like to guess how long it had been lying out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I would just like to thank Andrew and Calvin for a fantastic night at the Ramside at there charity ball also a big thank you to the ramside for helping the event take place the entertainment was fab and the fashion show by woven and distinctive design so all in all a great venue for a special event. X

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickycodurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I visited Ramside Hall for a wedding and was amazed by the quality of the food and speed of the service, everything was perfect.

When we checked into our bedroom we were pleased to find a deluxe king size bed and huge bathroom!! We overlooked the gardens too.

Since then I have has meetings at the hotel which have all been great, the girls in the office organised the meetings well, again food was spot on and got a competitive price.

I will definitely be back to Ramside soon!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I ad a lovely time at the Ramside whist attending the Moorbennhall Charity Ball. The Ramside was a beutiful hotel with great rooms and service. It was really easy to get there and on arrival parking was easy. I think this would be a great place to have a party or celebration of any type.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCuthbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham City
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

“MOORBENNHALL CHARITY BALL”

Calvin Moore & Andrew Bennett,

“If you’re looking for a venue”

We organised a charity event in Aid of the Grace House Children’s Hospice and The Gem Appeal Saturday the 10th March 2012, with the assistance of John Adamson and his Team at Ramside Hall hotel and golf club. This was the first event we had organised and had in excess of three hundred and fifty guests, the event was held in the Prince Bishop suite and accommodated our guests comfortably the venue is well located near A1 and A19, ample parking disabled access and toilets and caters for dietary requirements The guest who choose to stay in the hotel were very pleased with their accommodation, clean tidy quiet, all guests were very happy. We used the Crush Bar adjacent to the suite for cocktail reception, which, was most spectacular due to the most impressive chandler giving all of our guests a lasting first impression, all member of the Ramside team were very well presented from Duty Manager, Maitre D’, bar staff, and waiters, making all of our guests feel so special and individuals at the event due to offering the personal touch. The room, set with the highest quality, candelabras, table cloths, napkins, cutlery and crockery,(no corners were cut)and soft and hard furnishing of the room were also of a high standard the venue also accommodated all of our acts including, Mint Management stilt walkers, 8 foot cocktail glass, feather men, living table, grinder show, 3 vocalists which due to the room not having any visual obstructions offered perfect acoustics for all of the artists, Miss Kitty drag host, Distinctive Designs and Woven men’s outfitter of Durham compiled a with a twenty model Fashion Show which had ample space, all guests we able to assemble on the dance floor once starlite disco hit the decks comfortably. We had chosen a four course menu and have had excellent feedback from our guest stating (“due to the number of people to be served, we expected our meal to have lost some of the heat, HOW WRONG WE WERE TO PRESUME!) all food served was of high quality, and piping hot, not to forget very tasty, we would highly recommended, vegetable and parmesan soup starter, rib eye stake main, lemon tart desert, and coffee & mints were that little finishing touch. We did not have one complaint from any of our guests regarding any part of the evening. This amazing venue should be made a priority if you are looking to have a mini break, planning a wedding, christening, birthday celebration, conference, or corporate event, Ramside will be where our next Moorbennhall Ball will be held for sure !!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 1 Prince Bishop Suite is an ideal room for any function *****
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew-Bennett37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Attended the above Ball on Saturday 10th March organised by Calvin Moore & Andrew Bennett in aid of The GEM Appeal and Grace House Hospice, the service and food was second to none to say that there was over 300 guests at our ball as well as another function taking place in another one of their function rooms. Don't know the name of our Maitre de but he was extremely professional and ensured all the guests were happy throughout the night. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings and all the areas are very well presented, would be an excellent place to get married or celebrate a birthday. Thanks to everyone for a great night x

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for Ramside Hall Hotel.

I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the Charity Ball and service & quality of food and staff.

We hope to see you at Ramside Hall again soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing