We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2012

If your a couple or family or here with mates There are places close by for everyone, 15mins in the car to the metro centre. just over 5mins to durham city centre. Beautiful place to visit. With the shops and markets and the Cathedral.
You must Visit the Rib Room. The best steak I have had in the UK. From everywhere I have stayed and eating. You cannot beat the Steak that they have in this Hotel. The food is Phenomenal. Any other reviews about the Rib Room that are bad are rubbish. I have eating here 3 times and I cannot get enough. The Food is well presented and you have a big selections of Wines to choose from. Rough price is £19+, you pay for what you get. Plated up with Mushrooms, onions and Onion rings with a selection of Great side Dishes. Its Mouth watering.
This is my 3rd week at the hotel. I am here on Business but have stayed for a weekend with my other half. From checkin in at reception to having breakfast. From having evening meal to night staff. Everyone I have met and spoke with that work here seriously make the stay so much better. Being away from home working. You want a hotel you feel welcome and know when you check out at the end of the week you do look forward to coming back. The cleaners also make a fantastic job of making the room very clean. Also the management are very helpful are there to help as are the staff. The grounds are beautiful. Well kept. Golf course is really good aswell. I am here till November so I will update again but it can only be good. Serious place you have to see for yourself. But having a hotel that all staff are really nice and the food is amazing. If you are eating in the carvery the food is gorgeous an the rib room you only here good things. People you speak with that come out cant give enough praise. Again a would like to thank all staff that work here in every department for still making my stay very good

Room Tip: All rooms in the hotel are lovely, Room 206 is gorgeous, My Favourite. With doors that open to the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

On behalf of the team we are delighted you are enjoying your stay with us and hope that we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,241 - 2,247 of 2,499 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

massive thankyou to ramside for making my sons wedding the most perfect day.we stayed fom friday til sunday and can't fault anything,the food was fantastic and staff were attentive with nothing to much trouble.The wedding went like clockwork,and the hotel and grounds are so beautiful theres lots of photo opportunities.we had the marquee for the evening and again the food was amazing a magical end to an amazing day.Check the hotel out if you are planning a wedding we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: this is a wedding venue if you want quiet choose the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesley n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My Daughter and Son in Law held their afternoon and evening wedding receptions at Ramside Hall 15th September 2012 and cannot thank the management and staff enough for the fabulous event it turned out to be. The facilities were second to none the staff from the cleaning staff upwards were excellent in particular Clare the wedding co-ordinator, she made everything run like clockwork nothing was a bother to her also reception staff especially Victoria who couldnt do more if she tried she was so approachable, helpful and very friendly. Food was served beautifully at the afternoon reception and so tasty. The carvery and breakfasts equally so. Would highly recommend Ramside Hall for any event you will not be disappointed also the cleanliness and accomodation were brilliant would definiately use Ramside Hall again

Room Tip: all rooms were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed at the Ramside Hall Hotel for three nights Amy helped with the booking and was very good. All of the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful,especially at reception and in the Rib Room restaurant. The only small point to make - we had champagne in the room, but instead of being able to open it as you would for a normal champagne bottle it needed a corkscrew, reception said one would be put in the room for us, but was not so we took the bottle home with us!

Overall an excellent hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed here with some friends on a weekend away. The grounds and building are beautiful. Very impressive. The bar and restaurant areas are varied and plentiful. We had booked the basic twin rooms but all had two good sized double beds, good facilities and a very clean and modern bathroom with fantastic power shower and wider than usual bath. Decor was varied, some chintzy Victorian style, others modern so might be worth requesting what you prefer. All staff were helpful and friendly but the reception staff definitely went above and beyond. They were brilliant.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room with patio doors onto the very well kept gardens .. a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lexidove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed last year and it was excellent staging post for the great north run. This year we had a better room. However the stay was ruined by a loud wedding party and disco going on until about midnight just when we needed a good rest and quiet night's sleep. Very bad decision to take that booking by the manager. Shame because it is in a good location. It was so loud you could have heard it in any of the rooms and you couldn't open the window because it sounded like you were on the dance floor. A year's preparation spoilt. Thanks Ramside Hall. I don't think I will do as well in the run now.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caustonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My Husband and I visited this hotel for my birthday celebration this week. We stayed in a Deluxe double room with stunning views of the golf course. The room was sizeable and beautifully furnished in keeping with the hotel and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in any hotel. The self service carvery room was a lovely room but we opted for the rib room in the end. The food was delicious and the service efficient and friendly as it was through out the hotel. There was a piano duo playing in the carvery room who we very much enjoyed whilst enjoying drinks after our meal. We also enjoyed a delicious full English breakfast the morning after.Time away from our busy working lives and our Toddler is a rare thing for us so we are very pleased we chose this hotel as it totally lived up to our expectations and we highly recommend it. We will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a room with a view of the golf course. It was like looking at a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for posting a review of your visit to Ramside Hall Hotel & Golf Club.

We are delighted to read your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,194 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallgarth Manor House
Hallgarth Manor House
#12 of 18 in Durham
66 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hardwick Hall Hotel
Hardwick Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sedgefield
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £74 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing