We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room but walls a bit thin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stayed for just a quick overnight stop and very impressed with the lovely room we were given. It had everything we needed like iron/ ironing board; trouser press; safe; hairdryer; tea/coffee making facilities, tv and all the toiletries we needed and a lovely comfy bed. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. I would have given a rating of excellent but the only down side, we were in a room with an adjoining door so it may be that this type of room has a thinner wall as we could hear our neighbours television and shower and a couple of times during the night I could hear fan noise which I assume came from other bathrooms nearby. However, it wouldn't put me off staying there again as it really is a lovely hotel and the curtains are so heavy they block out every bit of sunlight which helps towards a wonderful nights sleep.

Room Tip: Maybe one without an adjoining door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank North-South-Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,191 - 2,197 of 2,430 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We spent three night and had a very enjoyable time the room and bathroom was large (not often found in the uk ) comfortable the staff very helpfull nothing to much trouble the girls on reception were a pleasure to meet we would recomend staying there and look forward to returning

Room Tip: Good view and quiet room ask for 348
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A lovely hotel with a great ambiance and excellent facilities, the rooms are spacious very clean and comfortable. The evening carvery was good too with plenty of choice. We were on a sunday driver which is great value. The course was in good condition and very enjoyable. The golf pavilion food was poor both on arrival and departure and needs addressing. Saying that we would not hesitate to stay again on a Sunday driver.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Lovely location, room very good, clean and comfortable. Breakfast good. Evening meal (carvery) was ok. Service in hotel good. Golf was good, in spite of the weather! However, service and quality of food in the golf club was poor. Bar was understaffed and the catering not to the same standard as in the hotel. Prices of drinks expensive in both golf club and hotel. A shame as the hotel markets its golf weekends strongly. A more consistent approach across all areas required.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_John_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel on 24th August 2012 for friend’s Wedding Reception. We booked well in advance and got a reasonable deal. The reception staff were very pleasant and could not do enough for us, rooms were exceptional, tastefully decorated with supplies and the Wedding Facilities were perfect.

Price of a pint of lager £4.15, ouch, but some southern folk may find this acceptable, not on the North East I’m afraid.

Bar staff were very accommodating and suffered our presence well into the early hours, (Thank You Boys - The Crystal Head Vodka was outstanding).

Breakfast was lovely, but the young lady who could not be bothered to serve customers with coffee (you know who you are!!!!!) needs to find another vocation in life.

Overall an excellent venue, perfectly located, that provides brilliant facilities that went a long way to make a special evening perfect. Thank You.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunocummings344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We spent an enjoyable four night stay at Ramside Hall, it is in a beautiful rural location only five minutes from the City centre a perfect spot for exploring Durham City and the surrounding area. The staff were welcoming and efficient nothing was too much trouble. Our deluxe room more than lived up to expectations. The Rib Room Restaurant was excvellent in its own right. so much so that we dined there three out of four nights. Would recommend this hotel and restaurant without hesitation and would return without question.

Room Tip: Be aware that the hotel caters for weddings, however this was not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Booked an overnight stay for our wedding anniversary in a standard double room, we paid £119 for dinner, bed and breakfast per couple, which was very good value. We recieved a £50 voucher towards our evening meal any extras we paid for seperately. We both enjoyed a lovely fillet steak with all the trimmings, the restaurant staff were very polite and helpful.Our room was very nice with a large comfortable bed and bright modern bathroom. Breakfast was plentyful with a very good selection. Check in staff were polite and friendly and very efficient. Overall we had a lovely evening and would certainly recommend Ramside Hall, thanks to all.

Room Tip: We had a basic double room which was lovely for an overnight stay, we have stayed in a suite here be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Young_at_Heart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,166 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,491 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
9.3 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £80 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing