We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic stay at Ramside Hall, staying in deluxe room, over the new year period. Our evening meal was superb and we ate in the The Rib Room, a fine dining experience not to be missed. We can't wait to return when the soon the be completed spa is finished !

Room Tip: Bring your golf clubs !
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattamoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for posting a review following your stay at Ramside Hall Hotel over the New Year period.

We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,348)
There are newer reviews for Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,022 - 2,028 of 2,348 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed at the Ramside weekend of 26/27 January for a function from my wife's work.
Have stayed a few times in the past but not for a good 4 to 5 years so was pleasantly suprised to see the interior of the bars and restaurants had been redecorated and refurbished. On our mid afternoon arrival the reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Our ground floor double room was very well appointed with a large double bed and could not be faulted with everything you could require.
Decided to have a couple of drinks in the bar on the afternoon prior to the evening function. This unfortunately is where I can say I was taken aback by the bar prices for the wines and bottled beers.Bottled beer was more expensive than the draught beer (is quantity therefore cheaper by the bulk) and if you deceided on a large glass of wine then be prepared to spend more on one glass than the whole bottle would cost you in your local supermarket.
The evening function (I believe for was about 150) consisted of a 4 course meal. My only criticism of the meal was the main course which I'm led to belive was turkey but tasted more like processed meat from a supermarket fridge, very disappointed.
Overall the exeperience of the mass catering and the some of the expensive drinks would not deter the fact from me visiting again, although it may be quite a while.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Ramside Hall Hotel and I would like to respond as follows.

With regard to our bar tariff, I can assure you that our prices remain competitive within the local 4 star hotel market but cannot be compared with supermarket offerings.

Naturally I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in terms of our event catering but am pleased to note this would not deter you from a return visit in the future.

In the meantime, we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and i had a wonderful time At Ramside Hall we were there for my husbands works post christmas party. We hadnt been to the hotel for many years despite it being so local to us which i realise now is a shame really to have let it so long, the last time we stayed there was our wedding night 27 yrs ago.
On booking, got a really good deal on late rooms.com we got a deluxe room,breakfast and complimentary fruit bowl included for £86.
Checkin was efficient and very friendly, recpetion is easy to access and lots of parking available.
We were given room 207 on ground floor, the room was really nice, fab comfy bed, lovely furnishings and decor, spotless clean and a fab bathroom, small but more than adequate. Wifi is free and very good in the hotel however a few places in the hotel the signal is poor.
Ramside has a fabulous array of communal areas, lounges, conservatories and bars in which to while the hours away, all tastefully decorated and upholstered, this is a really nice touch. We spent a few hours in the afternoon in the Sportsmans bar, iloved the decor and ambience, drinks were usual prices for hotel but lots of choice on offer here, i had a particularly good sauvignon blanc. We ate in the bar area, i had what was described as a minute steak ciabatta, it was sooooo much more than this, it was one of the nicest steak sandwiches ive ever had cooked to perfection on beautiful fresh bread with fried onions and mushrooms with hand cut chips, it was so delightful i cant wait to go back. My husband had a lush topside of beef ciabatta which was also lovely ourbill was approx £16.
I noticed two ladies having what looked like a gorgeous afternoon tea, this is something i love to do and will most definitely try this here.
We had a lovely function in the Princes Suite which was all organised and laid on by my husbands company, im just glad this night brought us back to a lovely place we had really forgotten about,we will be back to eat most definitely and to stay over again.
The only negative in my review is relating to a member of staff, everyone during our stay was just lovely, but the bar man looking after the bar late into the evening was rude, unpleasent and at times ignorant, he was horrible to one of his colleagues in front of customers pulling faces at her and criticising her when she couldnt find the correct Sherry to serve her customer, he was equally rude to us when we asked for some iced water to take up to the room, having spent a fortune in the bar during the day and evening he seemed unhappy to let us have the water, you are in the wrong job my man you are there for customer service you lack the key skill required for this its called personality!! Always one fly in the ointment but this miswery didnt detract from our lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lafybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted how pleased you were with our facilities and services and please be assured that your comments will be shared with the team. Naturally, I am concerned by your comments concerning a member of our team and I will be investigating this; you will appreciate that this is not the standard of guest care we are proud of and take feedback such as this most seriously.

We hope that this will not deter you from returning to us and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This was our first stay at ramside hall, we came for my birthday and stayed in one of the deluxe rooms on the top floor. Room was very spacious and bathroom was spotless. Overall beautiful room. In the evening we had booked a table at the rib room, menu seemed quite expensive but after eating we found it was well worth the money. Beautiful food and fabulous service. The waiters and waitresses couldn't do enough for you. The rib room bar was relaxed and the perfect place to finish the night. We had booked breakfast for the following morning but unfortunately for £11 per person i wasn't very impressed. A good selection of breads, fruit, cereals and cooked breakfast but unfortunately as i was getting a bowl of fruit i found a long hair in the blackberries which put me off a little even though the waitress did change them immediately. The cooked breakfast also had a good selection but wasn't very warm and some of the food looked like it had been there quite a while. Will definitely be returning as this is one of the nicest hotels i have ever stayed in. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are beautiful and well worth that little bit more money.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauramarley27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your first stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

I am delighted how pleased you were with the standard of our facilities and that you had the opportunity to experience our Rib Room dining.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Having visit this hotel some time ago, we were not sure their high standards would still be there, not only was it good but it's now even bettere then we remembered it! It's 5 star quality at 3 star prices. The rib room has outstanding food and great value for money. The staff just couldn't do enough for us and made our stay so special. It's just a wonderful hotel with stunning grounds. Even if you don't play golf this is a must stay hotel.

Room Tip: Don't worry all rooms looked great, we had friends also staying and their rooms were also great.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hartlepool69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are naturally delighted how pleased you were with your stay and please be assured that your comments will be shared with the team.

Your feedback is important to us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Use this hotel for business regularly always a fantastic warm welcome and great service from all the staff it's also has fabulous food. Just off the A1 at junction 62 cErtainly fits the bill for me and I use lots of hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanIedurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Stopped over on Christmas Eve. Got an extremely warm welcome when booking in off the receptionist and offered mulled wine and mince pies.

We had booked a room with a four poster bed and the room was amazing and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was very large and beautiful.

The bar and surrounding areas were lovely and well decorated. We ate in the rib room and meal was wonderful and great value for money

Over all our stay was wonderful and look forward to coming back

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honest_Hotel_Review2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim B, General Manager at Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Ramside Hall Hotel.

We are delighted how pleased you were with the standard of our facilities and guest care and sincerely hope we shall have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Tim Boyd
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,433 reviews
21.9 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,580 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Carrville, Durham DH1 1TD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#1 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#1 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#7 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £88 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Durham's only silver awarded AA rated and 4 star hotel. Set in a unique location, surrounded by 350 acres of private grounds with two 18 hole Championship golf courses, a purpose built luxury on-site spa complex, four bars and award-winning restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramside Hall Hotel And Golf Club
Ramside Hall Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing