We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$232
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bannatyne Hotel Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,639)
Filter reviews
2,639 results
Traveller rating
1,573
645
237
105
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,573
645
237
105
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrib roomgolf coursefusion restaurantsteakgolf clubgolf breaknew wingdeluxe roomlovely hotelhuge bedreception staffgreat nightevening mealbirthday treatcooked to perfectionfantastic stayspecial occasion
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,455 - 2,460 of 2,639 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Booked this one night stay as a birthday gift. The hotel seemed clean enough, reception staff were attentive and helpful. Bar prices seemed a little high, and also somewhat random depending on which staff member served you. When our breakfast arrived there was no butter for the toast, our decaf coffee order was delivered as tea, and the regular coffee was very weak. All corrected very quickly, but not what you expect to have to point out. Would I stay again? Probably not, there are many other choices around yet to try.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is about 10minutes car journey to the center of Durham City. It is easily accessed from the M1. There are several big car parks within the grounds. It has its own golf course.
The hotel has a sort of castle look from the outside. Inside there are a number of bars, and two restaurants, both serving good quality of food.
Pembletons is where breakfast is served, as well as lunch time food, and a carvery. By judging the time money can be saved at the carvery- 2 for 1, etc.
The Rib Room has a varied menu- food cooked to order and more expensive.
We have used both restaurants- both different but excellent.
The bedrooms are big, well furnished, and very well presented- very comfortable.
The Ramside can be booked using the Hotel booking agencies, most of them seem to suggest that they offer up to 60% off. I've never used them,always telephoning the hotel and asking them what deals they can offer. The hotel staff are polite, pleasant, and appear to enjoy there work. They do make the Ramside a really nice place to stay.
(After writting the above am hesitating about hitting the "send button" as If your reading this you might wish to go when I want to stay at the Ramside, and you might get the last room.)

Room Tip: Perhaps you might ask for a room upstairs, facing the garden, and fountain.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardtate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Spent 3 nights with my family for a family wedding. A really nice hotel with great service, fab food, clean, cozy rooms. The staff made us feel so welcome and we treated the hotel as though it were home. Great for families. Only downfall is that only some of the rooms have been refurbished (half the hotel) and we were initially given an 'older' room, but were immediately upgraded as soon as we requested. Carvery was great with many special 'meal deals'. I only ate in the carvery but was told that the Rib Room was great too. Full buffet breakfast included. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely return if I get the opportunity.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1bitesizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Lovely spacious room with views of countryside.Extra late double bed ,very comfortable.
Excellent choice at breakfast buffet & staff very efficient.
The Rib Room food was very good also and a good selection of wines.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sulc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My second time at this great hotel and I was just as impressed as I was last time. The rooms are large enough and clean though I found the occupancy sensor on the bathroom light to be a real pain in the backside.

The restaraunt was busy so the service wasn't lighteningly quick but that's because the food is simply fantastic. The best steak in the Northeast if a little pricey.

I love this hotel and now I know the Marriot is just as good I have a real dilema as to which one to select next time, though the Ramside might just get my vote

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews