We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round excellent venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An all round excellent venue”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed with my wife overnight for a recent family wedding. Played golf with friends the day before. The weather helped the golf be even more enjoyable day - course in fantastic condition for March.

Rooms were comfortable and very clean and staff attentive. Really like the fact that Ramside Hall is a locally run hotel with attention to detail which normally gets missed with national chains - ie Theakstons Beer on sale, locally sourced produce in Rib Room restaurant.

Our breakfast was superb which topped off an all round excellent experience. Would really recommend this hotel for a golfing trip, wedding or an overnight with meal for a couple.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJH263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    542
    188
    84
    64
See reviews for
352
906
38
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

me and my family attended a wedding there on sunday. the whole experience was absolutely great. car parking facilities were more than ample. the venue was done up to a high standard with clean crisp linen to the well dressed waiters and waitresses. the service was well organised and the whole function was completly effortless and enjoyable,

WELL done to all the staff at Ramside

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonShabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed with my husband as we were guests at a wedding being held here. Very clean and comfortable room. Really nice bathroom. Breakfast was amazing - everything you could possibly want and nicely cooked. Staff very polite and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. In fact we have booked up to go again this weekend coming as would like to try out their Rib Room restaurant for my husbands birthday.

Room Tip: Room 327 overlooks front car park and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We ended up in a room, with a shower that the nobs fell off, the room overlooked the laundry room and the window had been painted so it woulkd not open. Complained to the general manager who offered a £40 discount, and a change of room. Then he changed his mind and only offered one or the other. He was very rude and everything had to be done NOW, even though we were late for the wedding. Then he dropped my holdall with a £500 camera in. In the end we did get both options after a lenghy wait. Wrote to the owner, but after 3 weeks he could NOT answer my complaint. Don't stay here if you want agro!!! The travelodge down the road would have been better at half the price. The only hotel I've ever stayed in, who asked for the money as we arrived, now I no why!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
We acknowledge that you were not happy with your room on check-in and presented very clearly our solutions in order to resolve the problem for you as quickly as possible so that you could attend the wedding function. We recall that you agreed to our proposals although insisted on a rate reduction to which we later agreed.

I personally explained that a room move had to be completed as a matter of urgency due to the fact that we were operating at 100% occupancy that night.

It is disappointing that in spite of our efforts you were still dissatisfied however I am not prepared for any member of the Ramside team, myself included, or our guests to receive or witness abusive behaviour. Consequently we were more than happy to offer you a full refund and provide you with appropriate transportation to an alternative venue which you declined.

If you wish to discuss this matter further may I suggest that you contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Fantastic golf course, brilliant hotel, great service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RednWhite1879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A very large hotel with what appeared to be multiple functions going on when we stayed so very busy. A large comfortable room with a nice view onto the fountain and a very modern well equipped bathroom. The double bed however was a bit small given the size of the room. They could have fitted a kIng size in comfortably.
My wife and I found ourselves here by accident having been moved last minute from a city centre hotel which was having water problems. We were more than pleased by the upgrade despite the incovenience of needing taxis to get in and out of town (a £9 trip each way).
We returned on Saturday evening to find a pleasant singer and pianist in the bar running through what I thought was a great selection of contemporary hits.
The place is a bit of a labyrinth filled with bric-a-brac but has a couple of attractive looking restaurants and bars. The breakfast buffet was really excellent.
I wouldn't generally choose this sort of hotel because of the size preferring something a bit more cosy and intimate but it looked an excellent choice for weddings, conferences and the like. Our taxi driver sang the praises of their golf packages so perhaps I'll return one day for a boys weekend.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Seacombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit. I am delighted we met your expectations, having been outboooked to us by another hotel, and hope you will return again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darlington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Me and other half stayed here for our first night away from our baby. We did not want to go too far and so decided on Ramside Hall as some friends recommended it.
When we booked we upgraded to an executive room which was well worth the extra money as we got a room which over looked the golf course and the room was very spacious and it looked as if it had just been refurbished with a new bathroom.
We had an excellent meal in the Rib Room the Beef Fillet on the bone was one of the best steaks I have ever had and i would recommend trying this. The wine and drinks were reasonably priced and I liked my real ale so it was good to see 3 on tap.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Ramside Hall.

I was delighted to hear how happy you were with your Executive/Deluxe bedroom, all have been refurbished recently to the highest standard. I hope the peaceful surroundings helped you to relax and enjoy your stay.

I will pass on your kind comments to the Chef and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,340 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing