We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proud to have this facility in our locality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2012

An excellent venue that can cater for large groups easily and with panache. Really classy hotel and grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar88_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,350)
There are newer reviews for Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,139 - 2,145 of 2,350 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here as part of a military reunion. The rooms were spacious, food good and the standard of service good. Our one gripe was the attitude of some of the staff ( certainly not customer service orientated..

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the hotel for peace
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t1gerly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The whole experience from when you book in to when you check out is 5*. Girls on Reception got us booked in really quickly, went to room which had a good view of the golf course, 2 double beds, settee, easy chair and fab bathroom with fluffy white towels and high quality shampoo, conditioner, soap and moisturiser.
Excellent food served in the restaurant, can highly recommend the ribs and fillet steak. Really good breakfast selection with good coffee.
Big thank you to all.........especially the girls on Reception.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back overlooking golf course.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExiledInBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed after a function, some confusion at reception as room had been booked for me but not paid as I'd been advised. Sorted this quickly, some issue with Booking.com and the person who booked on my behalf. The receptionist was polite and helpful, upgraded me to a four-poster room, lovely views, huge room, really comfy bed and firm pillows. Baathroom recently re-furbed and fabulous. I stay at their sister hotel Hardwick Hall often, and their rooms are quite tired compared to the Ramside. Good night's sleep as corridors were quiet, good blackout curtains. Didn't have breakfast as it was quite expensive, would def stay again if I can get an offer via one of the booking websites. Also had light lunch in the golf club, really good, and the clubhouse and grounds are delightful

Room Tip: Ask for a Four-poster room they are lovely
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed in the Ramside on Sunday 3rd June 2012 for one night! I was there for a wedding but felt I had to comment on the comfort of the beds - I slept until 9.30 - unheard of for me - and I nearly missed breakfast!

The staff were very helpful and attentive and the breakfast was plentiful - lots to choose from and a good breakfast.

The location is excellent, close to A! and A19 and other major roads, the site is very green and has a golf course!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Tyneside, Durham or North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

After having been letdown by a hotel who had lost details of our booking, we had a frantic day finding somewhere new. We booked online on a phone ten minutes before walking through the door.

The hotel is lovely. Despite being off a busy road it feels incredibly secluded.
The breakfast was good with plenty of variety.
The room was large and very comfortable and we heard no noise from outside at all despite there being several large gatherings being held in the hotel during our stay.

I only have two complaints, both minor. The first being that after asking for coffee and breakfast we were brought tea. The second being that despite the description stating there would be a kingsize bed it was in fact two twins pushed together which caused us to roll into the centre during the night. As you can tell, these are very small niggles which shows how good the stay was.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel just went for Sunday lunch in the restaurant (not the carvery part). The starter and main course were nice but the desert let the meal down. We chose cheesecake which just looked like a shop bought one very disappointing. Whilst we thought it was a nice meal, prior to eating in the restaurant we had a drink in the golf club bar. They were just setting out the carvery for the golfers it looked absolutely delicious so maybe next time we will eat in the clubhouse.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank julesloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,433 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £87 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing